We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting views and good food with pleasant service”
Review of The Moorings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Moorings Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Banavie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2016

This was an easy stop for a supper while staying on a boat on the canal. Pleasant service, nice view and nothing very special but all fine. We enjoyed both the haggis and the chicken liver pate. The views over the locks were fun.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MooringsManagement, General Manager at The Moorings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2016

Good Day Lynn

Thanks so much for the review. Im glad you found the food to be enjoyable and found our staff to be pleasant. Its exactly what we want to offer in our Bistro Caffe. I encourage you on your next trip to please try our Fine Dinning restaurant with in the main part of the hotel for dinner, the menu that our Executive Chef Jamie has created is of the highest standards and im sure you will absolutely enjoy.

We hope to see you soon up or down the canals soon.

Kind Regards

Sean Robertson

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (743)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

193 - 197 of 743 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed one night and were looking forward to a great stay in a four star hotel.
When we got our room, we were nicely surprised. It was spacious and clean and we had almost full view of Neptuns stairs. There were many niceties which just added to the welcome feeling and being in a good hotel (e.g. two small chocolates on the water tray, two different sorts if biscuits, body lotion, beauty and razor set, etc).
The bad surprise came in the evening when we wanted to open the window in order to get some fresh air into the room. At this time the air was very used up also due to the fact that we both took a bath. However, the window could only be opened very little due to security reasons as stated on a small note and the air already condensed on the windows. The note also said to contact the reception for assistance when one wishes to open the window further. We did that but the gentlemen couldn't open the window....it was obviously completely crammed and hadn't been checked for quite a while and needed a handymen. We had to sleep with a very noisy table ventilator (suspiciously, the ventilator was already in the wardrobe so we most probably were not the first ones). This didn't really help to get fresh air in but at least it was slightly less hot. However, awful night due to hot, sticking and used up air.

The breakfast was served in a large room with one part at the windows. Unfortunately we got seated in the dark, windowless part as the light part at the windows was set for families and bigger groups. The breakfast buffet though was very nice with muesli, fruits, joghurt, juice, pastries etc. However, we did wait quite a bit for our ordered hot breakfast and even longer for the toast. In fact, the toast most probably got forgotten and after inquiring we got a mixed instead of brown.
All in all, a four star hotel to British standards. Not quite living up to other 4 star expectations where issues such as a crammed window would simply be checked and adjusted before hotel guests need to complain.

Staff and reception very friendly and helpful.

Stayed: August 2016
Thank sabrina marlene k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2016 via mobile

What a welcoming place! This hotel is clean and charming. The rooms are clean and cozy. Both restaurants are good. Coffee and tea are both available in room and the bathroom has shampoos, soaps, razors and a towel warmer that makes for a comfortable bathing experience.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
Thank 419Kathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MooringsManagement, General Manager at The Moorings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2016

Good Day Kathy

Thank you for taking the time out to review the Moorings hotel. We glad you enjoyed the hotel and found it to be exactly what it is clean and charming.
We look forward to seeing you back soon.

Kind Regards

Sean Robertson
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2016 via mobile

Gorgeous room overlooking Neptune's Staircase, cost comfortable atmosphere, bright and quality decor, lovely food, friendly staff. Everything was perfect. We will choose here the next time we find ourselves lucky enough to be in Fort William.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank lellybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MooringsManagement, General Manager at The Moorings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2016

Good Day

Thank you for the lovely review we glad you had such a wonderful time with us at the Moorings. We look forward to welcoming you your family and friends back soon.

Kind Regards

Sean Robertson
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2016

After walking the West Highland Way we wanted somewhere to celebrate with friends who had joined us along the way or who just wanted to celebrate with us my wife's 40th her Mum's 70th and our daughters 10th birthday. There were not that many placed in Fort William who could cope with 60 plus people. The Mooring Hotel was the perfect choice. They did a super buffet for us and gave us the room hire at a very reasonable rate.
Super service before during and after the event and a deal for those staying at the hotel. The hotel is beautifully situated on the canal and is modern, clean and has really friendly staff. Highly recommended !

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulGoodwin3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MooringsManagement, General Manager at The Moorings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2016

Good Day Mr Goodwin

Thank you for taking the time out to review our hotel. We are thrilled that you and your family could spend these special occasions with us at the Mooring's.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Sean Robertson
Hotel Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banavie
2.7 km away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
618 reviews
2.5 km away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
626 reviews
2.6 km away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#11 of 21 in Fort William
1,085 reviews
2.2 km away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#14 of 21 in Fort William
1,036 reviews
4 km away
Cruachan Hotel
Cruachan Hotel
#13 of 21 in Fort William
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moorings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moorings Hotel

Address: Fort William, Banavie, Fort William PH33 7LY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William > Banavie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Banavie
Price Range: $126 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Moorings Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moorings lies alongside the Caledonian Canal at the famous Neptune's Staircase. One of Fort William's finest establishments, The Moorings offers excellent cuisine and service. With splendid panoramic views of Ben Nevis and Aonach Mor, Moorings Hotel offers comfort and modern facilities. Here, you will receive a warm Highland welcome from friendly staff. The Moorings offers award-winning cuisine in Neptune's Restaurant, using fine Scottish produce, including west coast seafood and Highland game. Bar meals are available in the less formal Upper Deck Lounge Bar, where a range of malt whiskies may be sampled. In the summer, the Mariners Cellar Bar features a nautical theme. The refurbished bedrooms have every modern luxury. The Moorings is an excellent base for touring the romantic West Highlands. We offer all of our guests a complimentary round of golf at Fort William Golf Course and free use of our Fitness Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Moorings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorings Hotel Fort William

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing