We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveller rating
25
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
25
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews taxi service crocodile farm his wife basilio maria excursions havana house cuba villa
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 28 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2016

We got first class service and good information. The host, mr. Basilio Cabrera Guerra, a former physicist and teacher, provided us with all the of our needs. He even offered spanish lessons!
The rooms were among the best we had during our 14 days round trip and the food was too.
Pinar del Rio has much to offer and I would recommend a visit to the tobaco farm and the Beach Playa de Caya Jutia as our favorites.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m0rtenlund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2016

We ( 2 adults + child) have spent 4days at the house of Maria and Basilio. Thanks to them we could get closer to the real Cuban life. If your are not decided what you want/need to visit, Basilio have trips ready. If you know what you want, he will arrange for you to get there. Moreover, food prepared by Maria was the best we had in Cuba.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank GosiagoGosia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2016

We recently returned from a great trip to Cuba, and loved our time at Villa Vueltabajo. Basilio provides taxi service, tour guidance, and a solid home base in the Pinar region. He picked us up in Havana at exactly the time we requested, and we made our way towards Pinar Del Rio, with him guiding us to Las Terrazas and Soroa, two beautiful tourist destinations on the way. Maria Elena, his wife, keeps the casa meticulously clean and tidy, and the meals are sumptuous, as well as healthful. The casa is located just outside of town, which is perfect, as the city is a bit busy and noisy. At evening time we walked up and down the road outside Basilio's casa, and had the chance to meet the real Cubanos. The view from his balcony is open and expansive, and you can see amazing birds as well as goats and cows and chickens and such. He took us on wonderful excursions, one day to a cigar making factory and to Vinales, and the second day to Cayo Jutias, a beautiful white sand, turquoise water beach, where we swam and enjoyed live music and mojitos. The love and generosity this casa experience afforded us helped make our Cuba trip special.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2016

This husband and wife team run an excellent guest house! Our room was immaculate, Maria's food was fresh and wonderfully prepared, and Basilio took us to a tobacco plantation. He also took time to map our day trip to Viñales on THE most scenic back road imaginable. Basilio's ability to communicate in English was a grateful surprise for us too. Thank you Maria nd Basilio for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2016

We had a great stay at Basilios and Marias Casa. They organized great tours and excursions for us. The house is located outside the city, which allows a great view into green fields and tobacco plantations. We sat on the veranda watching the sunset and the Cuban life on the street which was great! Maria prepared delicious breakfasts and dinners for us and even guests from outside came to try her food.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank thmiddel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews