We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Jess T

Bed was comfy

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 18 Feb 2022via mobile
We were getting in late and needed something with late check in near the airport. We ended up getting in early. Check in was easy. Our beds were clean and comfortable. We didn't use the shower as it looked unclean, may have just been old. Probably what we expected for the money we paid.
Date of stay: February 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Southern Apartments Launceston
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
0.0 km from Abel Tasman Airport Motor Inn
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
0.4 km from Abel Tasman Airport Motor Inn
Booking.com
AU$99
  • Hotels.com
    AU$95
  • Expedia.com
    AU$101
  • Priceline
    AU$105
2.6 km from Abel Tasman Airport Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$150
  • Expedia.com
    AU$185
  • Hotels.com
    AU$185
  • Priceline
    AU$150
2.9 km from Abel Tasman Airport Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Our spacious reception
Booking.com
AU$292
  • Expedia.com
    AU$294
  • Priceline
    AU$292
  • Hotels.com
    AU$292
3.4 km from Abel Tasman Airport Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Official Hotel
AU$179
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
    AU$179
  • Agoda.com
    AU$143
  • Expedia.com
    AU$179
4.7 km from Abel Tasman Airport Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$229
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$230
  • Agoda.com
    AU$183
  • Hotels.com
    AU$229
5.0 km from Abel Tasman Airport Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$160
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$160
  • Agoda.com
    AU$160
  • Vio.com
    AU$160
4.3 km from Abel Tasman Airport Motor Inn
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$179
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • all.accor.com
    AU$179
  • Vio.com
    AU$166
  • Expedia.com
    AU$179
4.3 km from Abel Tasman Airport Motor Inn
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$109
  • Priceline
    AU$109
  • Agoda.com
    AU$109
  • Vio.com
    AU$109
4.6 km from Abel Tasman Airport Motor Inn
Free parking
Restaurant
View more hotels in Youngtown
Reviews (285)
Filter reviews
285 results
Traveller rating
78
70
45
14
78
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
78
70
45
14
78
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 285 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2022

Other reviews show that the motel has systemic problems. We booked two rooms on the same booking. One had not been cleaned and the linen had not been changed. We received no response after calling the number on the door of reception and via booking.com and so had to find alternative accommodation at short notice and considerable expense. We finally heard back the following morning. Management have refused to give a full refund with the excuse that one of us could have stayed in the clean room. They did not suggest what the other two family members should have done - maybe sleep in the car or the local park. Booking.com completely unhelpful.

Date of stay: January 2022
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frankfZ6969EA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 January 2022

Hotel of horror , abandoned premises ,no real manager just squatters, fraud , authorities should shut this down and fine criminals running this rip off hotel,urine in hotel room with unmade filthy beds with bugs flys in them ,mould , running taps ,body odour ,we had to book a new hotel as not safe ,creepy ,our children traumatized by seeing this ,condoms ,left around room , we traveled hours to Launceston to find this mess ,no manager answered our calls money taken ,it's catfish photos of hotel back in the 90s ,as reception is abandoned and premises must be foreclosure. Do not stay ,it's a fake , why is this ,not shut down yet by police? I had a hospital stay next day and this was so stressful ,

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank lisamS3485RD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 January 2022 via mobile

Abel Tasman was a seafaring explorer of the 1600’s. He spent years at sea in tough conditions subject to all manner of soul and health destroying travails. But they would not compare to the trauma of spending a night in the dump that carries, and sullies, his name.

Check in was fine. That’s where fine ends. The room is foul. Let’s begin:

- Why is the toilet floor wet but the toilet not cleaned? Why did the previous inhabitant urinate on the floor and why did housekeeping not clean it?
- The fridge just doesn’t work. At all
- The carpet has more stains then clean spots. Likely an array of beverages and bodily fluids. Worn through to nothing in places
- Paint job appalling. What’s a drop sheet?
- Lamp next to bed is nice. Shame it can’t be plugged in to anything
- I’m all for recycling. But using mattresses probably reclaimed from a brothel is a stain too far
- No rubbish bin but that’s fine, happy to leave the room as requested and take rubbish to designated bin. The one tucked around the back where the permanent undesirables are tucked away, eagerly awaiting to dive whatever is put in the bin
- Good access to heroin from the dude in the 2003 Mercedes who seems to make hourly visits

Seriously, shut this awful dump down. Or at the very least change the name. Poor old Abel shouldn’t be associated with this detritus of a motel.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled on business
4  Thank NickB1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 October 2021 via mobile

We booked this motel because of the location above anything, we live on the north west coast and had appointments both in Hobart and Launceston, previous to arriving we had spent 2 days in Hobart and wanted a motel close to entering town and also close to amenities which this establishment has. We arrived in the afternoon after a long drive and checked in, the check in process was very easy and we were met at reception by a lovely lady who I think must have been the manager, we went up to our room (#1) and took in our lunch we had just bought, we went to the bathroom to wash our hands and my partner noticed the toilet still had urine and "hairs" on the toilet seat from someone before us, this aside we sat to eat our lunch in the room and as we were eating we noticed rubbish on the floor beside the bed, we packed up our lunch immediately and left the room to the reception, we again were greeted by the same lady and I explained our situation, before I could finish she was upgrading us to an apartment room and explained to us the procedures she has implemented to make sure these things didn't happen and would be speaking with the house keeper in question. We went to the apartment and it was newly renovated however, we had no toilet paper, 1 less towel than needed and the carpet was atrocious, so much so that we kept our shoes on the entire time, the upsides were the TV in the bedroom, the dishwasher, Cooktop and the beautiful sunset views from the back (shared) balcony.
the on-site restaurant and bar are also closed.

The conclusion we came to is, that this establishment has so much potential to absolutely thrive even in these trying times, having both come from extensive hospitality backgrounds we were able to make a calculated judgement, furthermore, we feel the lady who tended to us was capable of far more bigger things than this establishment as her customer service skills and problem solving skills could be compared to those of working in much higher end establishments, we thank her for making our situation a far less one and we hope she thrives in this industry with only the best to come her way, which we are sure it will.

Room tip: Ask to see the room first
Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 92enak
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 September 2021 via mobile

Got a great price through Agoda, defiantly worth looking here for a great deal. The motel confirmed the booking via email and also let me know via text and email that reception would be closed when I arrived with instruction on how to get my room key. The room was your standard motel room, table and chairs, small bar fridge, microwave, tea and coffee, small milk, iron and a TV. The queen sized bed was really comfortable but the pillows were a little thin and side for my liking (my preference, not the motels fault) - if you prefer a firmer and think pillow I’d suggest to bring your own as I’m not sure if other pillows would be available at reception. Bathroom area was a little dated and could do with an upgrade but with saying that the shower has great water pressure. The room itself was clean and well maintained. Room wifi is available but there was no password in the room to access this - as I arrived late reception closed so I couldn’t ask (not the motels fault).

My only pet peeve was the parking, I don’t think those staying knew how to park at a motel and had a vehicle parked length way in front of my room and a van doing the same which meant I couldn’t park in front and had to park toward the end of the lot.

Room tip: Bring a firm pillow if you don’t like thin soft pillows
Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Hobart_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews