We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Retreat”
other travellers have booked this property
Library Area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Library Area
From Court yard towards barn Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Library Area
From Court yard towards barn
Living Room
Farmhouse style Kitchen
Wood Burner
From Library looking into Living room
Looking towards the hills from the front door
View from Court Yard
view down side of barn
Front Door
Kitchen Towards Dining area
Lower Entrance Hall
Downstairs Double Bedroom
Upstairs Master Bedroom
Upstairs Double bedroom
Upstrairs Twin Room
Downstairs Bathroom
Upstairs Bathroom
Upstairs Master Bathroom
From the air
Courtyard View
Welcome Stone
Enjoy one of optiobnal extras canoeing trips, please email for more details
Master Bathroom to master Bedroom
book our guided walking, nordic walking, or guided cycling, please email for more details
Book our Pilates classes in the Barn , or at our stuidos 400m away, please email for more details
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Dolanog, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Juliet881...
Shropshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Retreat”
Reviewed 14 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

The perfect retreat for a family getaway. We were a family of 7 adults, 1 teenager and two small children (7 & 4) staying at The Old Granary and we had a wonderful time. The kids had loads of space to go wild without causing any damage and were safely secure in the garden in full view of the house. The bedrooms were spaced out to give everyone a bit of privacy and there was never a queue for one of the three fabulous bathrooms. The kitchen was perfect for all the family to enjoy every meal together and was excellently equipped - we had no inclination to eat out. The surrounding area is beautiful and peaceful, we enjoyed a lovely walk along the road then back along the river (a little long for the little ones but they managed it and had fun on the way). Decided we would definately book again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the space
Liked least: having to leave
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Mar 2015
Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased you had a good stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emryslloy...
1 review
“Wonderful property, very relaxing and felt at home straight away.”
Reviewed 7 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Easy to book and contact with owner very easy with prompt replies.
Beautifully thought out property with plenty of space but cosy and welcoming.
Used this stay as family get together and it was perfect, location suited us and scenery was lovely.
Would definitely book again and look forward to it already!
Diolch yn Fawr

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jan 2015
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sue l
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 8 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

nothing to add everything was as seen on tripadvisor
very enjoyable stay with my family.would stay again if ever in north wales.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cro55ley
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic getaway!”
Reviewed 6 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here with friends and our young children. We had a fantastic long weekend. The barn is amazing, very high spec with everything you could require and more.
We explored the surrounding areas,had a fantastic day at the beach in Barmouth. For those who enjoy driving the route from Welshpool to Barmouth is stunning. We had a lovely day on the steam railway in Welshpool.

It was great coming back, the kids playing in the garden and just chilling out with a few bottles of wine taking in the beautiful scenery.The barn is big enough so you're not getting in each others way. Beds are really comfy and the bathrooms are gorgeous.

Little tip: Asda deliver to the property, saves you having to bring lots of shopping bags with you.

Big thanks to Marcus who came through when we needed him.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everthing
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space and countryside.
Liked least: Narrow roads
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing