We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous!”
A great house for up to 24 with pool, hot-tub, 2 lakes & 17 acres.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A great house for up to 24 with pool, hot-tub, 2 lakes & 17 acres.
Hall Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
64 reviews
A great house for up to 24 with pool, hot-tub, 2 lakes & 17 acres.
Hall
Kitchen
The drawing room
Kingfisher Bedroom
Otter bedroom
Sitting room
One of the bathrooms
The den
Boot store
Pergola on the Lake
Swimming pool
Games barn
Games barn - interior
South side of main house
Keepers cottage
Cottage - Gamekeepers bedroom
Cottage - Orchard bedroom
Cottage - Thatchers bedroom
The lake, for  fishing or boating
Beautiful autumn colours emerging
Looking over the lawn at the rear of the house
The majestic scotts pines.
Open space near the orchard
Towards the front lawn
Log pile beside the lake walk, good for habitat, we hope.
The beautiful Blackdown Hills, great for walking and moutain biking.
The Blackdown Hills are wonderful for walking, riding & mountain biking.
Kitchen in the cottage, perfect for a morning coffee before breakfast in the main house.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
12 Bedrooms, 10 Bathrooms, Sleeps 24
Culmhead, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 64 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
TheArc201...
1 review
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed 17 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We loved everything about this venue. Not only the breathtaking grounds, but also the owner, Peter Installation who made us feel exceptionally welcome. Widcombe Grange will be a great memory.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2015
Thank you so much for your review and your kind words about me!! We always hope that our guests feel right at home as soon as they arrive, so pleased you did. Best wishes, Peter.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosie_Wal...
Bournemouth
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Our Big McStocker Weekend”
Reviewed 22 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We had the luck of the Irish when we found this place!
It had everything that we needed. As soon as we arrived and the big gates opened we knew it was going to be a great weekend.
There were 25 of us in total, spanning 4 generations. The oldest being 95 and the youngest being 1.
We didn't have to leave the grounds for anything. Food was delivered by Tesco at the time requested and then the laughter began.
We swam, went for a boat ride on the lake, walked through the fields, played rounder's, badminton, board games.
My mum had requested we do something as a family as she is unwell. I arranged it and it was everything she had hoped for.
Thank you to Peter and Beverly for making our weekend so fabulous. We would definitely recommend this to people and hope to go back again soon.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2015
Widcombe Grange is a great house for family get-togethers like yours and it sounds like you had a marvellous time, which is what it's all about! Many groups like yours find that there is no reason to leave the grounds - your own little oasis! So pleased you enjoyed yourselves. Best wishes, Peter.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dianne B
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fabulous venue for a great event”
Reviewed 28 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Widcombe Grange was a great venue for our extended family to celebrate our Golden wedding. The booking procedure and welcome at the property was very friendly and helpful. We appreciated the space and amenities which allowed a wide range of ages (1to 72) to enjoy a great weekend. The surrounding area offered places of interest and activities which meant different groups could appreciate time "off site" although the extensive grounds tempted us to stay put. We wish we could have stayed longer!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space and amenities-pool, lake, games room
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 May 2015
I do agree. When you're somewhere, having a great time with friends and family it's hard to leave and your weekend is over before you know it! So glad you had a lovely celebration, do come and see us again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn D
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect place for my 50th birthday celebration!”
Reviewed 19 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Widcombe Grange was the perfect mix of grandness whilst comfortable at the same time for the size of our party, 20 adults and 11 children, the kitchen was perfect for entertaining, it had all the equipment for catering for big parties, and the bbq. The bedroom layout and the number of bathrooms were perfect as it didn't feel that we were on top of each other. The kids loved it too with so many different garden areas for an egg hunt, the big swing and the heated pool. We were also lucky enough to have sunshine in April which meant we hardly left the house. Thank you so much for a great hand over and all your organisation.
Hopefully we will find another occasion to use the Big House Company again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience. Kids happy the grown ups happy!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Apr 2015
Thank you for your lovely review, it sounds like you enjoyed the house to the full. The pool, the lake and boat and the 22 acres make it a children's paradise, which really does mean that you barely have to leave the grounds. For the adults, there is all that, plus the coach house for games, the great kitchen and dining space for entertaining and plenty of room for chilling. We are so glad you had a great time. Best wishes, Peter.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tazmin R
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“The seriously large grounds give an amazing range of opportunities for fun.”
Reviewed 25 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

The house is impressive and spacious with a large dining table for large groups to share a meal. The two lounges meant we could spread ourselves around. The children loved the games hall, the swing in the tree and the boat on the lake. We were a group of 20 adults and 16 children and there was so much to keep us occupied at Widcombe Grange that we didn't leave the premises all weekend. We highly recommend staying here, it was fabulous!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The high quality
Liked least: Lack of locks on some oilet doors
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Mar 2015
We often hear guests commenting "there's so much to do, we didn't leave the grounds", which seems an ideal way to make your break more relaxing! From May to September there's the outdoor heated pool to add to the entertainment and for those who want some more excitement we can organise archery, clay & pistol shooting on site, or even a murder mystery for the evening.
Thank you so much for your comments and I am so glad you had a great time. Best wishes Peter & crew.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing