We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (69)
Filter reviews
69 results
Traveller rating
68
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
68
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cook breakfast an emergency horseback riding air conditioning large group howler monkeys small fee beautiful beach taco ricardo colibri guard groceries paradise ocean hammocks beaches
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 69 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2017

Seriously one of the best places I have ever been. The grounds and sunsets every night were some of the best i've seen. The property is breathtaking, the location is incredible and the staff is even better. I couldn't have asked for a better stay and experience in Nicaragua. Our group of 20 rented all four villas and it was exactly what we were hoping for, but better. Highly recommend to anyone traveling to the area... from couples, to families to singles. Ricardo, the owner/manager on duty is amazing, as is everyone on his staff. So accommodating and truly made you feel welcome and pampered. We took full advantage of the staff cooking a few meals for us and it was worth every penny. It's a bit of an experience getting there... on a super bumpy 4x4 road about 10 miles from San Juan Del Sur, but 100% worth it if you're willing to put in the effort. Go. you won't regret it...It's the perfect place to spend your vacation..I would honestly rate it 6 stars if i could.

Room Tip: Best houses on the property are Palmera & Tortuga because of location.. but the others are all great in their own way.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017

I recently took my first trip to Nicaragua with 19 others to celebrate a friend's 40th birthday. Villas Playa Maderas was PERFECT for our large group and we couldn't have asked for a better experience! Ricardo and his staff were always available and ready to help us with whatever we needed. The villas were well kept and conveniently located with short hikes to several beaches. The views were unreal -- sunsets almost indescribable. The wildlife around the villas was amazing -- be prepared to see several types of crabs, howler monkeys (!), beautiful birds and lots of creepy crawlies (don't worry, you get used to it).

The Villas: We rented 4 of the villas and they each had something special to offer. Palmera and Colibri are closest to the large infinity pool with expansive views of the ocean below. Tortuga and Mariposa are a short hike through the woods and also offer great views and are closer to the surf beach. All the bedrooms have air conditioning which is so so important for getting a good nights sleep as even at night it is hot and sticky. All the villas have hammocks and lots of rocking chairs for lounging about. They each have their own pools which is great after being in the hot sun. We felt very safe the entire time we were there -- there are 2 guard stations that monitor people trying to come up to the villas from the beach, but I don't think they really have an issue with this. But it's nice to know they are keeping an eye on things or if there was ever an emergency and you needed assistance quickly.

Tips: Be sure to stock up on groceries, alcohol and ice before settling in -- it's a good 30 minutes on a bumpy dirt road to get to the store so not something you want to do on a regular basis. We also had a private chef come in and cook us meals some of the nights which was such a treat -- highly recommend Tropical Concierge. Kenny and his staff were awesome! The staff at the villas will even come in and cook breakfast for your house for a small fee (using the food you purchased). For lunches we often went down to the beach bars at Playa Maderas which is just a short walk along the beachline from the Villas. Maderas Sunset (on the beach) and Jungle Dreams (down the road away from the beach and to the right) were our favorites :) We didn't venture too far from the villas but did go to Taco Tuesday at the nearby Hulakai Hotel just up the road which was a ton of fun.

Getting there: We chose to fly into Liberia Costa Rica and use a shuttle company to take us across the border. It's about a 4 hour journey from door to door but generally pretty easy to do.

All in all it was a 5-star dream vacation and would most definitely recommend Villas Playa Maderas to anyone traveling to this part of Nicaragua :)

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017

I took a shuttle from San Juan Del Sur and was dropped off right at Playa Maderas. One of my friends rented a board and we surfed 1-2 foot waves. There is a laid-back restaurant on the beach that serves up food and cocktails and beer.

Stayed: March 2017
Thank Charter_Maria_Teresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2017

Ricardo picked us up from the airport on time and professional. We spent 4 nights there for my husbands 30th birthday. Make sure you stop at the market before you head into the villa since it is secluded. Villa tortuga is magical. We would surf or fish during the day and cook at night on the back deck while monkeys passed by. Looking forward to going back ASAP. Thanks Ricardo!

Stayed: July 2016
1  Thank maganmoore85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2017

We recently travelled to Nicaragua for a girls trip (late 20's) and spent a couple of nights at Villas Playa Maderas. I cannot say how incredible our experience was at the Villas. The accommodations themselves (we stayed at Villa Colibris) were clean, spacious and surpassed our expectations.

The management team was great; helpful on arrival as well as whenever we needed them throughout our trip. Ricardo was amazing! He came by on our second day to ensure that we were enjoying our stay and drove us to a nearby restaurant for dinner and joined us.

The pool was heaven! We could have lived here our entire time in Nicaragua, but unfortunately had to move on to the next place.

I would definitely recommend Villas Playa Maderas for anyone looking to stay in Maderas. Groups can rent multiple villas which would be quite the experience! To note, the nightlife in Maderas (vs SJDS) is a lot quieter, but we quite enjoyed Taco Tuesday at nearby Hulakai Hotel.

Room Tip: Best Infinity Pool
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nicole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricardo T, Owner at Villas Playa Maderas, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2017

It was so nice to meet you and your friends. Looking foward for your next visit with more time and maybe family members.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews