We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient for a stopover with kids”
Review of Novotel Rouen Sud

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Rouen Sud
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 8 September 2016

I chose this hotel because it is close to the motorway through Rouen as we were only staying 1 night on our drive back to the UK from the Dordogne. Unfortunately we didn't have time to visit Rouen, but if you wanted to do that then you'd probably want somewhere more central as this is several km away from the centre.

It's a pretty standard mid range chain hotel, there is plenty of parking (inside a security gate), the lobby is bright and spacious and the rooms are nice enough. There is space for 2 put-me-up beds for kids which was ideal for us, and you don't pay extra. The wifi in the rooms was really good. Dinner was good, if a little pricey, although we had a very curt waiter, he was actually a comical cliche of a grumpy french waiter and we weren't offended at all. Apart from that the other staff were excellent. Breakfast is expensive (16.50 Euros) although kids are free so it balances out a bit.

It is about 2.5 hours to Calais so is well situated if you're driving to or from the south and is easily accessible, so I'd recomend this place for an easy and comfortable stopover.

Room Tip: I suspect all the rooms are the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FREDERIC D, Directeur général at Novotel Rouen Sud, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2016

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Rouen Sud. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Frédéric - Directeur Novotel Rouen Sud

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (648)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 47 of 648 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

My wife, myself and our 8 year old daughter stayed for 2 nights on our drive to the Vendee. We had a family room at a decent price.
The room was adequate but not spacious. The hotel did, however, have a small swimming pool, mainly for children, a small playground and 2 tennis courts. Our daughter really liked the small pool.
The restaurant looked like a conference room and we only had dinner there once. Unfortunately our steaks were dire and I had to complain. Breakfast was in the same room and was quite good, without being impressive. It's certainly not a 4 star hotel but was ok for a couple of nights.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank paul o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FREDERIC D, Directeur général at Novotel Rouen Sud, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2016

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Rouen Sud. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Frédéric - Directeur Novotel Rouen Sud

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2016

This hotel was selected as a one night stop over on the way back to the UK from Beziers. The room they gave us was described as a triple, the sofa bed was ancient and my daughter said it was the most uncomfortable bed she had ever slept in, rather than a duvet it had a tired old woollen blanket that was described as itchy and rather smelly by my daughter. The room decor was awful, appearing to have last been decorated in the late 1960's with yellowing, bubbling wall paper, tired and outdated fixtures and limited space. The carpet was horrific with lots of peculiar stains and a stickiness underfoot that sent a shiver down my spine. We were so horrified by the first room they gave us that we asked to change rooms; however the second room they gave us was even worse than the first as in addition to the carpet stains and tired décor it also smelled of drains! The limited number of hotel staff who were on duty appeared to be rushed off their feet and were rather rude and abrupt. They claim to offer free coffee to guests, however none of the machines in reception were working so we had to buy coffee from the bar but due to lack of staff we had a 15 minute wait before the barman/restaurant waiter appeared. I was very disappointed with this hotel and will not be using Novotel again. On the route down to Beziers we used Kyriad in Chartress, which apart from being significantly cheaper was also better equipped, more modern, clean and comfortable. My advice would be to avoid Novotel if this example is typical of their accommodation. There are plenty of alternatives that offer more modern, comfortable and aesthetically pleasing surroundings.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Louise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2016

We stayed as a stopover on our way to the South West. Hotel is about 2-2.5 hrs from Calais and once you've negotiated the confusion of Rouen's roadworks and road closures it was great to arrive to a secure gated carpark. Majority of cars in the carpark were in transit with bikes, full boots and roof boxes safely left. Would definitely use the hotel again for this benefit alone.
Hotel staff were very welcoming and friendly.
The room was a family room for 4 which although wasn't huge was fine for an overnighter and I struggled to find a room that would take more than 3! It was clean and comfortable. A large comfortable, double bed plus 2 single beds slotted in. Toilet separate from the shower which is a first for me but a great feature when 4 people are trying to get ready in the morning.
I booked breakfast for adults whilst kids eat FREE when in the same room with parents.
The breakfast was excellent - self service with a hot section of bacon, sausages, scrambled eggs and the ability to cook your own egg in a boiler. Fresh fruit salad, yogurts, cheese and meat, pastries, cereal, fresh bread, a variety of tea, coffee machine and juice.
However we also ate the night before in the restaurant which was very mixed. It's quite pricy and wasn't brilliant. Kids had the burger and was reasonably good which was in contrast to the faux fillet steak which was on the special fixed prix menu. It was so tough and really not edible. We also had a glass of rose wine and was served the end of a bottle which apart from not knowing if we had the right amount, as it was just poured with measuring, it was so warm it was like a hot drink! The food was presented nicely but quality was poor and service wasn't great either. If there was a choice to eat elsewhere I'd suggest it but there isn't as far as I can see as its in the university area which was shut down in August.
Overall a good stopover with great facilities if there for longer although not sure the best location if staying to explore Rouen.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FREDERIC D, Directeur général at Novotel Rouen Sud, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2016

Thank you for your comment.
Best regards.
Frederic - Manager Novotel Rouen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2016 via mobile

A favourite stopover approx 2 hours from the Tunnel.
The staff are most helpful.
Check in / out is very efficient.
Rooms are clean and comfortable and appears to being under refurbishment, without any disturbance to travellers.
Buffet BBQ was good.
Secure parking.
Excellent value for money.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FREDERIC D, Directeur général at Novotel Rouen Sud, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2016

Thank you for your comment.
Best regards.
Frederic - Manager Novotel Rouen Sud

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Etienne-du-Rouvray
0.6 km away
Campanile Rouen Sud - Zenith - Parc Expo
Campanile Rouen Sud - Zenith - P...
#3 of 10 in Saint-Etienne-du-Rouvray
154 reviews
6.1 km away
Novotel Suites Rouen Normandie
0.2 km away
Ibis Rouen Parc des Expos Zenith
Ibis Rouen Parc des Expos Zenith
#5 of 10 in Saint-Etienne-du-Rouvray
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 km away
Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel
6.2 km away
Hotel de Bourgtheroulde, Autograph Collection
2 km away
Premiere Classe Rouen Sud - Zenith - Parc Expo
Premiere Classe Rouen Sud - Zeni...
#8 of 10 in Saint-Etienne-du-Rouvray
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Rouen Sud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Rouen Sud

Address: Angle Avenue de l'Universite | Rue de la Mare Sansoure, 76800 Saint-Etienne-du-Rouvray, France
Region: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Eure > Saint-Etienne-du-Rouvray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Saint-Etienne-du-Rouvray
Price Range: $119 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Rouen Sud 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Rouen Sud is a 3 star hotel located 500 m from the exhibition centre and the Zenith events centre, an ideal location for a business trip to Rouen 7 km from the city centre. The hotel offers 134 rooms, a terrace, outdoor pool and tennis courton leafy grounds on the edge of a forest. The hotel also features several meeting rooms for conferences for up to 150 people, not to mention tree climbing facilities. Discover modern dining in our Novotel Cafe restaurant. Free private secure car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with lastminute.com.au, Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Rouen Sud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Rouen Sud Hotel Saint-Etienne-Du-Rouvray
Novotel Hotel Rouen Sud
Novotel St-Etienne-Du-Rouvray
St-Etienne-Du-Rouvray Novotel
Accor Rouen Sud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing