We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (128)
Filter reviews
128 results
Traveller rating
110
12
4
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
110
12
4
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews honor bar private beach dean's blue hole long island rental car get away gorgeous property your disposal rooms were very clean previous visits weather was perfect fish tacos granola bars beautiful water his wife high tide full service
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 128 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2016

Perfect for whatever you want! Peace, quiet, beautiful scenery etc. There is nothing Mr Hans Darville (co-owner with his wife) can't help you with together with his wife, who we were sorry to miss as she was in Nassau on family business, who communicated with us setting up all our arrangements. We were kindly upgraded as for most of the time we were the only ones there! The resort is beautiful and maintained nicely and clean too. Would very highly recommend this resort to anyone without hesitation. You would need to hire a vehicle but then you would if you were visiting Long Island anyway. Car Rental, Unique Wheels, is just up the road from them. Gems is situated just south of Clarence Town, 20 miles from the southern tip and 60 miles from the northern tip.

Room Tip: a good mix of rooms and suites most with sea views and balcony or patio.
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gems P, Owner at Gems At Paradise Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2016

Hi Mark L.,

We truly appreciate your taking the time to write a review and sharing your "perfect" experience at Gems!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2016

I stayed at Gems for a week, and I did not want to leave! The Bahamas are expensive, no question, and a lot of my experiences showed me that what you get for that high price is severely disappointing. NOT Gems! You get a real bang for your buck here. The main hall is decorated in such a charming manner, with real local flare. As are the guest rooms. I loved the little touches of shells placed all over the property. However, the highlight was the private beach. That spot is my happy place. I could not get enough of the view! I only wish that the water had been calm enough to kayak to one of the nearby cays, but a storm was brewing my last days there. Hanse, the co-owner, was so kind, helpful, unobtrusive, and a genuinely nice guy who cares about his guests and the experience they have. Speaking of nice, the local residents of Long Island are the nicest people as a whole that I have ever met anywhere! Their generosity of spirit warmed my heart. I cannot wait to go back to Gems. It would be a great location for a wedding or other event and really fun to rent the whole place to yourself :)

Room Tip: I'm pretty sure all rooms are charming with a good view
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Sona K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gems P, Owner at Gems At Paradise Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2016

Hi Sonabeca,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your great vacation experience at Gems. We are pleased you enjoyed the amenities, fantastic views, private beach and most importantly personalized service as well as the warmth of our people and look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2016

This was our second time at Gems and fell even more in love with the place. We were the only couple there for three nights and had the place to ourselves. The ocean breeze that flowed into our room was enough to keep the a/c off (and I live in the Miami heat). Just the overall peacefulness and beauty of the place is what you go to Long Island for. Once again, the proprietors, Hance and Shavonne were helpful with anything we asked of them. Hance is really the best. He isn't mentioned in all these reviews for nothing! It is like having a personal family member or friend on the island that can guide you or get you whatever it is you are looking for during your trip experience. I would not want to stay anywhere else. It is like a little b&b. You have Hance's kitchen where you can cook fish, make coffee in the morning or store your groceries in his refrigerator. It is just the coziest place! The view that you see when you drive up over the hill and into the driveway will blow your mind. You don't even need to really leave Gems at all for a secluded beach getaway. You WILL, of course, but there is no other beach as pretty as this one. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Marissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gems P, Owner at Gems At Paradise Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2016

Hi Marissa H,

Thank you for once again returning to visit us and sharing your great experience at Gems! We look forward to seeing you both again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2016

Paradise exists! We stayed a week (last week of June) on Long Island, at Gems at Paradise. As it was the low season, we had the Hotel for ourselves! We were welcome by the owner, Hence, who has been extremely kind and helpful.

ROOM: impeccable, comfortable, and super convenient as we had a small kitchen to prepare our breakfasts and sometimes dinner. The large furnished balcony allowed us to have coffee there in the morning or a glass of wine in the evening, with a STUNNING sea view, with so many shades of blue, turquoise and teal water!
You can also eat at the hotel if you request the day before. We just had our first breakfast and it was excellent. FREE wifi in the room.

BEACH: The hotel has a small beach but very convenient if you want to chill out in the shade. We used the canoes to go on the island, about 20mn from the beach, and we found there about 20 conchs! We were thrilled! The hotel provides beach towels.
Of course, the goal is to rent a car and to access many beaches on Long Island where you will be by yourself! No one! White sandy beaches for miles, stunning shallow water, no sea weeds anywhere. Just GORGEOUS!

CAR: Rent a car, you cannot do anything without one. Drive on the left!

FOOD STORES: 10 mn from the hotel, food is twice as expensive as in the US.

RESTAURANTS: we just went to three different ones: Outer Edge Grill on the Clarence Town Marina (2mn from the hotel) where they served incredible grilled fish tacos. The other one was Beach House Restaurant at Cape Santa Maria (Resort) where we had amazing homemade pizzas. Lastly we went to the Friday's buffet at Winter Haven (Marina).

Conclusion: Probably the most beautiful beaches are on Long Island. GEMS AT PARADISE was certainly a place in paradise (it is well-named) and the best place to stay at: we rarely had such a privacy, stunning view, quiet place and friendly service. We would go back in heart beat :) Thank you Hence!

Room Tip: We had a two bedrooms suite (room #1)
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MayaFab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gems P, Owner at Gems At Paradise Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2016

Hi MayaFab,

Thank you for taking the time to share your great experience at Gems at Paradise and your enjoyment of the fabulous accommodations, service, food & stunning views! We look forward to seeing you all again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2016

Many times on this trip we would stop and say listen and there would be nothing but sweet silence. The views were breathtaking right from Gems. Hance was a great host and was there when we needed him to answer any questions we had, and believe me there were many we have an 11 year old. We felt when we left like we were old friends. Parts of the island are still under repair but have come a long way and what wasn't repaired didn't interfere with us from having a great time. We rented a car and I would highly recommend it so that you can truly take in all Long Island has to offer. I work in Nassau and every 5 to 6 weeks go to an out island. This is one place that I plan on returning back to.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Pam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gems P, Owner at Gems At Paradise Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2016

Hi Pam R,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of the tranquility, breathtaking views and great service at Gems at Paradise along with the rest of beautiful Long Island. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews