We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cozy, Peaceful, Delightful”
other travellers have booked this property
Character stone cottage overlooking beautiful Usk valley
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Character stone cottage overlooking beautiful Usk valley
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
Character stone cottage overlooking beautiful Usk valley
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Coed-Y-Paen, Monmouthshire, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
DBJMS
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Cozy, Peaceful, Delightful”
Reviewed 21 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We really enjoyed the lovely cottage and grounds. Everything we needed was there. Our two dogs wore themselves out running around the property, yet stayed safe. Wonderful stay and would book again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Feb 2017
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. it was great meeting you both and the dogs too. We hope to see you all again soon, you will be most welcome.
Janet and Mike
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellen C
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A lovely return trip”
Reviewed 9 November 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Dog-friendly, people-friendly, relaxing and a hot tub. What more could you want? A log-burning fire...well that's there too. Second trip and still as lovely as before.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub
Liked least: Cold walk up muddy hill to hot tub!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2016 for a stay in September 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: the staircase
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
11 Nov 2016
It was great meeting all three of you, we would love to see you again when back in the U.K.
Kind regards
Janet and Mike
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Philip K
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Such a relaxing place”
Reviewed 14 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Just returned from a week at Forest Cottage. Travelled with my partner and our daughter, we enjoyed ourselves very much. The views of the surrounding countryside are outstanding, the cottage is lovely and the hosts Janet and Mike are very friendly. It almost feels like they invited you to stay with them. We made use of the hot tub and my daughter and I took up the opportunity to do clay shooting with Mike which we both thoroughly enjoyed. We would go back again certainly. It is well situated for visiting the Usk Valley and Brecon Beacons are nearby, Cwmbran is good for shopping, Cardiff not too far away either.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2016
Thank you Philip for the kind review. You and your family will always be very welcome here. You both shot well, keep it up.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
1 Sep 2016
Thank you Mark, we are so pleased you, Stephen and Milo enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing