We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (100)
Filter reviews
100 results
Traveller rating
98
1
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
98
1
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nespresso machine andaman sea surrounding rainforest dusky leaf monkeys local food market clear view of the ocean sister property total privacy hot tub hill overlooking breakfast delivered self contained mobile phone to call personalized service special thanks comfortable bed every guest
Filter
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 100 reviews
Reviewed 15 December 2017

Ambong Pool Villas is definitely the best boutique hotel I've stayed in Langkawi. I was blown away by how huge the villas were.. we stayed at Villa #6 (sunset villa) and we didn't want to leave! The pool size was beyond comparison-- definitely the biggest pool I've seen in a private villa, big enough for a proper laps. There is also a separate shallow pool for kids.

The views were also breathtaking, we could see the sea from the outdoor tub and we even spotted a hornbill! Don't forget the neighbourhood monkeys too (don't worry they won't bother you, consider them more curious than anything!) Bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was perfect. The staff never failed to greet us by name, and were all very polite and accommodating. We were also given a local mobile phone and the staff catered to our whims and fancies-- loved being pampered! You can even order in food from a nearby restaurant and get them delivered to the villa if you feel like staying in (which you should since the place is gorgeous).

Overall, it was a great stay and it was wonderful to be so close to nature with all the amenities of a luxury hotel. Will definitely recommend Ambong Pool Villas to family and friends.

Room Tip: There are sunrise and sunset villas.. be sure to specify which one you prefer
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Aina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amran_AA, Owner at Ambong Pool Villas Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2017

Thank you for your excellent review of Ambong Pool Villas.

Villa #6, or Villa Sawak which faces the setting sun, is my personal favourite, it has a little bit of everything, covered in a magnificent jungle canopy at one end and an overflowing infinity pool with expansive views of the entire Tengah/Cenang bay area at the other. It offers an private outdoor wooden bathtub, with the surrounding wildlife as your only company.

We are very fortunate to have the most amazing team of people who truly are some of the friendliest and most genuine individuals we know. And our experience with Ambong-Ambong tells us this is what makes for a special and unique experience. Though Ambong Pool Villas is still in its infancy stages, we are extremely proud to announce our sister property Ambong-Ambong is now the #1 traveller ranked hotel in Langkawi on TripAdvisor.

Thank you once again for spending your holidays with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2017

For decades i have railed against the deleterious effects of tourism & lop-sided development on our natural & cultural landscape.

Especially the grotesque rectangular concrete slabs (posturing as tourist hotels) that scar our hills & coast-lines.
Langkawi is pock-marked with these eye-sores!

What a delight, then, to discover, that one can have ‘development’ without destruction of our natural habitat.

Ambong Pool Villas gives lie to the proposition that it is necessary to scalp or flatten our hills to build 21st century resorts & retreats.

With luxurious chalets/villas nestled in a natural tropical rain forest, Ambong Pool Villas affords one the unique opportunity of a truly jungle experience – i found a rare pink tree frog clinging to our door-handle this morning! – without sacrificing any creature comforts.

Cecil Rajendra

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank CRajendra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amran_AA, Owner at Ambong Pool Villas Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2017

Thank you for your generous and kind words about Ambong Pool Villas.

Like Ambong-Ambong, both resorts are built on the same principles and ethos one of which is a profound respect for mother nature. When building the villas, trees were painstakingly saved and walls and roofs were modified to accommodate them. We varied the levels within each villa to minimise earthworks on the ridge while following as closely as possible to the natural contours and slope of the land.

I must also pay homage to the natural beauty of the land, which we have merely inherited. Perched on a southern peninsular overlooking the sea on both sides of the ridge, with views of the sun rising from the east-facing villas and the villas facing the setting sun to the west, each villa is nestled within the jungle having its own vista of Langkawi's seas and her islands.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit.




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2017

I was one of the few opportune enough to be able to check into the new Ambong Pool Villas, with only 9 villas and it being peak season, so book early. The elevation of the villa is fantastic, as with most sea view tourist resorts, it gets predictable after a while, but here, I got a fantastic aerial view of the natural landscape of the island and the sea which caught me off-guard.

The villa comes with a very generous sized pool, definitely big enough for laps, and a separate shallow pool for those travelling with young kids. The manicured lawn complete with a deck chair for a lazy afternoon in the sun, outdoor minibar and pantry was well stocked, and the interior of the villa itself is well designed and positioned so that it captured the views beautifully every moment of the day. Instagrammers beware, you will not be leaving anytime soon!

There was a lot of natural lighting, which I appreciate, and many plug points around. The design aesthetic is perfect. I managed to work in the living room and when I got tired, opened the sliding doors and jumped straight into the pool. There is a side door from one end of the pool that leads you directly into the bathroom to shower when you’re done; great option to have. The bathroom is extremely generous in size, but yet it did not feel overbearingly large.

The sunrise in the morning is stunning!! I dragged myself awake with ZERO regrets; all I had to do was wake up and sit up from the bed to witness this. And being so close to nature yet not sacrificing amenities was wonderful. Spotted a pair of hornbills while soaking in the pool on the first day was a highlight for me.

Service was immaculate. Everyone we encountered were extremely personable; more than happy to initiate a conversation, yet respecting my privacy. They’ve achieved a harmonious balance for service most 5 star hotels still struggle with. There is also a shuttle that brings you to the reception very promptly anytime of the day, and I understand that an airport shuttle service will commence soon as well.

All in all, it is no wonder why they are rated no 1 in Langkawi. Thumbs and toes up!

Room Tip: The staff are extremely helpful. Let them know what you are looking for they will give you an excellent recommendation.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank reignchaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amran_AA, Owner at Ambong Pool Villas Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2017

Thank you for your fantastic review of Ambong Pool Villas. We are delighted you had a wonderful time with us.

Privacy is one of the main features of our small resort, with only 9 villas, we went to great lengths to ensure that each villa has uninterrupted views of the seas and islands amidst the tropical surroundings. Each villa has a private infinity edge pool which is accessible from the garden terrance, bedroom lounge and also from the bathroom.

Each villa is special in its own unique way. Eastern-facing villas such as Kemarong where you stayed, offer early morning vistas of the sunrise above the sea and limestone cliffs of Dayang Bunting island, while our west-facing villas, Kemoja, Machinchang, Sawak and Temoyong, offer views of the beaches of Pantai Tengah and Pantai Cenang with awe-inspiring sunsets over Pulau Tepor island as a backdrop.

Our personalised service is what Ambong-Ambong has made a reputation for, and we have made careful allowances to ensure that we retain this, for a start, we only built 9 villas (in comparison to 11 rooms at Ambong-Ambong ). We deliberately chose a different site to ensure the exclusiveness of both properties, and so the staff in both properties retain the level of personal attention with all our guests.

It was our pleasure hosting you at Ambong Pool Villas, thank you once again for being a part of this new and exciting chapter of our story. We are delighted you had a memorable stay and we do hope you will be back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2017

Arrived in the evening and knew instantly that this would be a getaway. Perched on the hilltop, our villa was nestled almost complimentary to the surrounding rainforest.
The outdoor Japanese bath looked the most inviting for a midnight warm soak if you don't fancy jumping into the cool waters of the private pool. The architecture of the villa itself was refreshing as you walk into your outdoor living room and kitchen before climbing into your very spacious yet cozy bedroom and bathroom.
We were told that our villa (Villa 5) would get a sunrise view which is handy advice as the sun literally beams into your bed and can be disturbing if you aren't a morning person. Be sure to draw the curtains.
The daybed and living area next to the pool is by far my favourite part of the villa as you can sit on the patio with your legs dangling into the pool while you enjoy a nightcap and glimpses of the sea as well as the forest sounds.
The bathroom is well equipped and if Ambong is going toward an eco-friendly route, it would be nice if some of the products were either locally sourced and towels only changed when needed.
The pool is a great size and it is in no way a wading pool. It is deep and sizable enough to get proper laps in but those with kids or aren't quite tall enough might need an extra leg up if they want to climb straight into the bathroom area.
As the staff of the adjacent Ambong-ambong are at the ready on the villa mobile phone, getting to and from the villa to the breakfast cafe was very easy. They arrive within 5 minutes and are always smiling. Within the first few hours of arriving, it felt like all the staff knew our names and drivers Ina and Li were especially pleasant and so accommodating in getting us to and from the various parts of the resort. Can't sing enough praises for the staff at the resort!
The breakfast is simple but great and if you fancy taking a leisurely breakfast at the villa, you can request for a breakfast in bed too or simply take it to go.
All in all loved the surrounding nature and the feeling of utter tranquility while having luxurious comforts. Was especially taken by the beautiful tree that felt like it was growing right out the middle of our living room.
This is really a place to go to if you don't fancy leaving the hotel when you visit langkawi!

Stayed: December 2017
Thank Shakila R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amran_AA, Owner at Ambong Pool Villas Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2017

Thank you for your magnificent review of Ambong Pool Villas!

We are a small family owned resort with a wonderful team of people. Many of our staff have been involved in the Ambong Pool Villas project from the very start, and played a big part in the making of the villas. It is ultimately the staff and the service they provide which what makes for a memorable experience. Ina and Li would be especially delighted to read your review.

We built only 9 private pool villas, each one designed with respect to the natural contours of the ridge and its surroundings, trees larger than 8" in diameter were left untouched and had the villas modified to accommodate them.
Each villa, some facing the sun rise and others facing the setting sun offers a difference ambience and experience, some with uninterrupted sea views, while some offer a glimpse of the sea and islands through the surrounding trees.

From all of us here at the Ambong family, thank you once again for choosing to stay with us, it was absolutely our pleasure to host you here and we hope you will find the time to visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017

Upon arrival at the reception-cum-dining area of Ambong Ambong Rainforest Retreat we were greeted by a smiling Sharina who surprised us by rattling off our names, trying to put the face to each of our nine names that she had obviously memorized from the guest list. Six of us had visited and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the exclusive Ambong Ambong suites a couple of years back, and this time we eagerly look forward to a relaxing 3-day 2-night stay at the brand-new Ambong Pool Villas just a stone’s throw away. After a welcome reception and briefing we were whisked, luggage and all, by the team of cheerful Ambong Ambong staff who adroitly negotiated the resort’s short wheel based 4-wheel drives up the steep winding paths to the villas. The residents of each villa received a handphone with important numbers to contact; getting breakfast delivered or a ride from villa to restaurant is only a call away to the ever-obliging resort staff. Every greeting, even by the staff sweeping the grounds, is a cheerful one that lifts one’s spirits.
True to Ambong Ambong’s well-established image as a rainforest resort, eight newly constructed pool villas are nestled among lush forest blanketing the headland that juts out of the southwestern corner of Pulau Langkawi. Perched along the forested ridge each villa has a commanding view of the forest and the sea whichever direction it faces – east or west. The highlight of each villa is a private infinity pool with a children’s wading section wrapped around and accessible from an integrated living-bedroom-bathroom unit that is connected to an open kitchen adjoining a lawn area. Clever design and layout maximizes openness to the views while affording privacy behind a modest entrance from the access path to the villas. Every villa differs in layout that accommodates the terrain and is sensitively constructed to retain selected trees, with structures built around them thus bringing the forest ambience into the villa (Photo 3). Picture-postcard views afforded by large glass panels that line the living-cum-bedroom and shower areas, bringing the spectacular outdoors indoor.
Besides the private swimming pool, the indoors are an epitome of luxury – a spacious bedroom area with 4-poster bed leads via 3 low steps to the sunken lounge area that opens directly on to the infinity pool through glass sliding doors. The adjoining closet-cum-bathroom toilet area is even as big and spacious, with separate his-and-hers wash basins and closet areas for putting the luggage and other items out of sight and not clutter the lovely bedroom setting. A curtain hangs over the glass partition of the shower area for the modest; but drawing open the curtain offers an unobstructed view of the wooden tub beside the infinity pool and the forest trees beyond it while one showers. Well perhaps one might encounter a curious langur or a macaque (two common monkey denizens of the forest) peeking at the naked human in the shower.
The tastefully decorated interior has interesting conversation pieces strategically placed, even in the toilet area, without too much clutter. Universal power plugs, including USB points, abound to accommodate modern day travel and living dependence on multiple electrical gadgets and including, of course, free wifi access without password. A flat TV panel offers entertainment if one so chooses, but who would bother when there are spectacular sights and sounds of the living forest and the sea to gaze at.
Wading and swimming laps in the infinity pool, with forest trees almost within reach and yellowed leaves floating down and landing softly on the water’s surface (the pool is cleared of fallen leaves three times a day!), work wonders for stress relief. Stepping up from the pool, one can raid the refrigerator for refreshing chilled drinks or boil a kettle of water to make a variety of hot beverages, all supplied gratis. Lounging on the deck chair, one can soak in the serene vista, and may even be visited by a pair of pied hornbills that choose to perch on an overhanging branch to preen and display their feathers.
It is not surprising if one feels reluctant to leave the luxury of the villa to venture out to the larger world of Pulau Langkawi. A short walk away is the relatively quieter stretch of Pantai Tengah beach. Further afield, a short Uber ride brings one to the hustle and bustle of shopping outlets and eating places that meet a range of budgets along Pantai Cenang. But one does not even have to venture far to enjoy the best Japanese food at Unkaizan Restaurant at the foot of the Ambong Ambong premises, or to enjoy a refreshing spa session at the Ishan Spa within the premises.
Back to the ‘sanctity’ of the pool villa, one notices the upwardly lit forest trees serenely reflected in pool water, highlighting the rainforest ambience at night. On the second night I fell asleep lying on the lounge sofa gazing at this mesmerizing sight, happily forgoing the comfort of the 4-poster bed just a few steps away. Tomorrow morning promises a spectacular sunrise over the Andaman sea and a hearty breakfast spread of western and local fare at Ambong Ambong, which very thoughtfully extends breakfast hours to 12 noon for the late risers on holiday.

Room Tip: Villa 1 has the best unobstructed view of the Andaman Sea.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank spkam2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amran_AA, Owner at Ambong Pool Villas Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2017

Wow, thank you and what a fantastic review of Ambong Pool Villas. your review makes us truly feel we have achieved something worthwhile.

When we set out to build the villas, we had simply wanted to create a living space on a hill overlooking the sea which at the same time embraces its natural environment. Trees were painstakingly saved and villas were modified to accommodate them. We varied the levels of each villa to minimise earthworks on the ridge and following the natural contours of the land, while fully capturing the views of the sea and islands of Langkawi. Your excellent photos of the Ambong Pool Villas are truly a testament to what we had sought to achieve.

Having managed Ambong-Ambong for 6 years, we have learnt that personalised service is what makes for a truly memorable experience, this is one of the reasons why we chose a separate site for the Pool Villas in order for each property to remain small and personal. Of course, all this does not mean anything if we are not supported by the most dedicated and wonderful team of people we have working at the Ambong family. You perfectly captured this essence when you said "Every greeting, even by the staff sweeping the grounds, is a cheerful one that lifts one’s spirits"

Thank you once again for staying with us, it was our pleasure hosting you and we are delighted that you found your time spent here worthwhile, do come back and visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews