We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“quiet, secluded paradise”
Sunset at The Cays
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sunset at The Cays
The Cays Pool Sunloungers on The Cays Beach
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
88 reviews
Sunset at The Cays
The Cays Pool
Sunloungers on The Cays Beach
Aerial View of The Cays
Location of The Cays on Great Exuma, Bahamas
Blue Water
Another Spectacular Sunset at The Cays
Bonefishing
Blue Water Bedroom
Airwood Exterior
Deck
Airwood Bedroom
Exterior
Airwood Living Room
AirWood Kitchen
Blue Water
Blue Water Living
Blue Water Kitchen
Waters Edge Bedroom
Waters Edge Kitchen/Living
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
George Town, Great Exuma, Out Islands, Bahamas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 88 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Angoisse...
Columbus, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“quiet, secluded paradise”
Reviewed 27 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018
2
people found this review helpful

We just stayed a week in #16 Seabreeze, which has a lovely view of the water and is just a two-minute walk from the pool / waterside area. The villa was spotlessly clean upon arrival with the exception of the grill, which I think was just innocently overlooked in the turnaround between guests. (I'm certain it was just overlooked, not just inadequately cleaned, because it's not like it just wasn't spotless - every bit of it was nasty and had a used towel and tools lying out.. clearly it had not seen any attention at all.) More importantly, though, I'm absolutely certain that the management would have remedied it straight away had I reported it to them, because they were wonderfully accommodating before and during our stay, but we're vegetarians and wouldn't have used the grill much anyway.

The kitchen is very well equipped: great selection of pots and pans, small appliances, baking dishes, even plastic wrap, baggies, and various sizes of plastic storage containers, which has been a noticeable void in other vacations rentals where I've stayed. The only thing I wanted for in the kitchen that was not there was a coffee grinder, and they magically produced one straight away upon my request!!

Beds were comfortable enough, and there was an ample supply of towels and blankets. I would recommend guests bring along a few dishwasher detergent pods and laundry pods, however, because there did not seem to be detergent provided for either in the villa. And who could blame them with the cost of things on the island. The bottle of dish soap in the kitchen was nearly empty as well, so I wished I'd have brought along a small bottle of that too. These things are all inexpensive in the US, very small and easily packable, so I don't even consider this a negative to the property itself, just a nice-to-know for future guests!

Loved the location of the villas: super quiet, secluded community, perfect for solitude and relaxation. If you need "night life" or want to rub elbows with a bunch of other folks, go to Sandals. But if you're introverts like us or just want to enjoy the quiet, natural beauty of the island in comfortable, spacious accommodations - this is the perfect spot. The villa is situated about a 15 min drive from Georgetown for essentials, but honestly, I thought the closer markets were even better. Multiple previous reviews reported that Exuma Market had the best selection of groceries anywhere on the island, but Prime Island Meats had better quality produce at lower prices along with everything else we wanted in the way of groceries and supplies. (And I say this as a vegetarian who didn't go there for the meat!!) Likewise, the little liquor store next to Smitty's was much nicer than the one in town and had a better selection of both wine and alcohol.

We did a full day tour to visit many of the area's highlights: pigs, iguanas, thunderball grotto. All of those highlights are enjoyable, but the stops to each are very short and end up being pretty congested since the boat tour has 20-30 people at a time. In hindsight, I wish I'd have done a custom charter with fewer stops and fewer people; if you can afford that option, definitely pursue that instead.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Feb 2018
Thank you so much for your review.
We hope you can visit again in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renee H
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Christmas vacation 2017”
Reviewed 11 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This was our 2nd trip to Exuma and our 2nd stay at the Cays. We decided to skip the cold and snow this year and take our our 19 year old daughter as a surprise for Christmas and for doing well in her semester at college. We decided this 2 weeks before Christmas and contacted Norm to see if any homes were available. To our luck, there was but we would,have to move to another house after 2days.. We said no problem. Technically we’ve stayed in 3 different homes of Norm’s, counting our 2016 stay. This time we stayed in Coconut and Bluewater and both were lovely and wonderful. There was more than enough space for the 3of us, the kitchen had everything we needed and then some. Being that we were there Dec.23-29, over Christmas, we did have to plan our food shopping appropriately since the stores and the restaurants were closed Sunday, Christmas Day and Boxing Day. We ordered our Christmas dinner from Blu, picked it up after attending the local Angelician Christmas Day Service which I highly recommend both We ate the leftovers the rest of the week, they gave us so much. Norm gave us a bottle of champagne which we shared on the beach on a sandbar under a double rainbow Christmas Day. Truly once in a lifetime and an unforgettable Christmas. Norman and Jullie are wonderful people, they keep the Cays in amazing condition ,the homes are clean, the location is perfect to many of the most beautiful beaches ( a car is necessary) and their hospitality is beyond welcoming. Due to our last minute planning, we had to stay our last night at a different place, not the Cays. It was ok for 1 night , however I would not stay there again, and it made us appreciate the Cays even more. Thanks Norman & Julie for everything. We hope to be back this summer.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jan 2018
Thank you for the review, it was a pleasure having you stay. Please come back soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“A wonderful place to put your feet up and enjoy life.”
Reviewed 9 December 2017 for a stay in November 2017

The Cays offers quality accommodations/homes with all the amenities, attention to guests and much more. The best place I've stayed in the Bahamas.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Dec 2017
Thank you so much for your review, we would love to have you stay again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregfish2...
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Our stay at The Cays”
Reviewed 4 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Excellent location on Exuma, about 15 minutes from the islands small airport.

We shared a 3 bedroom cottage with relatives (5 in all, but it was roomy and could hold more). Nice wrap-around deck and short path to the dock, pool and cabana.

Most afternoons we went down to the cabana with our drinks, talking with other guests about beaches to visit, tours they experienced and so on.

Our knowledgeable and friendly host, Norman, was always on hand to give tourist advice and resolve any minor issues with accommodation, which was well provided with appliances and cooking utensils.

The location was a short walk to the Catch A Fire bar and grill where we could watch the sunset over dinner.

We highly recommend this prime-located and well run self-catering Villa for your Exuma stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2017
Thank you so much for your review. We hope you can return in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 13 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
13 Jun 2017
Thank you for the review, please think of us when you return tomExuma
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing