We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveller rating
25
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
25
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstaxi servicecrocodile farmhis wifebasiliomariaexcursionshavanahousecubavilla
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 28 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2016

We recently returned from a great trip to Cuba, and loved our time at Villa Vueltabajo. Basilio provides taxi service, tour guidance, and a solid home base in the Pinar region. He picked us up in Havana at exactly the time we requested, and we made our way towards Pinar Del Rio, with him guiding us to Las Terrazas and Soroa, two beautiful tourist destinations on the way. Maria Elena, his wife, keeps the casa meticulously clean and tidy, and the meals are sumptuous, as well as healthful. The casa is located just outside of town, which is perfect, as the city is a bit busy and noisy. At evening time we walked up and down the road outside Basilio's casa, and had the chance to meet the real Cubanos. The view from his balcony is open and expansive, and you can see amazing birds as well as goats and cows and chickens and such. He took us on wonderful excursions, one day to a cigar making factory and to Vinales, and the second day to Cayo Jutias, a beautiful white sand, turquoise water beach, where we swam and enjoyed live music and mojitos. The love and generosity this casa experience afforded us helped make our Cuba trip special.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2016

This husband and wife team run an excellent guest house! Our room was immaculate, Maria's food was fresh and wonderfully prepared, and Basilio took us to a tobacco plantation. He also took time to map our day trip to Viñales on THE most scenic back road imaginable. Basilio's ability to communicate in English was a grateful surprise for us too. Thank you Maria nd Basilio for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2016

We had a great stay at Basilios and Marias Casa. They organized great tours and excursions for us. The house is located outside the city, which allows a great view into green fields and tobacco plantations. We sat on the veranda watching the sunset and the Cuban life on the street which was great! Maria prepared delicious breakfasts and dinners for us and even guests from outside came to try her food.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank thmiddel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2015

Basilio and Maria were wonderful hosts and made us feel at home. My dad and I enjoyed our room as well as the back patio that looks out onto the countryside - perfect for journal writing. Basilio picked us up from Habana and took us on three day trips. He was a knowledgeable and fun driver and guide. We appreciated how he tailored the trips to our interests (which often involved swimming!). Since my dad doesn't speak Spanish, Basilio's English skills were very helpful. Last, but certainly not least, Maria's cooking was outstanding!

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anela84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2015

We spend unfortunately just 3 days in this beautiful house with a beautiful people!!! the food was amazing!!!! Maria Elena en Basilio are extremely sweet persons,and someone you can truest and leave anything with out any risk!!! Really happy and definitely we will be back shortly

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank LissetteGarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews