We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Blueberry Cottage- we'd call it home!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Blueberry Cottage

Blueberry Cottage and heavenly scented Kiftsgate Roses on the pergola.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Blueberry Cottage and heavenly scented Kiftsgate Roses on the pergola.
BlueberryCottage back garden, the old oak tree and heavenly scented climbing roses.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Blueberry Cottage and heavenly scented Kiftsgate Roses on the pergola.
BlueberryCottage back garden, the old oak tree and heavenly scented climbing roses.
King size bedroom with views of the garden.
Each bedroom features a stone fireplace for cozy romantic evenings.
Ensuite in each bedroom.
The Garden Room under the old oak tree, beside the wildlife pond looking at Ben mountain.
Kitchen in the garden room, panoramic vista of the stunning countryside and the cottage gardens.
Blueberry Cottage and Hill House gardens.
Stunning walk above Blueberry Cottage the views of Lough Macnean, fishing, swimming, woodland walks
Cottage window box.
Cottage Gardens a haven for birds and wildlife.
Cottage Gardens
Views from Blueberry Cottage and pathway to the wildlife pond and stream.
The Garden Room from the pond.
Our ponies grazing the cottage field on a lovely sunny afternoon.
The flower border in June.
Jo and Teacup.
One of many stunning coastal walks within easy reach.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Barran, County Cavan

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
foodbloss...
Hamilton, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Blueberry Cottage- we'd call it home!”
Reviewed 20 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Coming to Ireland from the Georgia (USA) countryside, Blueberry Cottage felt most like home to us, enchanting and enclosing us in that familiar way that we create and hide out in at the same time.
We had previously stayed in many parts of Ireland and found them all delightful- Dingle, Wicklow, Connemara and Kinsale- but this place humbly provided so much in one.
The cottage sits surrounded by a peaceful meadow, meditative brook, a bounty of wild flowers, and walks down the lane with fern alleys, up a mountain with a gorgeous view, to a forest and bog preservation.
Sile made us feel like we were arriving at our home, made sure we knew how to start the wood stove and had everything we needed. She pointed us to the Arigna Mine where we listened to folk mining music and met locals who also were so happy to have us step into their world. We never felt like tourists in this place.
There's also Cavan Burren Park nearby. We explored parts of it- hiked through, enjoyed quiet picnics, were enchanted and taken to ancient times by the megalithic stone structures and impressed with the on site facility to teach about geology and history.
The rooms in the cottage are separated from the main living area which provides comfort and warmth. The wood stove and couches are perfect for rest. There is a good size kitchen table and galley kitchen, well equipped and fun to cook in, with a view of the Irish oak and pond put back and meadow with horses and mountain sheep out front.
The bedrooms would be perfect for couples who want privacy but to also enjoy each other's company in the living room, kitchen. It worked well for our family of five, giving our children independence and us some alone time.
Sile put up a hammock in the oak which my seven year old loved when she wasn't whispering to the horses or dancing around the pond.
We didn't want to leave. We wished we'd booked a full month. This is a place we'd be lucky to call home!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jun 2017
I am delighted you all enjoyed your stay. Thank you so very much, you lovely folk for giving the cottage such a wonderful review. It was a complete pleasure to meet you. Síle
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DPMSOX
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful....”
Reviewed 18 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Had a short notice trip, got very lucky finding Blueberry cottage, relaxed setting, high quality rooms and very well equipped. We were very well looked after and would highly recommend the cottage. we will be back. thank you.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moira S
Cookstown, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Countryside Retreat”
Reviewed 2 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Beautiful setting but not too far off the beaten track to feel isolated. Our host had put on the wood burning stove as the weather was cool and wet, on our arrival. Later we sampled her home made seeded loaf and marmalade - delicious!

Used this accommodation as a base to tour Sligo and as far as Westport.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: To sit in the shared lounge and watch the wild life come to you. We saw a hare, and on previous occasions squirrels and a glimpse of an otter.
Liked least: Everything to a very high standard
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nobben
Fagernes, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An unexpected jewel we plan to revisit with more time to enjoy it!”
Reviewed 24 February 2014 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Our first time in Ireland, we could not have chosen a better place to set the mood for our adventure. On narrow, winding country roads we easily found our way to the Blueberry Cottages and were greeted not only by Sile Mills, but her delightful dog, Nala, both of whom made us feel very much at home. Not only is the country surrounding the Cottages beautiful, but the Cottages themselves are remarkable, beautifully and lovingly transformed for the comfort of guests. Shortly after we had settled into our lovely rooms Sile arrived with 2 loaves of delicious freshly made bread and homemade marmalade, lit the turf stove for our comfort, and gave us directions for finding "friends of friends from home" we were to meet, whom Sile knew. After the visit we came back to spend a cosy evening together by the fire, planning our next day and wishing it could be right there at Blueberry Cottages. We very much hope there will be another trip in the near future and a much longer stay at the cottages; of all the places we stayed in Ireland and Northern Ireland it was one of our very favorite. Our many thanks to Sile and Nala for a memorable visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting was truly lovely and the cottages very comfortable.
Liked least: Having booked only one night!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moira S
Cookstown, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful, unspoilt rural retreat”
Reviewed 13 February 2014 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Arrived and was warmly welcomed by the owner, Sile. After unpacking the car nestled down in the communal living area. No fear of getting cold here as the wood burning stove kept it very cosy.
The bedrooms were warm and inviting and the bed very comfortable. Should you wish to keep in contact with the outside world, there is a TV in the bedroom, but we prefer to leave that for another day.
Our dog became acquainted with the many beautiful walks in the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The warm welcome
Liked least: not applicable
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing