We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How lucky we were to find Bassilio!”
Review of Villa Vueltabajo

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pinar del Rio
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Vueltabajo
Ranked #2 of 14 Pinar del Rio B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 April 2017

We -2 adults- spent 6 great days at Villa Vueltabajo. Bassilio and his wife Maria, our hosts, provided us with excellent and spotless accommodation, delicious home-cooked meals and all of our daily needs. Bassilio picked us up in Havanna and provided taxi service where ever and whenever we needed it. He took us on excursions where we learned how cigars are produced, visited a crocodile farm and organized a three day stay at a beautiful white sandy beach on the western coast of Cuba. He helped us to get internet tickets (no easy matter in Cuba!), made any phone calls we needed and organized our return trip and stay in a casa particulares in Havanna. He speaks English well, was conscientious and friendly. And he makes the best Mojitos we had in Cuba!!

Room Tip: The corner room is the best one as there is a nice breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank pearlnitsche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

2 - 6 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2016

We got first class service and good information. The host, mr. Basilio Cabrera Guerra, a former physicist and teacher, provided us with all the of our needs. He even offered spanish lessons!
The rooms were among the best we had during our 14 days round trip and the food was too.
Pinar del Rio has much to offer and I would recommend a visit to the tobaco farm and the Beach Playa de Caya Jutia as our favorites.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m0rtenlund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2016

We ( 2 adults + child) have spent 4days at the house of Maria and Basilio. Thanks to them we could get closer to the real Cuban life. If your are not decided what you want/need to visit, Basilio have trips ready. If you know what you want, he will arrange for you to get there. Moreover, food prepared by Maria was the best we had in Cuba.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank GosiagoGosia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2016

We recently returned from a great trip to Cuba, and loved our time at Villa Vueltabajo. Basilio provides taxi service, tour guidance, and a solid home base in the Pinar region. He picked us up in Havana at exactly the time we requested, and we made our way towards Pinar Del Rio, with him guiding us to Las Terrazas and Soroa, two beautiful tourist destinations on the way. Maria Elena, his wife, keeps the casa meticulously clean and tidy, and the meals are sumptuous, as well as healthful. The casa is located just outside of town, which is perfect, as the city is a bit busy and noisy. At evening time we walked up and down the road outside Basilio's casa, and had the chance to meet the real Cubanos. The view from his balcony is open and expansive, and you can see amazing birds as well as goats and cows and chickens and such. He took us on wonderful excursions, one day to a cigar making factory and to Vinales, and the second day to Cayo Jutias, a beautiful white sand, turquoise water beach, where we swam and enjoyed live music and mojitos. The love and generosity this casa experience afforded us helped make our Cuba trip special.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2016

This husband and wife team run an excellent guest house! Our room was immaculate, Maria's food was fresh and wonderfully prepared, and Basilio took us to a tobacco plantation. He also took time to map our day trip to Viñales on THE most scenic back road imaginable. Basilio's ability to communicate in English was a grateful surprise for us too. Thank you Maria nd Basilio for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pinar del Rio
60.6 km away
Iberostar Playa Blanca
Iberostar Playa Blanca
#6 of 6 in Cayo Largo
2,061 reviews
1.8 km away
Hotel Vueltabajo
Hotel Vueltabajo
#2 of 3 in Pinar del Rio
97 reviews
1.5 km away
No photo provided
Hotel Pinar Del Rio
#2 of 6 in Pinar del Rio
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Vueltabajo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Vueltabajo

Address: Km3.5 Carretera Luis Lazo the Tritan 13A, Pinar del Rio 20100, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Pinar del Rio Province > Pinar del Rio
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Pinar del Rio
Price Range: $32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing