We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An outstanding base for the Peak District”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
4 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Lea, Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lydia H
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“An outstanding base for the Peak District”
Reviewed 7 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We spent a week in this cottage in December 2016 and will be returning!

The cottage is well equipped. The welcome package is excellent with milk, wine and home made Bakewell tarts for us. The surroundings are stunning and we also found a pub that we could walk to! Would definitely recommend!

We loved having the wood burner and the cottage is very cosy which was perfect for those winter days and nights. We loved being able to easily travel in and around the Peak District from the cottage and nothing of interest was much more than 30 minutes away.

I'm sure that this cottage is as relaxing all year round, but we particularly enjoyed staying here during winter time.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pilar81
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect relaxing break”
Reviewed 9 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

My husband and I found our stay at The Old Chapel delightful and perfect for relaxing whilst visiting nearby places. The cottage had everything we needed making it feel like home from home. The owners, Mary and Stuart, are a very lovely couple, friendly but not intrusive. Home baked pies, flowers, and a bottle of wine in the fridge welcomed us when we arrived. In my opinion these are small details that makes one feel very welcome. We really enjoyed our week there and I was sorry to leave! The views from the cottage are amazing. I loved watching the birds feeding every morning from the living room window. I originate from Northern Spain and this part of England is very similar in so many ways, no wonder I felt at home! Mary has lots of useful information regarding walks and interesting places to visit. There are National Trust houses nearby with amazing walks. If the weather is cold and rubbish, light the fire in the lovely stove and curl up with a book!! honestly don't miss the opportunity to visit the chapel if you can, it is perfect for a couple.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
228DawnM
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfect stay in beautiful location”
Reviewed 18 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

From the moment we arrived we knew that we had booked the perfect accommodation. We arrived 45 mins early but nothing was too much trouble. The inside was spotlessly clean and it was fully equipped including all the little extras such as milk, wine and Bakewell treats! We settled in well and the attention to details such as binoculars to watch the birds added to the whole experience. I was blown away that I had the opportunity to stay in such a unique cottage. The kitchen was fully equipped and it enabled us to stay in and make our own food and stay snuggled up watching a DVD! Wifi included! Perfect cottage and perfect hosts - Thank you x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidHone...
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Quirky Excellence. A Gem Of A Place.”
Reviewed 3 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

A beautiful cottage in an idyll setting .We received a warm greeting from the owners Stuart & Mary who gave us some good tips on the best eating places locally. Mary also provided us with a welcome pack which included some of her homemade Bakewell Tarts, most agreeable .
The cottage itself is very tastefully modernised without loosing it's authentic feel.
We were very lucky with unseasonably good sunny weather so we were able to sit on the patio & enjoy the stunning view. It did get cool in the evening but the central heating was more than adequate to keep us warm & cosy.
A place we will definitely return to.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing