We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Lovely

Went for a nice beach walk here. Plenty of wide open space and big skies! Good parking and only a... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
412jom
,
Belfast, United Kingdom
via mobile
Beautiful beach

Stunning view from the hill on the triple beach, lovely sandy beach with very easy access just... read more

Reviewed 12 September 2018
robert n
via mobile
Read all 82 reviews
  
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveller rating
69
9
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
69
9
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful beach port salon blue flag golden sands fanad head breathtaking views on duty beaches in the world long walk newspaper picnic sunbathing peninsula stroll ireland strand lifeguards
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 81 reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

I was travelling through north Donegal with family a few days ago. Weather was crisp & sunny, we were blessed. Views over this beach on approach we fantastic. There wasn't a single person on it! It really is lovely, like the hundreds of other beaches in Donegal. I can imagine the congestion chaos in summer time so I was so happy we got to see it 'au natural' in winter on a blue-skied day!

Thank AlanMerrins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went for a nice beach walk here. Plenty of wide open space and big skies! Good parking and only a few minutes walk to the sea. Would go again. Not so many shells to collect but I liked having no seaweed to jump over.

Thank 412jom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

Beautiful golden sand and an amazing view .Water is crystal clear. Unfortunately we saw quite a bit of litter which was disappointing.

Thank helenaruss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2018 via mobile

Stunning view from the hill on the triple beach, lovely sandy beach with very easy access just meters from the road, definitely must see when you travel to Donegal. Nice restaurant with the view on entire beach located at the end.

Thank robert n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2018

Port Salon is a fantastic beautiful beach with lovely golden sands surrounded by beautiful hills. The sea is clean and pure and beautiful but chilly for swimming even in August,but it is definitely the best beach that I have visited in Ireand with a beautiful drive from Rathmullan with lovely flora and athletic sheep grazing in the mountain heights. Please visit and find inspiration once again and tranquility..

Thank cmariad777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2018 via mobile

What a hidden gem in our beauitful country never knew about this beach before this week. I was advised to visit by local hotel and by god it did not disappoint. Beauitful scenery beauitful beach will be back. We went up the mountain after and the views were breathtaking! Must do if your in the area

Thank cam21xo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018

Lovely beach to go for walks and swimming crystal clear water with loads of wild life both in the water and all around. I went snorkelling the water gets deep very quickly with very few currents great break away.

1  Thank glennr0dgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2018

Dropped into Portsalon because we were staying at the Fanad Head LightHouse about 20 minutes away. This small harbour was buzzing with child friendly water sports and activities.

Thank Ciaran D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2018

What a beach, clean golden sand, clear water and just stunning views from Portsalon beach, looking towards Fort Dunree across the bay

1  Thank AndyS3222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2018 via mobile

What more can I say. One of the most beautiful beaches I have ever been to . The view from up high on the way to Rathmullen is the best. So good I'm not going to ruin it by sharing a picture .

2  Thank Alicia246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews