We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wren Cottage is a super hideaway to chill and...”
other travellers have booked this property
Wren Cottage is in the foreground
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Wren Cottage is in the foreground
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
72 reviews
Wren Cottage is in the foreground
Our dog Jodie enjoying the garden!  Wren Cottage welcomes pets.
Autumn tree on Shapridge Hill
Welcome tray including locally made apple juice and biscuits.
A rural location with plenty of horses, sheep, even a couple of pigs and a donkey!
View of the River Severn from Edge Hills - the hill opposite the cottages
Snowy scenes
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Mitcheldean, Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 72 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Olwyn A
1 review
“Wren Cottage is a super hideaway to chill and unwind, peace itself.”
Reviewed 1 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

as we were familiar with the other side of the valley, on arrival we found the location of the cottage to be stunning and knew immediately that the accommodation would fulfill our expectations and it certainly did. The inside was snug even without using the woodburner and the amenities well presented plus a lot of thought had gone into making this a perfect hideaway. Charlie, our Jack Russell at 12 year old thought the area a doggy paradise and was up for walks at any time of day.The garden bench was well used for morning coffee and just taking in the view. We hope to make a return visit before winter sets in and look forward to returning.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2017
Thank you Olwyn for this fabulous review! We're so pleased that you thought Wren Cottage was the perfect hideaway and that the weather was good enough for you to take in the views from the garden bench. I'm glad Charlie the Jack Russell enjoyed his holiday too - our 2 dogs are lucky to be able to walk in the Forest every day! We are looking forwards to to your return visit -maybe you'll be able to make use of the wood burner next time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie k
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“An amazing cottage in a perfect secluded location”
Reviewed 27 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

A wonderful weekend away in this excellent cottage. Every detail was thought of, from the very helpful folder of local walks to the very well equipped kitchen. A perfect home from home. The local craft centre served wonderful food and tea in a very charming atmosphere. Excellent meal at The Glass house pub which was recommended in the information folder. The peace and tranquility of the setting was amazing. Thank you both Karen and Liz for making it such a wonderful experience. We will definitely be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2017
Thank you Julie for your kind words! I'm so glad that you had a great time at Wren Cottage and that everything lived up to your expectations. Harts Barn Craft Centre and tea rooms has been very popular with our guests and we love it too! They are so friendly and helpful and the food is excellent! We enjoyed meeting you and can't wait to welcome you back! Karen and Lis
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew G
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely cosy cottage with beautiful views”
Reviewed 17 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Well equipped, clean and presented cottage with fantastic views. Ideal location for the Forest of Dean and lovely walks. Very dog friendly. Would definitely book again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jul 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review Wren Cottage. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and are looking forwards to welcoming you back again one day soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily K
2 reviews
“Great little get away”
Reviewed 5 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Had a fab time at the wren cottage which was perfect for the two of us. Great base to go and see the local attractions and walks in the forrest of dean and a wonderful spot to enjoy the evening views from the outdoors facilities. Great trip, thank you :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jul 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review Wren Cottage. We are so pleased that you liked it and that you had a great stay here! We never tire of this view and are lucky enough to see it every day. We hope to be able to welcome you back again one day soon, Emily.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardMa...
MALTA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stunning View and Character”
Reviewed 16 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

we stayed at Wren Cottage, a cosy and welcoming cottage complete with all essential amenities. The location is so peaceful and tranquil and a short walk takes you right into the Forest of Dean. Fantastic forest views from the cottage. Just 20 min drive to Gloucester. Highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 May 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review Wren Cottage. It's great that you enjoyed your stay here. The peace, tranquility and views are what drew us to this place when we moved here! We look forwards to seeing you again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing