We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect, relaxing countryside stay in a...”
Accommodation in the Stables is mainly on one level with some internal steps.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Accommodation in the Stables is mainly on one level with some internal steps.
The private Hot tub is a key feature in the garden, heated to 38c and can be used all year round. Summer by the Hot Tub.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
65 reviews
Accommodation in the Stables is mainly on one level with some internal steps.
The private Hot tub is a key feature in the garden, heated to 38c and can be used all year round.
Summer by the Hot Tub.
The Hot tub is accessible from the conservatory.
There is an eating area with deck chairs on the patio next to the Hot tub.
The light and airy kitchen/diner conservatory opens onto the patio/garden and hot tub.
Steps from the living area to the conservatory.
The main bedroom is romantic and tastefully decorated.
The main bedroom is en suite and looks out onto the garden.Dressing gowns are there for the hot tub.
The second bedroom can either be twin or one large double bed.
The high quality spacious en-suite bathroom has 2 power showers and full length bath.
Family size bathroom leads off the main bedroom.
Summer wild flowers in the garden.
Summer
Dressing gowns are provided.
The Stables has its own private garden.
The outside of the property.
The property is situated on the edge of the forest with open fields to the front.
The view across the valley from the property.
Last two weeks in May is the Bluebell season in the Forest of Dean.
Symonds Yat is a popular place to visit for our guests. Peregrine falcons nest in the rock.
Autumn in the Forest is breathtaking. You can walk straight from your front door into the woods.
Tintern Abbey is another popular place to visit along side the River Wye.
Our other property, the Granary No. 38011. Deals available. Book both with your friends to qualify.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
English Bicknor, Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 65 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
James C
1 review
“A perfect, relaxing countryside stay in a stunning property!”
Reviewed 2 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We stayed here over the weekend as a group of four for my sisters 30th birthday. We were already excited for our stay but were absolutely blown away when we arrived! Such a stunning, beautifully decorated property in a gorgeous location. It was even better than we hoped for and made for a perfect relaxing weekend. The hot tub is a perfect addition to enjoy a glass of bubbles under the stars! There is also lots to do in the surrounding location and Mandy was very helpful beforehand in suggesting places to visit and recommending restaurants/pubs. Needless to say we didn't want to leave and definitely hope to visit again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2016
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It makes us very happy to know that you appreciated the Stables and that you had such a good time. We look forward to seeing you again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westberg2...
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“If you want remote countryside seclusion, this is the place.”
Reviewed 30 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

My wife and I chose to stay at The Granary, which is beautifully characterful conversion of the original Granary. I must admit, walking in through the door, we both stood with wide eyed wonder at the intricately personable and colourful décor.

Mandy and David have thought of everything and anything that could make their guests feel like that their in their own homes, but suddenly transported into the middle of the most picturesque and stunning countryside.

I could literally go on and on and on and on about this place, but I wont bore you.

The property is set far away from the hustle and bustle, yet, when you want to get back into the world, its minutes away. You have to experience it to understand my meaning.

The owners respect your privacy but when you need them, they're kind, warm and most informative. Clique I know, but next time we return, we will have a little extra person and will spend another memorable and most unforgettable holiday here.

I would totally recommend this getaway to anyone that appreciates the great outdoors, charming and rustic locations and enough wildlife to shake a furry stick at!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Sleeping in the heart of the countryside. Surrounded by nature, Canoeing, Cycling, Walking through fields to the local pub, etc. etc. etc.
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 May 2016
Thank you for this wonderful review. We are very happy that you had a good time and appreciated what we have done. Good luck with the new baby and hope to meet you again one day in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chickaboo...
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed 28 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We have just returned from our holiday here. Was sad to leave as such a lovely place. The views were great looking over the fields especially sat in the hot tub. Inside was nice and cosy and homely, very nicely decorated. Very peaceful and quiet, great for watching the sun set. Mandy and David were very friendly and helpful. Great location for all activities you may wish to do and close to pubs/ restaurants. We loved the fact that you felt miles away from anything, yet you were only a short distance from the villages, activities and pubs. We also had a great home cooked meal one evening. Definitely worth having if you fancy staying in. We would highly recommend staying here both for the location of the stables with its great views, peacefulness , hot tub and the location for the things you may wish to do. We will definitely be back in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 May 2016
Thank you for your lovely positive comments. We are very pleased you enjoy staying at the Stables and all that the area has to offer. Hope you had a good journey home and look forward to seeing you again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana K
Red Lodge, United Kingdom
1 review
“charming cottage”
Reviewed 15 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We absolutely fell in love with this place. Views incredible! Hottub was a bonus to this lovely cottage. Owners are just as nice and sweet! Thank you!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Apr 2016
Thank you so much for writing such a lovely review. We hope you had a good journey home.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmiejj27
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely! ”
Reviewed 4 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely location and a wonderful holiday let. I'd say it's a little bit cosy for two couples (in the winter, as the cottage is V small, in the summer you'd be enjoying the gorgeous garden more!) Great hot tub with amazing views and Mandy and David were lovely!

Only thing is the one bathroom! Not bad if one couple but not ideal to have the other traipsing through your room at night to use the facilities! But other than that, a cosy holiday home. Very warm too which is a huge plus and like I said, hot tub was great!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Mar 2016
Thanks for your comments and your lovely review. The website does explain about the bathroom situation so we understand the point you made. We're glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing