We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect in every way!”
Accommodation in the Stables is mainly on one level with some internal steps.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Accommodation in the Stables is mainly on one level with some internal steps.
The private Hot tub is a key feature in the garden, heated to 38c and can be used all year round. Summer by the Hot Tub.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
65 reviews
Accommodation in the Stables is mainly on one level with some internal steps.
The private Hot tub is a key feature in the garden, heated to 38c and can be used all year round.
Summer by the Hot Tub.
The Hot tub is accessible from the conservatory.
There is an eating area with deck chairs on the patio next to the Hot tub.
The light and airy kitchen/diner conservatory opens onto the patio/garden and hot tub.
Steps from the living area to the conservatory.
The main bedroom is romantic and tastefully decorated.
The main bedroom is en suite and looks out onto the garden.Dressing gowns are there for the hot tub.
The second bedroom can either be twin or one large double bed.
The high quality spacious en-suite bathroom has 2 power showers and full length bath.
Family size bathroom leads off the main bedroom.
Summer wild flowers in the garden.
Summer
Dressing gowns are provided.
The Stables has its own private garden.
The outside of the property.
The property is situated on the edge of the forest with open fields to the front.
The view across the valley from the property.
Last two weeks in May is the Bluebell season in the Forest of Dean.
Symonds Yat is a popular place to visit for our guests. Peregrine falcons nest in the rock.
Autumn in the Forest is breathtaking. You can walk straight from your front door into the woods.
Tintern Abbey is another popular place to visit along side the River Wye.
Our other property, the Granary No. 38011. Deals available. Book both with your friends to qualify.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
English Bicknor, Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 65 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
joannejoa...
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way!”
Reviewed 12 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

My husband and I stayed at The Stables for three nights and enjoyed not only the comfortable, quaint, home from home accommodation but the beautiful area and stunning views. The fact file left by Mandy and Dave is so helpful and a informative touch which we was so helpful as this area was new to us ( and many parts, still are) we took their advice of taking the ordinance survey map out with us each day which is a must and to return to our beautifully decorated retreat after taking in all the scenery on our days out was just heaven, the absolute added bonus was the relaxing hot tub over looking the welsh mountains, the tranquillity and privacy while enjoying together a little glass of well deserved bubbly. To return is a must for us!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2016
Thanks so much for your fantastic review. We are very pleased you had such a good time and look forward to welcoming you back one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicole w
1 review
“A beautiful place to stay!”
Reviewed 26 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

If you are looking for some peace and quiet in beautiful surroundings then The Stables is simply perfect! We spent one of our days canoeing down the river Wye at Symons Yat and had a lovely lunch looking out on the river at The Saracens Head- This is about a 20min drive from The Stables (be sure to take cash for parking!) After a tiring day on the river we relaxed in the hot tub and listened to the sound of gentle wind chimes in the garden. Such a magical place.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2016
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We are very pleased you had such a good time and enjoyed everything we have tried to provide for our guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda W
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A warm welcome, complete with cottage garden, stunning views and beautiful decor await you at The Stables.”
Reviewed 2 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

You won't be disappointed if you choose to stay at The Stables. On arrival we were greeted with smiles and helpful conversation by the friendly hosts who guide you to the accommodation. The Stables sits adjacent to their home, but once inside maintains a complete sense of privacy. Surrounded by free flowing flowers the accommodation lives up to its picturesque photo, and inside, this beautifully decorated retreat is a real treat indeed with everything you need for the perfect getaway. The wild cottage garden spoils you with your own private view of the local land and a hot tub, best enjoyed at sunset with a glass on bubbles in hand. The Stables is just right for 4 adults or a family of 4. Or of course a romantic break.
We ventured out to the local pub (New Inn) which offered very good food at a good price, and also drove to one by the river (Saracens Head) which is lovely for a sunny day and offers boat tours.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: 10am check out, but only because I didn't want to leave!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2016
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Looking forward to seeing you again in a few weeks.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MMG223
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A magical place to stay”
Reviewed 31 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We had a wonderful week at The Stables - the house was clean & comfortable so we immediately settled in. The hot tub and stunning garden meant we spent a lot of time outside enjoying the view and relaxing. There is lots to do in the area and the week went went very quickly. We recommend The Stables to anyone who wants to have somewhere really special to stay in the Forest of Dean. We hope to return again next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How bright and airy the house felt - and the hot tub in the garden
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2016
Thank you for your lovely comments. We look forward to meeting you all again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amybeques...
Glouceseter
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect romantic getaway”
Reviewed 10 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a lovely weekend away staying at The Stables and we want to go back already! It is a beautiful cottage in a gorgeous setting, perfect for having a relaxing break and getting away from it all. The cottage is beautifully decorated and has everything you need to have a comfortable stay. The owners are lovely and made us feel like we could ask them anything if we needed to. The hot tub was definitely our favourite bit though - it's amazing at night in such a peaceful setting.
We would 100% recommend The Stables and we are hoping to return next year! Thank you Mandy & David. :-)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2016
Thank you for your very positive comments. We are thrilled you had such a lovely stay and look forward to welcoming you again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing