We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great island resort”
Review of Palm Island Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cape Haze
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Palm Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cape Haze
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 March 2017 via mobile

If peace and quiet, sun and crowdless beaches is your thing, this is your place. Had a nice pick-up tennis game, thanks to the pro. Nice courts and pools. No cars on the resort, you have to get around by golf cart. A very relaxing week.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

18 - 22 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2017

Very nice, secluded resort on Palm Island. You will need to ask for beach front as they also have waterfront which is on the inner waterway. It is very secluded with one restaurant called Rum Bay on Palm Island. You also can take a water taxi to the mainland to Levelrock's. The resort has tennis, kayaks, yoga and many other activities. It is a great destination for a family reunion. You need to take a ferry which is about 2 minutes long and you have to know there are no markets, stores or other restaurants on the island.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for beach front if that is your desire, as there is water front and can be confused.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rhodehouse1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa H, Guest Relations Manager at Palm Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2017

Thank you for sharing your experience. We are glad you discovered us and hope to see you and your family over and over.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2017

Our family has been vacationing at Palm Island for 12+ years. You arrive to the island by barge....which minimizes people on the beautiful beaches. A short drive to the Resort, you then park your car and enter the resort by golf cart. No cars allowed! I say any day you can drive a golf cart is a good day! It forces you to operate at a slower pace. There is only one restaurant on the island...so if you are looking for many options for dining, you'll have to take the barge to the mainland which can be pricey once you've used all of your complimentary barge passes. The beaches are the main attraction. Shells galore, dolphin sightings daily, birds abundant...you know what is not abundant? People! Because there is no bridge to the island, only those living or visiting the island are on the beach. We've been to PI during the off-season and literally were the only ones on the beach. Now about the accommodations....it's a mixed bag. The resort prices are based on how updated the unit is. Be careful, we've gotten some real dogs. However all of the units face the gulf so the views are wonderful. It really is paradise. Our family enjoys cooking so we grill out most nights. Nothing like dinner on your screened lanai, watching the sunset and listening to the waves.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank 1958Sharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

This is my 6th year coming to Palm Island and never fails to delight. Our 2BR villa was lovely and well-stocked for all our needs. I love the large screened porches which allow you to eat outdoors and enjoy the view. Shelling here is excellent and kayaking with the resort's naturalist Kris never disappoints. This trip it was sand bars at low tide, bird watching, and dolphins all around us! My only complaint was that 4 completely cloudless days meant that sunset was as spectacular as it has been at other times. Don't think I can take points off for that.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank Colleen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2016

Absolutely breathtaking water, views, beaches and shells. The resort has tennis, pools, paddle boards, boat rentals and a fun restaurant with an amazing burger. The green tomatoes with balsamic are also delicious.

Stayed: October 2016
1  Thank Anna Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Haze
26.6 km away
Four Points By Sheraton Punta Gorda Harborside
25.2 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Port Charlotte-Punta Gorda
26.8 km away
The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda
The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda
#2 of 8 in Punta Gorda
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.4 km away
PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites
PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites
#4 of 8 in Punta Gorda
558 reviews
27.5 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Venice
29.4 km away
Inn at the Beach
Inn at the Beach
#1 of 13 in Venice
1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Island Resort

Address: 7092 Placida Rd, Cape Haze, FL 33946-2501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Cape Haze
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cape Haze
Price Range: $168 - $744 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Island Resort, located on Florida’s Southwest Gulf Coast, is the state’s only true-out island resort. There are no bridges or causeways to the island, which ensures a relaxed, tropical vacation setting.The island resort encompasses a two-mile portion of private, pristine beaches on the northern end of Palm Island. Guests travel to the island via car ferry and park their car in our island parking area. Cars are not allowed in the resort. Transportation is provided by our bell staff and golf carts are also available for rent for registered guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Palm Island Hotel Placida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing