We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel St Fiacre(Bourscheid)
USD 131
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 129
USD 125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sporthotel Leweck(Lipperscheid)
USD 162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Auberge Les Deux Tours(Esch-sur-Sure)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Camping Bissen(Esch-sur-Sure)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (139)
Filter reviews
139 results
Traveller rating
7
50
41
21
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7
50
41
21
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssliding doorhamssecure parkinglady on receptionbreadmotorbikegaragefacilities
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 139 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2017

Stayed one night at this establishment and while the appearance from the outside is very nice, as soon as you enter you realize that time might have stopped circa 1980s. As long as you set your expectations accordingly and keep your stay short I think you will appreciate the hotel for what it is. A cozy, dated hotel that has a ideal location in a hamlet that is postcard perfect. We had dinner in the restaurant and the food was fine, filling and the service was very good. It is not gourmet, but at the same time it doesn't pretend to be either. The breakfast was very good, with a nice selection of breads, meats, cheeses and pastries. The room was small and the bathroom even smaller but all was in working order, had a flat screen TV and even had one English speaking station.

I think I am probably being generous on the rating, but I appreciated that this hotel did not pretend to be something it isn't. For a hotel in an off the beaten path part of Europe with the occasional tourist, it offered the guest what you would want in a manner where you can't complain. It does what it is suppose to do and it did it well. My recommendations would be to air out the rooms, try to update when and where they can and get rid of the artificial flowers that seem to be every where. From a decor recommendations I would say either go modern or go rustic but get out of the 1970s and 80s. I think the price point is probably set correctly. The lady working the restaurant was very kind and did her job well.

Would recommend for a short stay and would stay here again.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the river
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2016

We (my girlfriend and I) stayed here for three nights. This hotel was our base for a walking and geocaching weekend in the surrounding area.
The welcome on arrival was very friendly where the lady at the reception switched languages from French to English to German and even Dutch.
One could say that it is somewhat dated, but we like this style of hotel. Dcent size room, small bathroom, but big enough for the two of us. Everything is very clean and works perfectly.
Breakfast and dinner were excellent. Breakfast is served with a variety of breads and rolls, various meats and cheeses, yogurt, eggs and good fresh brewed coffee. On request cool milk. The a-la-carte menu is not overly extensive, but what is offered is good and tasty. Here also friendly service, the waitress did her job with obvious pleasure.
The hotel has a terrace with a retractable roof on the first floor with views over the river. The selection of beers and wines is extensive. There also is a café/bar, but we didn't go there because of the good weather.
No wifi in the hotel rooms, which is a good thing.
The hotel offers a parking garage for motorcycles (we were by car this time). Public car parking directly in front of the hotel is limited, but there is a parking lot across the river Sauer (a 150 meter walk).
We would go back here again!

Room Tip: We had a room on the front at the third floor. It has a nice view over the river Sauer and the village of Esch-sur-Sûre.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jamjochems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2016

We used this hotel as our base on a motorcycle tour of the area. This was the second visit and the standard is the same as before. This hotel ticks all the boxes for a group stay. (10). The price is good and the facilities are adequate but a bit basic. The rooms are comfortable with a small shower/toilet closed off by a sliding door. There is a TV in the room but no kettle or air conditioning. The rooms tend to be on the warm side so AC would be nice. Breakfast was included and consists of some hams, salami, breads, hard boiled eggs etc. They do run out of yogurt some days but there is plenty of other items. We also eat in the hotel terrace and the menu there is a bit limited consisting mainly of pizza and schnitzel. All with chips and salad. Selection of beer and wine is very good. If you eat in the restaurant there is a slightly better menu. There is a lockup for motorcycles and we got 9 bikes in before it was full. They also provide a hose and pressure washer if you need to clean the bikes. Overall a basic hotel but adequate for our use. There are not really any other places to eat other than the other hotels and we were refused at one because we were not residents. There were no shops other than a gift shop in walking distance. The village is very picturesque with a steep climb to the top behind the hotel where the castle is. The WiFi only works in reception and not in the rooms or terrace. Mobile phone signal is very hit and miss and some network providers are OK and other not at all!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel have good views over the river
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank EssexRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2016

We chose this hotel as it was near good biking roads and had secure parking for our motorbike (a garage that took quite a few bikes). We were disappointed not to be in the main hotel as we were part way down the hill in a house converted into rooms. The room was fine, clean and comfortable, but the only view was the property opposite. Also, as the weather was not particularly good, we often got wet going to dinner and breakfast. We found the reception and waiting staff very friendly, though I tend to agree with some comments that the owners aren't particularly friendly. We booked half board and the breakfast and dinner were excellent. There is an a la carte menu for dinner (obviously at an extra cost) if you don't like what is offered. The hotel is set high above the village which is very pretty and we walked up to the castle ruins for a beautiful view of the valley. Although there is parking for bikes, I think you have to park your car at the bottom and walk up. A very enjoyable 4 days.

Room Tip: If I were to go again I would ask for a room in the actual hotel. The room we had, a little way down the hill, was very quiet.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrissyh47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2016

I spent 3 nights here, and found the staff to be very welcoming and helpful. The rooms were fine, with a great view over the river. The restaurant food was very nice, and the hotel offers a great selection of beers and wine. Would go back there again.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ianmacq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews