We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveller rating
30
8
2
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
30
8
2
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rowdy boys long island pig roast friday night fresh fish ocean
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 43 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

This is actually a re review as its a supplement to an earlier one. I was in Clarence town in mid December, which is an off season time. Winter Haven still had not completely recovered from Hurricane Joaquine. Roofs on several buildings were still damaged and the exterior paint looked a bit shabby on some. I hope the boys will get there act together and put the place back in the shape it was when mom and dad were around. It is a lovely off the beaten path spot.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
Thank dennis u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

A rather special experience. We picked this place based on the very good ratings here. However, the experience started with a pickup by one of the rowdy boys from the airport to the hotel on which he was continuously drinking alcohol and we even stopped at the liquor store to get more booze, which he consumed while driving us to the hotel. And our experience continued like it began. The food at the restaurant is nice - this is if you like greasy, tasteless food.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Erik K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2016

This place is perfect for a family getaway. Flew from Nassau and stayed here with my wife and 2 sons. The boys loved it, and having the bar and restaurant on property made it fun for everyone. The marina is right next door and so also perfect for boaters and fishing charters.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank M_Landry242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2016

My wife and I had decided to travel to the Bahamas as we had never been before, I'm an avid saltwater fly fisherman so to read reviews about DIY Bonefishing on Long Island that was the destination chosen, after researching places to stay Winterhaven looked the best for location ,amenities and good food.From the point of booking Muriel was excellent helping with our requirements, we chose a full board option and lets just say we were not dissapointed, the food was excellent and there is plenty to choose from even on a 14 day stay and always freshly cooked. Lobster, fresh fish and local dishes like the mutton curry were very very good. The accomodation was good with an excellent sea view and a welcome pool to cool off during the heat of the day. The bay around the corner has lots to see especially turtles, osprey and does have some bonefish in, also evidence of Tarpon but never encountered any, I had a few fishing trips with local guides and good fishing was had. We hired a car and thats a must on Long Island. We had a great time on Long Island and the family and staff at Winterhaven made it very special for us, thanks to Bernard and his brothers for all the banter and jokes and to Muriel and the staff for the great stay we had, we will be back ! Spicy Wing dings are amazing and the cheesecake huge and delicious..

Room Tip: Ask for an Ocean Front room
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VicandRich2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2016

Winter Haven aka "Rowdy Boys" has some of the best food on Long Island, recently dined on some native mutton, prepared by traditional recipe. It's better than KFC, because it's finger licking good. Beautiful view of the ocean and pool. A must visit!

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mangowings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews