We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“La Vapeur - A Breath Of Fresh Air”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of La Vapeur Estate

Sit back and toast to a perfect vacation.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sit back and toast to a perfect vacation.
Enjoy scenic views from every angle in our cosy cabin. We sit perched above the forest canopy on Trinidad's North Coast
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Sit back and toast to a perfect vacation.
Enjoy scenic views from every angle in our cosy cabin.
We sit perched above the forest canopy on Trinidad's North Coast
A beautiful dry season sunset view from the cabin's driveway.
The road to La Vapeur.
View of cabin living area from entrance.
Stay close to nature, while enjoying our rain shower.
Sea and forest views from the cabin's private balcony.
Enjoy a glass of wine and a relaxing afternoon on our spacious balcony.
Spectacular views from the living area and kitchen of our wood cabin.
Enjoy organic homemade wine, made from a secret, 100 year old recipie
At La Vapeur, you don't have to get out of bed to enjoy beautiful views.
Dry season showers make for awesome vistas at La Vapeur.
Our compact kitchenette is fully stocked with organic, local fruit and breakfast items.
The bedroom is perfect for curling up with a book or day dreaming.
Our rustic, yet modern, bathroom.
Relax on the balcony and watch the mist blanket the hillside as it rolls in from the sea.
Views of the forest on the estate from the beach trail.
A pair of toucans seen from the cottage front terrace,
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Maracas Bay, Trinidad, Trinidad and Tobago

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Wendy C
Port Of Spain, Trinidad And Tobago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“La Vapeur - A Breath Of Fresh Air”
Reviewed 16 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
5
people found this review helpful

I first became knowledgeable about LaVapeur Estate in April 2015, and an offer was subsequently made to me to spend a weekend at this place. I finally accepted the offer, and spent the weekend of July 8-10, 2016, at La Vapeur with my significant other. The reason I took so long to accept the offer was primarily because I had some concerns with the hilly terrain; I also wondered if I could spend two days, as some people would say, in “the bush”.
Having accepted the offer, on our arrival at La Vapeur on July 8th, we found the place to be quite appealing and different to modern-day hotels. The differences include the structure (totally wood and glass), and the tranquility (absolute greenery and fantastic seaside viewing). Moreover, everything you need is at this eco-friendly cottage. The bed is so comfortable that we didn’t want to get off of it; in fact, there appears to be an addiction to sleep at the cottage. The water pressure and water heater are quite good, the wifi service is excellent and the apple bread cake left for us by the cottage’s owners, Gizelle and Jason, was excellent. Another delicacy left for us was a bottle of Cocoa House Wine, which is a blend of local organic ingredients including aloe, mango, sorrel, ginger, guava and more. Additionally, I must say my beau and I felt quite safe at the cottage; we were not bothered by anything or anyone.
When July 10th came, the day we were due to leave the cottage, a kind of sadness came over me knowing that I had to return to reality. The cottage made us realize that times like these are needed just to relax and enjoy nature. Also, it is an opportunity to get away from the hustle and bustle of city life. My beau and I now have an escape in Trinidad, an escape that has the potential to bring us closer together.
Therefore, I strongly recommend this place to anyone who appreciates change. There is absolutely no false advertising with this cottage. Thank you Gizelle and Jason. Another visit is pending soon.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
al420997
Halifax, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“This Place is an Absolute Dream”
Reviewed 5 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
4
people found this review helpful

Our stay at La Vapeur came at the end of a busy two-week tour of Trinidad and Tobago. It couldn't have been more welcome! We drove a rental car (a Nissan Wingroad, far from a high-performance vehicle) and were able to follow Gizelle's directions to find the cabin without issue. The road to the cabin is indeed quite steep, but was well within the capabilities of our rental when geared down. The cabin perfectly blended rustic with luxurious. The bathroom facilities were pristine and in good working order. The bed was very comfortable. The kitchen was well equipped with the basics for making simple stove-top meals (pots, pans, utensils, cutlery, oil, salt and pepper, etc). The views are absolutely breathtaking, and the area around the cabin is well treed so you can do some serious birdwatching. We enjoyed our mornings and evenings in the cabin very much, and spent our afternoons at Maracas and Las Cuevas (both were a short, scenic drive away). The cabin is not air conditioned, making it a bit steamy in the afternoons when the sun is strong. It cooled off quickly at night and was very comfortable for sleeping. Gizelle and Jason were very attentive, courteous, and unobtrusive - exactly what we had hoped for. If you're seeking solitude, you most certainly will have it here (with the comfort of knowing that local experts are just a phone call away). As our stay was short, we did not hike down to Saut d'Eau beach, but have heard that it was a worthwhile trip. I guess that's a reason for us to come back! And indeed we will, hopefully sooner rather than later!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spectacular views and solitude with nature
Liked least: Could use some more/better kitchen supplies
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dion A
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Like sleeping on heaven's door step”
Reviewed 24 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Awesomely beautiful! It's cozy, cool, private, scenic and picturesque.

Gizelle is a wonderful host preparing complimentary homemade apple wine and sweetbread that is delicious!

The cabin is glass to the Western wall, a double gallery door that opens up for a full viewing the same is with the bedroom door.

You may want to consider walking with hiking and fishing gear as the trail to saut d eau beach runs right alongside the side of the property.

There is also hot and cold water and WiFi. I hope you make room for the clouds as they will be frequent visitors.

All in all, I highly recommend this stay. Don't hesitate, book today and enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanandJos...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Hillside Eyrie”
Reviewed 7 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

This is a truly wondrous place run by a fantastic couple, Gizelle and Jason. Nestled in the hills above Port of Spain you overlook the foliage and sea through amazing glass walls on two sides of the cabin. There are no overlooking properties so you can enjoy the peace of the birds and immerse yourself in the beauty of this island. A car is essential to get around but Gizelle will arrange this for you as well as a guide, Rupert, who will take you on wonderful (and knackering) trails down to hidden beaches set below the cabin. This is a beautifully presented cabin, very well equipped for the price. We were also greeted with hot soup, homemade wine and wonderful cake which was just a foretaste of things to come. This is a special place, run by special people that will suit those who want peace and beauty over nightlife and all inclusive. A real find.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and hosts
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christoph...
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A jewel in the mountains. Definitely off the beaten track”
Reviewed 24 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My gf and i stayed at La Vapeur for a weekend in july. Soooo many good things to say that i don't know where to begin! My gf (hel), made the booking and i was a bit worried about finding the estate because it sounded really secluded. Gizelle, (the owner) gave us directions and it was spot on! Very precise and easy to follow. We arrived a tad early and found to our pleasure that the cottage was already prepared with a hot out of the oven freshly baked banana bread and a bottle of wine made by the locals. The cottage was so private and cozy that hel and i immeditey fell in love with it. Gizelle thought about every possible thing; she pays meticlous attention to detail, even leaving a cell phone so we can contact her or anyone else! The cottage is located on the side of a mountain and is flanked on both sides by huge trees. The front porch opens to a breathtaking view of the north coast of Trinidad and i think its is the most private experience you can find here. It was well put together and very nice with a homey yet romantic touch to it. A cute kitchenette served us well to prepare our meals and an extremely fast and free wifi allowed us to stream music on a music player that came with the cottage. There was even a little kitchen garden that we picked herbs from to use when preparing our meals. All the amenities of home to give you that home away from home feeling. Even though it rained a lot during our stay, the experience was one that you can hardly describe with words. Being high in the mountains, each time it rained the entire cottage was surround by fog and due to the large amount of glass used in the construction, we felt like if we were vacationing within a cloud. To us that was the most unexpected surprise and is definitely one of the most memorable times we've shared together. There is a little deck hidden in the trees for those who fancy a bit of bird watching. There is also a trail running alongside the periphery of the property that leads to an otherwise unaccessible beach for those who are up for a hike. All in all it was an amazing experience and for the price, you'd be hard put to find anywhere else that comes close to the absloute beauty and serenity of this location. Will definitely be visiting again!!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything. As perfect as you can get
Liked least: Our stay was too short :(
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing