We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Christmas 2018!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Dolanog, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

WillCampb...
1 review
“Internet was a huge problem.”
Reviewed 31 January 2019 for a stay in January 2019

The very first time me and my friends stayed at this beautiful country home it was amazing and we felt welcome. They left us a sheet of information explaining everything about the house including the internet details etc. We returned a year later because the stay was so enjoyable but this time it seemed as though they didn’t prepare for our stay. We were left no information about anything in the house which was an issue because we had to re-figure out how to work everything. The biggest problem we had was that the internet did not work at all the entire time we were there. This meant that we could not use any of the technology that we brought such as films and music, I realise that this issue isn’t for eveyone but it would have been nice to have some internet, even if it were very slow.

I would return because of the beauty and comfort of the house but there was room for improvent.

Date of stay: January 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2019
I am sorry the Wifi caused such an issue for you. It transpires that someone had moved the cables around meaning the WiFi was not working at all. However we are on a community system and accept that streaming and such usage is not always possible. That is the nature of a rural location.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire S
1 review
“Christmas 2018!”
Reviewed 29 December 2018 for a stay in December 2018

We couldn’t have asked for a better place to spend our family Christmas, we had an amazing week.
The place was beautiful, clean and dressed perfectly for Christmas with the tree and sprig of mistletoe to make us feel festive.
Kitchen is packed with everything you’d need whether wanting to bake or cook a nice meal.
Communication with the owner prior to and during the trip was excellent.
We would recommend the barn to anyone and wouldn’t think twice about staying there again.

Date of stay: December 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2019
Thank you for your lovely review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel F
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Spacious and well equiped”
Reviewed 26 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We enjoyed a family holiday at The Old Granary in October and despite the poor weather we had a great stay. The Old Granary is spacious and is very well equipped in all areas.

We used the log burner which made the lounge feel cosy and warmed the main areas of the property.

Well placed for mid Wales coast or Snowdonia

We would certainly recommend this property to others

Date of stay: October 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2017
Thank you for your ind review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Date of stay: August 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
7 Nov 2017
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. thank you for the review

Marcus
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Donna K
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mrs”
Reviewed 13 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Let down by owner as contacted him re rusty cookware and was advised he could not help on this occassion and did not reply to our solution. There was litter in the garden, also a nappy in the hedge next to the bin. Had to drive 400yrds with our rubbish to bin not ideal. Tap in upstairs toilet was loose. Heating was password protected therefore unable to adjust, house very warm and opening windows filled the house with flies. Grass needed cut. We feel sorry for family coming after us to ongoing issues that were not resolved. Basics like toiler tissue, bin bags and dishwasher tablets were not sufficient, we had to buy these next day as well as cookware. House itself was stunning.

Date of stay: August 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2017
We are sorry that we have not met your expectations for the holiday. I am particularly concerned regarding the rubbish outside and length of grass. This does not meet our expected standard. I will look into this straight away.

I was not aware about the tap or your heating concerns and could have addressed these if raised at the time. However the heating is locked as effectively off over the summer. We are aware that over the summer a degree of solar gain does occur due to the large glass windows.

We did speak about the baking tins and your concerns about rust in them. However we view baking tins as non core items so not appropriate for us to replace within a 48 hour window. However we will review the quality in the off season.

We believe that the pots and pans remain of a satisfactory and high quality please let us know if you feel differently.

Our sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations.

Marcus and sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.