We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (183)
Filter reviews
183 results
Traveller rating
116
37
19
4
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
116
37
19
4
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews golf cart ferry ride shark teeth peaceful retreat the ice cream shop bell stand rent kayaks beach combing get away from it all tennis courts private island go fishing bell service registration desk dolphins playing front office your luggage
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 183 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2017

It is a nice idea to plan a stay at a beach front resort, fullyequiped.

But, unfortunate to be shush by the front line personnel, not have my bed freshly made, have a constant banging noise from woodpecker birds from the next door Villa, living in the deteriorated roof, with acces from a damaged facia board. And, to try to get service, delivery of pizza and be told that delivery was at random, and not be given full access to the Ferry as promised, "ask for pass" on a if needed bases.

It was a bad experience for us, and more than anything an inconvenience.

We are avid travelers, and we honestly rate this stay poorly. I would not recommend it to my friends. We were exited to come back, because we love to stay in beach front properties, and we have been traveling around the coast, and staying in different Islands, but I will never go back to Palm Island.

Do your research, read previous reviews, I do recommend it so much. The thing with the dirty bedding, another Trip Advisor Guests noted same thing happening to them, and the review went further to say it was an apparent frequent situation.

I am so sorry, I do not like to give poor rating. But it is the honest trust.

Room Tip: Palm Island is in a very deteriorated state, with many properties for sale.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank becky33173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa H, Guest Relations Manager at Palm Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

It was a pleasure to speak with you after your stay. We are very sorry you did not enjoy your visit. We'll use your comments to grow and improve our services, as we strive to make each guest very happy. We wish you well and safe travels in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

Yeah so if you're thinking about coming to the island (also know as Don Pedro Island?) just stay here. There is really nothing to do on this island and if thats your kind of thing this resort will have everything you need (gulf carts, bikes, only restaurant on the island etc).

If you stay at some other vacation rental, you will end up coming here anywho if you find yourself in need of anything and don't want to cross back over to the mainland.

I came, I saw, and don't plan on ever coming back to this island but if you have your heart set on coming to explore bring industrial amounts of bug spray!

Ps - you can only arrive here by boat (leaving car at marina) or by barge. If you eat at their restaurant or stay at their resort, cost is comped. Otherwise barge over with your car will run you $55ish round trip (5 minute ride).

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Renemesis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2017

We were staying on the island off the resort but we visited for ice cream and dinner. We really enjoyed the restaurant and the food was good and resonably priced. The ice cream shop was also a huge hit for us!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank turnquistcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa H, Guest Relations Manager at Palm Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2017

Thank you for visiting Coconuts and Rum Bay during your island visit! We love to hear from happy guests! Doesn't ice cream time and island time go hand in hand? Please stop in again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2017 via mobile

How much can you ask of a two-day holiday? Try starting with the nicest welcome from Stephanie and the Resort staff , followed by clean, cozy accommodations overlooking the Gulf. Or the tennis, basketball or pools, if you prefer. We spent an amazing morning kayaking with Kris, who conjured up air and sea creatures to accompany her narration and stories. The meals that Chef Jeff created at the Rum Bay Restaurant lured us out of our well-stocked kitchen - the ribs and shrimp dish alone is worth the ferry ride over to the Resort. Thanks to Willis for the recommendation! Mother Nature took care of everything else, with sunsets and showers, tortoises and terns. We have already booked our next stay.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Patrica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2017

Our 1 BR suite was beautifully decorated! We had the view of the Gulf, could hear the waves, and I drank my coffee on the porch sitting on the "Bahama" bed every morning enjoying the view! The golf carts made it easy to get around the island and the restaurant on the grounds was very convenient. Food was good, too.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa H, Guest Relations Manager at Palm Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2017

Thank you for sharing you wonderful memory with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews