We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great cottage with pretty garden and outlook.”
other travellers have booked this property
A warm welcome awaits you at Yr Encil
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A warm welcome awaits you at Yr Encil
view of the house from the garden the cosy log fire
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
A warm welcome awaits you at Yr Encil
view of the house from the garden
the cosy log fire
Front bedroom made up as superking
Front bedroom made up as twin
L shaped area of front bedroom
Back double bedroom
Suntrap garden
River at bottom of garden
Eifl Mountain - which can be seen from the kitchen window
Trefor village
View of Lyn Peninsula- a very short walk from the house
Some local wildlife
A warm welcome for 4 legged friends also!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Trefor, Gwynedd, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bidandbod...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great cottage with pretty garden and outlook.”
Reviewed 10 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Great cottage with everything you could possibly need - even a pizza cutter!!! Left tea, coffee and first pint of milk which was a nice touch. The beach is a couple of mins walk or drive away where you can catch crabs by the bucket load!! Drove down peninsula to Abersoch and surround or up to Snowdonia to climb Snowden easily. Beaches at whistling sands and Abersoch also good. There is parking at back of cottage for normal sized car too.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Aug 2017
Hi thank you so much for the kind review and that you enjoyed the cottage. We would welcome you back anytime! Esther and Peter.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen R
Peak District, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“don't look elsewhere....just book this one!”
Reviewed 8 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

What a find! A really lovely cottage. And thoughtfully presented, with detailed instructions.

Large sitting/dining room, with TV, log-burner, etc. V comfy, and very tastefully decorated. Kitchen is beautifully equipped, complete with Delongi kettle and toaster, and decent knives (a rarity in most of the holiday accommodation that I have stayed in!). there is a well-equipped under-the-stairs cupboard complete with, to the delight of my husband, iron and ironing board!!!

Upstairs, there is a bathroom with a bath, with an overhead shower, loo and basin; the cistern is a little temperamental at times! the two bedrooms are tastefully decorated; the larger of the 2 rooms is the twin room at the front of the house, with the double at the back. Both have plenty of storage. Pillows are very thick; I normally have one foam and one feather, and these were too thick to have two pillows but one was not enough....suggest you take your own pillows if you are as fussy as I!!!

Outside, a small-ish parking space, but we were still able to park a Yeti without any major difficulty (apart from negotiating around our bikes!). At the front, there is a small garden that winds down to the stream. This is very 'English county garden', quite shady, and full of midges!

The village itself is odd! Some really lovely little rows of cottages, then 2 bus depots, a field full of rubbish, complete with cars crammed full of junk....lots just quite uncared for! Village shop ideal, but do not ignore the owner comments about their wood as it is fireproof!

Beach pleasant, with a lovely sandy area, a shale part and a jetty with some fab crabbing!

Landlady lovely, with excellent communications and also happy for feedback/recommendations.

Ideally situated; we did Angelsey, Caernarfon, Lleyn peninsula, Llechwedd Slate Caverns and even Snowdon (well, not me, but my husband and older son!!!).

Cannot recommend highly enough, and suggest that you do not hesitate to book, but please check with me first as I do not want you to get in before me!!!!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 May 2017
Helen. Thanks you so much for the comprehensive review. We really appreciate the time you took to write this. Since your visit we have taken down a lot of the overgrowth in the garden so its a little less shady.. but hopefully that might help with the midges! Certainly look forward to welcoming you and the family back. Thanks again Esther
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria...
1 review
“Welcoming Cosy Cottage Amidst Welsh Coastal Path Splendour”
Reviewed 23 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Yr Encil cottage in Trefor was lovely. Perfectly situated mid-Llyn Peninsula for easy access to spectacular parts of the Coastal Path. Pretty winding tree-lined road to the village with gamboling lambs in the fields and views of the sea. All the amenities you could ask for. Very modern kitchen and bath, super clean, comfortable and welcoming after a day of hiking. Recover from hikes with wine in the tucked away garden. Many thanks to our excellent hosts who made us welcome and provided loads of info on everything in the cottage. Highly recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Apr 2017
Victoria. Thank you so much for your kind review and we are delighted that the cottage met your needs after your hiking exertions. Hopefully we can welcome you back sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marian S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from home”
Reviewed 29 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

What a delightful find Yr Encil is! From the moment you step inside this lovely old cottage you feel it is a true home from home.

Leaving our car (an A4 estate) conveniently parked in the space just outside the back gate we went through the small courtyard, where a bench and covered area have been thoughtfully provided to put on/take off muddy boots in comfort and under shelter, and through the patio doors to a spacious lounge-diner, complete with stunning stone fireplace and wood burning stove. The central heating and large radiators keep this house warm throughout, but it was lovely to sit on the comfy leather sofas in front of a roaring fire in the evening watching TV or one of the selection of DVDs left for us to choose from. Our dog enjoyed it too!

As well as two sofas, the room has a good sized dining table and chairs – great for jigsaws as well as meals – and another comfy leather chair and footstool just made for putting one’s feet up with the daily paper, bought from the convenience store around the corner. Some limited provisions, as well as local ales, are also on sale at the village hostelry – it seems to be open most of the day, and the one evening the owner was intending to close early he kindly insisted on staying open for us to have a drink. There are numerous walks to enjoy from the house, including to the nearby beach and headland, and the lots of information on attractions in the local area are provided in a file in the Welsh dresser.

When it comes to mealtimes, the modern galley-style kitchen is kitted out with high quality equipment, including washing machine, small fridge-freezer and the all-important dish washer, and is equipped with everything you might need to cook dinner for the family. Comprehensive instructions for how to use all of the equipment in the house are also contained in a file in the dresser, should you need them.

Upstairs the double and twin rooms both have good mattresses, cheerful bed linen and ample storage space in the built-in wardrobes. The bathroom is spacious, with a fabulous power shower (with both overhead douche and detachable hose) over the bath, and good quality fluffy towels were provided.

Throughout, the house is decorated in restful neutral colours highlighted with shades of red, and everywhere those little touches that make it feels like home – from the crystal trimmed tie-backs on the voile curtains to the quirky over-sized stop-watch on the wall, to the wooden rabbit sitting on the windowsill and welcoming you in.

At the front of the house, across the path is a long, well-stocked garden leading through to a stream at the end. When the weather improves it looks a promising place to relax over a G&T whilst enjoying the evening sun.

We will most definitely be back to try it out!!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Mar 2017
Marian

Thank you so much for this most comprehensive review which we hope will be of help to future travellers. We are so very grateful for your positive comments and delighted you had a great experience. Look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy that G&T in the sunshine!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
27 Feb 2017
Diane

thanks so much for your kind words we really appreciate it and great to you will be back. We look forward to it! Thank you

Esther
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 127
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing