We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage, excellent location.”
other travellers have booked this property
Acorn Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Acorn Cottage
Acorn Cottage Outside dining near the ancient oaks and plenty of parking
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
Acorn Cottage
Acorn Cottage
Outside dining near the ancient oaks and plenty of parking
Downstairs twin bedroom
Twin beds can be fixed together to make a super king size bed if desired.
Twin bedroom with beds made up to a superking size bed.
Lower lobby leading to twin bedroom
Kitchen in open plan living / dining area
Kitchen & open plan living /dining area.
Living / dining area with views out to the gardens and landscape beyond
Living / dining area
spacious living area.
Master bedroom with king size bed.
Dressing area of master bedroom. Spacious, light room at the front of the property.
Master bedroom with views to the front of the property.
Spacious main bathroom with white suite, shower over bath.
Bathroom.
Gardens
Bird feeders as viewed from upper living room windows.
Red squirrels are regular visitors to the feeders.
red squirrels can be seen from the upstairs windows and twin bedroom.
View out of upstairs windows onto landscaped gardens and bird feeders
Arisaig on a warm summers day
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Banavie, Fort William, Lochaber, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
suekirk20...
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely cottage, excellent location.”
Reviewed 31 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

A very comfortable cottage with stunning views of Ben Nevis; we enjoyed watching the variety of interesting birds on the feeders. This cottage is a good base for touring the Highlands.
Thank you Kate for the delicious lemon drizzle cake.
Sue and John

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2016
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. As seasoned travellers to holiday cottages, we value your opinion and approval.
It is great to know you enjoyed the cottage and surrounding area.
Thank you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliqueJan...
London
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Acorn Cottage is a perfect place to stay”
Reviewed 18 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We stayed here for a week and had the most glorious weather. Acorn Cottage is a delightful place to stay. The cottage itself is very light and modern and high specification, with large windows looking out over the magical oak woods. The location is excellent - the Nevis range in the distance, the Caledonian Canal down the road, and loads of things to do in and around Fort William. Kate is a charming hostess, very helpful and accommodating. And of course the lemon drizzle cake that she leaves for you and that everyone mentions is very good indeed. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Acorn Cottage to anyone, and we hope to return one day.
Incidentally, the best place we ate was the Ben Nevis Inn (a bit tucked away at the foot of the mountain, and not to be confused with the big Ben Nevis Hotel. Avoid that one.) The Moorings at the end of the road and the Lochy further on towards Ft William were both fine for bar suppers.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 May 2016
Thank you for the great review. We hope to make all our guests as comfortable as possible and are delighted you enjoyed it. Low cloud obscuring the views today, but rhododendrons glad of the rain.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elli47
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great cottage in a beautiful location”
Reviewed 9 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We chose this property as it was in a fantastic location for touring around the area. The house is topsy turvy but when you see the views you understand why. We were met by Kate who explained to us how things worked and also showed us a beautiful Easter themed cake she had made for us. Unfortunately the weather wasn't warm enough for us to use the outside area at the property but it didn't stop us from exploring the whole area. From the property you can see the Caledonian canal. The wildlife around the property and area is great, we were lucky enough to see yellowhammers and woodpeckers regularly on the bird feeder. If you travel a short distance from the property you will find stag especially at dusk.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Apr 2016
Thank you for your great comments. Having the living area upstairs indeed allows guests to appreciate the panoramic views and watch the wildlife. A family of deer were grazing in the garden this morning.
We would hope to welcome you again if you venture this way and are delighted you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy J
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely perfect.”
Reviewed 21 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

What a fantastic holiday cottage. Beautiful property set in a stunning part of the world. The cottage is just perfect. It is very clean, comfortable and extremely well equipped. Everything you need is there. The owners really make you feel welcome and we were delighted to find the most delicious homemade lemon drizzle cake waiting for us. It went down a treat after a long drive. The garden is lovely with a fantastic bird table. We saw woodpeckers, nuthatches, coal tits, Star the pheasant and a deer in the garden, plus many, many more. There are superb walks and we enjoyed our runs and cycles in the morning. The surrounding area is so beautiful and we were blessed with some lovely days. Even when it rained, it was lovely. We honestly cannot recommend this property strongly enough. Fantastic house for children as well. Thank you so much to Kate and Malcolm. We will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!!
Liked least: Coming home!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Feb 2016
Thank you for your generous comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. The birds are a joy and Star is fast gaining celebrity status!
It is good that even on the wet days you were able to relax and enjoy the area. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Euan M
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent place to stay for work or relaxing”
Reviewed 17 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Kate and Malcolm's cottage is ideal and relaxing and work, We carry out work in fort William and it took us a long time to find a place that after a long day is warm and comfortable. This is the place for us every time now to stay when we are ask to work in fort William area.

Its fitted out to a very high standard and very clean with a friendly welcome every time.

Highly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location is so quiet
Liked least: no faults
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jan 2016
Thank you for your great feedback. Satisfying repeat guests is as important as creating the right impression for new ones, so we are delighted to be at the top of your list.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing