We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on Earth”
Review of The Langton Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Langton Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tarrant Monkton
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Heaven on Earth”
Reviewed 12 September 2012

I recently visited the area with a friend and found we spent most of our time in the area soaking up the atmosphere of this fantastic establishment. It is a truly memorable and special place.
Firstly, the setting is amazing, a beautiful thatched building within a beautiful village setting. Inside is fantastic, clean and comfy. A lovely, warm welcome from staff was reinforced by other patrons in the bar, conversation and entertainment was free flowing making us feel like we were amongst friends rather than visitors. Nothing was too much trouble, and anything that could be done to improve our experience was done, without any hesitation.
The food was reasonably priced and was of the highest quality. This is made even better when I discovered that all ingredients were locally sourced and everything was homemade by The Langton itself, even having its own butcher. I think between the two of us we nearly got through the menu and were unable to pick fault with anything.
Even though we weren't staying at the pub we booked in for breakfast each day. A selection of fruit and cereal to start with, then, Roz (the breakfast queen) cooked a magnificent breakfast to order. The breakfast was good value and will set you up for the day no problem.
We took the chance to buy some of the burgers and sausages made by the Langton Arms butcher. They were great, even someone like me with below average skills in the kitchen can't ruin them.
In summary- great location, great food, and great people. We're unable to find fault with anything here and looking forward to finding an excuse to return.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelangtonarms, Owner at The Langton Arms, responded to this review, 14 September 2012
Dear Chris, Thank you for your review. Glad you enjoyed your time with us, Ros loves her new royalty title. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Barbara Cossins Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    45
    15
    8
    3
See reviews for
83
87
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
shaftesbury
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

This is a strange place. It's recently been voted Dorset DINING Pub of the Year so as we were driving through that area tonight on the way home we thought we'd look in. It's a beautiful village and the pub has an enviable setting next to the Church - or is that it's undoing? There was a wedding going on in the dining room (completely separate from the bar) and the staff in the bar seemed somewhat chilled out. That's my polite way of saying totally disinterested. We bought drinks and some nuts (no welcome, no chat, 'are you eating with us tonight?') just money changing hands in a place that should have been great but which lacked any atmosphere or sense of ownership.

We sat outside which gave us time to clock the menu (nice(ish) but also the unwatered flower pots, the empty dog bowl and cigarette butts strewn underfoot. But the nuts were the clincher. They were rancid. Not slightly stale, not the wrong flavour, just common or garden rancid which can happen in the best run establishments. My partner took them back to the bar. The strong silent Rav Wilding look-a-like bar man said 'sorry' and swept the nuts under the counter. They were replaced by a packet of plain crisps at our expense - £0.70p and Mr. Beefcake went back to talking to the other man behind the bar with the incipient bar man's stomach.

You get the picture - they couldn't have been less bothered. We did ask if they sold matches so that my partner could have a cigarette in the car but they said they didn't.

We moved on to another, rather more upmarket hostelry, where we were made hugely welcome, leant a box of matches from the kitchen and spebnt £82 on a splendid meal.

It is a mystery to me how places like The Langton can function and get awards from a well regarded guide. I have been using The GOOD Pub Guide for 30 years and this is the first time it's get me wrong.

And, yes, before anyone asks, I will be asking the pub to refund the price of the nuts!

Room Tip: Choose somebody nice to go with because the staff will not be your new best friends!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank penny s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelangtonarms, Owner at The Langton Arms, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
Firstly I would like to offer my sincerest apologies. I have spoken to the staff you mentioned and given them stern warnings about their behaviour yesterday. Having run the Langton Arms now for over twenty years, I have always strived to make my customers feel welcome and at home in our establishment, actively encouraging my staff to behave professionally giving a high level of customer service.

With regards to the peanuts; all our peanuts we sell are well within their sell-by date. So on this occasion there is nothing I can do other than apologise on behalf of the peanut manufacturing company - you surely had a faulty packet, as we have never received similar comments about them before. What I do ask of you however is that you don't judge the quality of our food from those 'rancid' peanuts you purchased. If you would like a refund of 0.75p, please email me your address and we will send the money to you.

On to our gardens - we do try very hard to upkeep and maintain our grounds, cleaning them every morning throughout the year. Unfortunately during our busy weekends with weddings, as well as the general public, the littering of our gardens does increase. With the glorious weather we had yesterday, there was a continuous flow of people eating in our garden throughout the day. No doubt you can understand that with the poor summer weather we have had this year, our flowers haven't prospered as much as in previous years, however I
can tell you that we water them every day in the morning.

I have been running The Langton Arms for the last 20 years and feel proud to own a country pub that has been in the same hands for all these years when many other local hostelries has changed ownership four or five times. I am very proud to host customers lovely weddings and functions as they are an important part of our business and the reason why we are still here and many others are not! Proprietor Barbara Cossins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Stayed here for two nights while in Dorset on business, very friendly greeting on arrival followed by a very quick, efficient check in.
The room are bungalow/chalet style set a little way from the pub/restaurant, they are large, with an entrance lobby, very big bathroom and spacious bedroom.
The Langton Arms is in an idyllic setting and as such is very peaceful to go back to when you want to relax after work.
Breakfast was freshly cooked and very tasty and the dinner was one of the best hotel meals I have eaten double baked cheese souffle...excellent.
The bar area was comfortable and very welcoming and service from staff was very good.
Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theknightsthatgonee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

We booked for my friends birthday , the menu choice was varied,It was a hard choice,but I went for the green Thai chicken well presented and very yummy... Great real ale and the staff could not do enough for us..a great place to go !! Overall a fab birthday night out .

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

I've stayed here a number of times over the past 5 years and really do look forward to comming back. The setting is perfect, the food is great (fresh and innovative), rooms excellent and the service is impeccable. Adding all of this together you can understand why so many people return again and again. Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarrant Monkton
6.6 km away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Blandford Forum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
32.5 km away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#1 of 6 in Dorchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
13.9 km away
Les Bouviers Rooms
Les Bouviers Rooms
#1 of 3 in Wimborne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 km away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#5 of 13 in Poole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
18.9 km away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 4 in Sturminster Newton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
37.2 km away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langton Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langton Arms

Property: The Langton Arms
Address: High Street, Tarrant Monkton DT11 8RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Tarrant Monkton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tarrant Monkton
Price range (per night): $204 - $208
Hotel Class:4 star — The Langton Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 17th Century thatched freehouse pub in the middle of a beautiful chocolate box Dorset village. Serving excellent homemade local food, real ales and good wines. We have two bars, a restaurant, function room, large safe children's play area and extensive gardens and courtyards. We also have six ensuite B&B guest rooms housed in a separate building at the rear of the pub. We hold a civil licence for weddings both inside and in our gardens and have been managed and owned by Barbara Cossins for the past 25 years. Recently voted Best Pub in Dorset 2016 y the National Pub & Bar Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Priceline, lastminute.com.au, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Langton Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langton Arms Hotel Tarrant Monkton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing