We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Heavenly retreat with great pool and authentic...”
La Varenne Farmhouse Gîte - Beautiful, day or night.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
La Varenne Farmhouse Gîte - Beautiful, day or night.
Relax with a good book Grand piano  (needs a lot of work!).
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
La Varenne Farmhouse Gîte - Beautiful, day or night.
Relax with a good book
Grand piano  (needs a lot of work!).
Sunny, well-equipped breakfast kitchen looks out onto the courtyard and garden.
Spacious, airy bedrooms overlook courtyard, pool and gardens. The master bedroom has a kingsize bed.
Spacious main bathroom, with large bath and shower over.
Close to all the Dordogne has to offer.
Beautiful French Farmhouse and Pool
Large heated pool with Roman step for little paddlers.
Spacious, comfortable and welcoming. Faites comme chez vous!
Authentic building, modern comforts - shower room on the second floor.
All the bedrooms have at least two windows.
Quiet neighbours - just a few Chooks providing fresh eggs.
Springtime in La Varenne - view from the far side of the pool.
Quiet courtyard
Helicopter view.
Flexible sleeping accommodation, the 'twin' room sleeps up to 4.
Bedroom 2 overlooks the courtyard.
Welcoming from the moment you enter the driveway.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
St Front la Riviere, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Megan T
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Heavenly retreat with great pool and authentic house - LOVED IT”
Reviewed 14 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The farmhouse is absolutely faultless. It is very spacious and completely spotless with large authentically french bedrooms and every amenity you could wish for, Joy and John welcomed us with open arms and provided lots of information about the surrounding area. The grounds are IDYLLIC and whilst lying by the pool (on very comfortable loungers) all we could hear were birds and other wild life. We spent out evenings playing board games (lots to choose from) and sitting around the large outside table after cooking in the extremely well equipped kitchen. There is a small country pub 5 minutes walk from the house which also did fish and chip tuesdays which was a nice touch. There is a DVD player and english tv which was a bonus for the evenings after a day out, We will DEFINITELY be returning to this beautiful house!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Sep 2015
Thank you! We're so pleased you enjoyed your holiday, and look forward to welcoming you all again!
Merci beaucoup! Joy, John, Fleur & The Chooks x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JES1055
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Idyllic country spot surrounded by nature, with good home comforts and a lovely pool”
Reviewed 7 August 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Fab holiday with glorious sunshine so the pool was in good use every day. The gite is lovely throughout with everything you want in a holiday home, especially the kitchen which is very well equipped and I thoroughly enjoyed cooking there - not something I usually bother with when away from home. Joy and John are excellent hosts and nothing was too much trouble. Learned a lot about chickens, who would have thought they would eat soooo much lettuce?! Peaceful, relaxing, restorative holiday. Marvellous.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Gite so well equipped
Liked least: No egg slicer, but there is one in the post......!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Sep 2015
Thank you. We're so pleased you enjoyed your holiday (and chicken training!) and look forward to welcoming you all again!
Merci beaucoup! Joy, John, Fleur & The Chooks x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FreyaSyke...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The perfect family get away.”
Reviewed 20 December 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

John and Joy were the perfect hosts when we went to stay in their farmhouse. On hand but never intrusive, kind helpful & already ready to recommend local spots they felt may be of interest. (Perhaps Joy knows me too well as she recommended the BEST bakery every which was our daily haunt!)
The accommodation was spotless, a true home from home and we felt able to unwind and relax so much that we immediately booked for next year upon our departure!
The swimming pool is a much welcome addition on hot days and my teens all loved playing in it. John takes such good care of the pool too. It's kept in great condition.
We cannot sing the praises of John & Joy enough, their farmhouse is stunning whilst being a true comfortable "home" base, their friends quickly became our friends too as we dinned in the village and supped at Patrick's bar! The area is stunning, a real retreat from the hustle & bustle of work life in the UK.
I can't wait to go back and this time we are going with our old friends and their teens too. The thing is, the farmhouse is still big enough to accom ate 2 families in comfort too!
Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool
Liked least: Nothing! Genuinely.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Sep 2015
Thank you! We're so pleased you enjoyed your holiday, and really look forward to welcoming you all again one day.
Merci beaucoup! Joy, John, Fleur & The Chooks x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport
Reviewed 8 August 2011 for a stay in July 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with young children
Your age range 65+
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
15 Sep 2015
Thank you! We're so pleased you enjoyed your holiday, and look forward to welcoming you all again one day.
Merci beaucoup! Joy, John, Fleur & The Chooks x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sheffield
Reviewed 15 July 2011 for a stay in August 2009
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with young children
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
15 Sep 2015
Thank you! We're so pleased you enjoyed your holiday, and look forward to welcoming you all again!
Merci beaucoup. Joy, John, Fleur & The Chooks x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing