We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,037)
Filter reviews
1,037 results
Traveller rating
262
499
190
66
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
262
499
190
66
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view underground parking nice hotel sea front four star hotel walk in shower coffee machine top floor comfortable room bread castle france promenade duvet seaside raid ferry
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 1,037 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2018

At the time of our stay, I was injured by an accident, therefore we asked a week in advance for a room with two seats. This could only be guaranteed in the PrivilegeRoom, we were told, not in any of the other rooms. We booked it. This type of room is situated on the 4th floor and only slightly larger than the standard rooms. It looked like it had been forgotten for some time: shower fixtures were broken, there were only large generic soap bottles out of their holders instead of the hotel’s regular shower gels/shampoos, an open cupboard in the bedroom which had no shelves but some big holes in it, two round tables which made bad use of the available space. The curtains could only be pulled back half-ways and then got stuck. The windows were caked with dirt. The airconditioning did not work. I got little sleep because I could not place my broken arm above the huge and heavy king size duvet without otherwise lying naked in the cool room. Next morning, we asked for two one-person duvets instead of one large. What we got instead was one thin brown blanket per person which looked poor and was way too thin for an autumn night. The huge duvet was dumped on one of the seats, making it impossible to use it any more. When we asked at the reception again for the two one-person duvets we asked for in the first place, there was no cooperation: replacing them from another room was impossible, although the hotel was obviously only sparsely booked. Finally we were offered a cheaper room with two separate beds. To our surprise, it was much cleaner, far better furnished and offered free water and toiletries, unlike the much more expensive 'privilege' room. Contrary to the information of the management we were given when booking, there were two comfortable seats. 

Another issue was breakfast on weekdays. On these days, breakfast is supposedly available till 10 am. We arrived at 9:30 to a few leftovers which were not restocked. There was no baguette, only soft bread and limp bake-off rolls. At 10:00 am sharp, all the food was carried away. 

Besides the low quality, we felt deliberately misinformed by the management. We can not recommend this hotel.

Room tip: Avoid the privilege rooms - they are neglected and don't really offer anything extra for the higher ate
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank CM-and-WV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2018

This is a typical example of a Mercure Hotel. No luxury or frills. The rooms and public areas are clean and tidy. The reception is slow and easily distracted. The cocktail bar is bright but lacks charm and atmosphere, unlike the original Verrazane. Moving the restaurant from the Panoramic down to street level has been a disaster, though! The now pretentiously renamed “Restaurant by Del Nero” is dreadful and should be avoided. The table booking at reception did not reach the restaurant. The wine list has no Sav Blanc. The food is awful - weak, wafer thin oysters, my tasteless veal and my wife’s Magret de Canard were served cold in the same colder watery tasteless sauce. the ordered pommes frites were delivered as cold boiled new potatoes. Our complaint to the waitress was met with “the chef says sorry”.

Room tip: Pay extra for a third floor sea view room. DO NOT use the restaurants.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrandadCartwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2018 via mobile

We stayed one night on the last day of a holiday in France to get the ferry. Our room was called Privilege. I hate to think what a non-privilege room is like. Ok, we had a large comfortable bed with a view over the sea but outside the window on the top of the flat roof was a very large dead seagull. In a day or so there will be flies and as there is NO air conditioning (something we were not informed of when we booked)I would not like to be in this room. We had a small fridge which is good, but the iPhone Bluetooth speaker has the docking bit for the oldest iPhones only, so obviously won’t work if you have one bought in the last three or four years. The WiFi is very erratic and doesn’t work very well at all. All in all extremely disappointing.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank misssunshineDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2018 via mobile

We’ve just left a very tatty Mercure Reims Hotel to spend the final night of our holiday here. On arrival discovered that the air con in our ‘Privilege room’ was broken (a long term problem for the whole hotel by all accounts). Given the very warm weather not what we wanted!

Great location though and definitely a ‘room with a view’ as promised. Parking facilities also excellent.

Perhaps Accorhotels need to up their game on the refurbishment front?

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Empireboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018 via mobile

We stayed for one night in room 319 at the back of the property. These rooms are narrow and dark with a strange glass case reminiscent of a shop serving no useful purpose. Meanwhile, there is no fridge to cool your water. There was a clothes hook barely hanging on to the wall and the inroom shower tray does not empty quickly so you have to keep watching that it does not overflow and fill the room. The breakfast is a hefty 17euros and nothing special, but the main problem is that the dining area is miniscule for the number of guests in the hotel. It fills quickly and breakfast quickly becomes an intimate affair as you are all trying to access the buffet at once. In mitigation, the location is perfect and the underground car park is useful and reasonable at 7 euros in spite of the notice pinned on the wall stating that with all the nearby festivals and events, the hotel takes no responsibility for any break in or theft from the cars! Reception staff are pleasant.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank cteague1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews