We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mr”
other traveller has booked this property
Accommodation in the Stables is mainly on one level with some internal steps.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Accommodation in the Stables is mainly on one level with some internal steps.
The private Hot tub is a key feature in the garden, heated to 38c and can be used all year round. Summer by the Hot Tub.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
65 reviews
Accommodation in the Stables is mainly on one level with some internal steps.
The private Hot tub is a key feature in the garden, heated to 38c and can be used all year round.
Summer by the Hot Tub.
The Hot tub is accessible from the conservatory.
There is an eating area with deck chairs on the patio next to the Hot tub.
The light and airy kitchen/diner conservatory opens onto the patio/garden and hot tub.
Steps from the living area to the conservatory.
The main bedroom is romantic and tastefully decorated.
The main bedroom is en suite and looks out onto the garden.Dressing gowns are there for the hot tub.
The second bedroom can either be twin or one large double bed.
The high quality spacious en-suite bathroom has 2 power showers and full length bath.
Family size bathroom leads off the main bedroom.
Summer wild flowers in the garden.
Summer
Dressing gowns are provided.
The Stables has its own private garden.
The outside of the property.
The property is situated on the edge of the forest with open fields to the front.
The view across the valley from the property.
Last two weeks in May is the Bluebell season in the Forest of Dean.
Symonds Yat is a popular place to visit for our guests. Peregrine falcons nest in the rock.
Autumn in the Forest is breathtaking. You can walk straight from your front door into the woods.
Tintern Abbey is another popular place to visit along side the River Wye.
Our other property, the Granary No. 38011. Deals available. Book both with your friends to qualify.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
English Bicknor, Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 65 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MarkB946
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed 5 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

This was our second visit to the wonderfully homely and hidden away gem that is the Stables. Within an hour you can be in Cirencester, Gloucester and the Brecon Beacons and a great place to return to at the end of the day. The Forest of Dean with all its outdoor attractions and Symonds Yay are on your door step, yet you could be a million miles away from anywhere if you choose to stay in, or out, in the fabulous hot tub overlooking the valley. It's a great balance and we had a great week away. Mandy and David are there only if you need them and value your privacy when you don't.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2018
Really glad you had such a good time. It was great having you. Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Much appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim C
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed 11 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

We had a lovely relaxing and peaceful stay at The Stables,lovely warm welcome and everything we needed to enjoy our stay.Ideally located to explore the Forest of Dean and surrounding area,we would definitely recommend it to friends

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jun 2018
Thank you for your positive comments. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
creg1234
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Miss ”
Reviewed 4 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

We have just arrived back.
What a wonderful stay.
My husband, our children, the dog and myself had a lovely relaxing time.
Very lovely hosts to.
We have already enquirer for our next trip.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2018
We loved having you all stay and glad you enjoyed yourselves. Look forward to welcoming you again in the summer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gsingh462
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Relaxing & idyllic”
Reviewed 3 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We spent 2 nights here and it felt like we were there twice as long due being so relaxed.
Mandy, the host, is wonderful and very laid back, she even left cake and fresh eggs from their own chicken pen for us which was a very nice touch.
The cottage is beautifully presented, cute and homely.
Wi-if was a tiny bit hit & miss but that was being improved/fixed by engineers during our stay. There is free-view tv with hundreds of channels and a DVD player with several dvds for your viewing too. Lots of books and some games were also left by hosts should that be your preference.
The best thing about the stay was the hot-tub which was really nice, to be able to sit out in the garden (in any weather) and listen to some music and look out at the wonderful views. It was the icing on the cake.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2018
Thank you for such lovely comments. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicky G
1 review
“Beautiful views”
Reviewed 20 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

A short break with the family to provide some relaxation time for my husband between ongoing treatment. We were very lucky with the weather but it was simply beautiful to sit in the hot tub surrounded by nothing but fields and animals. House had everything we could need and Mandy was extremely helpful and accommodating. Thank you, would definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 May 2018
Thankyou for your lovely review. It was a pleasure having you to stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing