We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
21 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in great prices from these sites
Booking.com
USD 2,616
View deal
Hotels.comUSD 2,631
Expedia.comUSD 2,627
PricelineUSD 2,616
CheapTicketsUSD 2,631
TravelocityUSD 2,631
Orbitz.comUSD 2,631
View all 9 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,529)
Filter reviews
2,529 results
Traveller rating
2,340
142
39
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,340
142
39
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews our honeymoon fish domestic flight marine life half board male airport other resorts water sports special thanks private island food was amazing laamu atoll the general manager world class scuba diving eagle rays spa treatments
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,088 - 1,093 of 2,529 reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2016

Truly a unique and wonderful experience. Our visit far exceeded our already high expectations. Other than the cost, the only downside was that we could not stay longer and we were mislead about there being a range of surf breaks nearby. There is one good wave for advanced surfers, but nothing notable for intermediates. Fortunately the rest of the experience was among the best to be had anywhere. We had a fantastic time with the dive center - Ocean Dimensions - and in particular with our dive guide Margerita and the owner, Petra. Both took particularly good care of us - a family of two adults and two teenagers.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SleepyJoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Six_Senses_Laamu, Manager at Six Senses Laamu, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2016

Dear SleepyJoel

Greetings from Sunny Six Senses Laamu

Thank you indeed for a wonderful review posted here on Trip Advisor and I will make sure that Margerita and Petra get your comments.
We are truly lucky to have such a fantastic team here on the Island and to be able to share all of the wonderful things of Laamu with our guests

Dear SleepyJoel from the team here at Six Senses Laamu we hope to have the pleasure again one day to welcome you back to Six Senses Laamu

Best Regards
Frans Westraadt
Resident Manager
Six Senses Laamu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2016 via mobile

We stayed in Laamu for 4 days to celebrate my husband birthday. Everything was absolutely fantastic from the minute we arrived - beautiful area and villas (we had ocean villa), amazing attention to detail and great services. Thank you so much for everything ... And sorry it took me so long to write the review!!

Date of stay: November 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Capuche29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Six_Senses_Laamu, General Manager at Six Senses Laamu, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2016

Dear fabienen29,

Thank you very much for your complimentary TripAdvisor review and thank you for having selected Six Senses Laamu for the important occasion of your husband's birthday.

We are indeed lucky to be blessed with a beautiful island in an amazing location. It is fantastic to know you enjoyed your ocean water villa and that you felt the team was excellent in our attention to detail and service delivery. Credit indeed goes to our hard working team of hosts who work tirelessly to ensure our guests have wonderful, memorable and out of the ordinary experiences.

Knowing that you have now found your perfect couple gateway, we hope it will not be before too long that we will have the pleasure of welcoming your husband and yourself back again to Six Senses Laamu. Be it here in our little paradise or at one of our sister properties around the globe, please do not hesitate to reach out to me direct if ever we can assist you in any way.

With sunny regards,

Marteyne van Well
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2016

We loved our first time to Laamu and felt it was the only place we could go back to if we ever went to the Maldives again. So we did go back and it was just as wonderful. We tried the spa this time, which is basically an open air coocoon beach side - bliss. We also had a private session with Kunchuk in the gym, which we loved. Working out in the gym with incredible views over Indian Ocean...what can you say? We were there just before the Christmas holiday so it was quite busy, but this was only noticed at breakfast time. The food, the service, the chilled atmosphere. I'm not really sure how you could beat this place. Love it.

Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LovinEveryMinute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Six_Senses_Laamu, General Manager at Six Senses Laamu, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2016

Dear LovinEveryMinute,

It was our absolute pleasure to have had the opportunity to look after you once again at Six Senses Laamu and many thanks for your review.

It is always a pleasure to see guests coming back to visit us and, even more important, that returning guests continue to have a fantastic experience with us. It means a lot to us all to know that you felt once again very well looked after and are still very much in love with the property!

Thank you very much for your compliments about Kunchuk who is a star indeed. He is grateful for your recognition and hopes you know that it was a pleasure for him to work with you.

LovinEveryMinute, we all very much hope to see you back once again in the not too distant future and in the meantime many thanks all of us here at Six Senses Laamu.

With warm regards,

Marteyne van Well
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2016

We went to Six Senses Laamu for our honeymooon, and from the moment we stepped barefoot (one of the island's optional policy's) onto the island we knew we would not want to leave. The resort and staff were amazing - we can not fault a thing! The staff were always extremely friendly and helpful - nothing was too much trouble. They always remembered your name and your personal likes.
Our lagoon water villa was absolutely stunning (very clean, comfortable and with bathroom facilities and views to die for) and the food & drink on the island was fantastic - we tried all the restaurants as well as the Surf n Turf BBQ on the beach and the Champagne tasting dinner at the Wine Cellar.
My husband enjoyed going on a few surf trips with local guides, whilst he was doing this I would snorkel, go stand up paddle boarding and relax by the pool and be well looked after by the staff at Sip Sip (pool bar).
We did an excursion to 'Picnic Island' one day which we would highly recommend - a 40 min boat ride to your own private island. 5 hours of paradise - even though we were already in paradise! Another aspect we really enjoyed was using the bikes to get around the island.
We really enjoyed chatting to all the staff and getting to know them, including Majid our waiter at Altitude restaurant, Dave, Espy & Corey at the water sports, and ALL the staff at Sip Sip & Chill Bar. Our GEM (Guest Experience Maker) Hollow was absolutely amazing, very helpful and friendly. One evening Hollow organised a particularly special experience for us - a private screening of Finding Nemo at the open air cinema.
We will never forget our time at Six Senses Laamu and if we get the opportunity to go back to the Maldives it will certainly be back to Six Senses.

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank NatalieAR08043891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Six_Senses_Laamu, Manager at Six Senses Laamu, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2016

Dear Natalie R

Greetings from Six Senses Laamu

Wow, and thank you for such a wonderful review posted here on Trip Advisor and I will make sure that this review is going on the staff notice board.

I am so happy to read you had one fantastic time here on the Island and will indeed share your comments with all the names you mentioned in your review personally with them.

Indeed the Picnic Island is such a wonderful place to be as one will feel if it belongs to you for that day and really have the feeling of a Robinson Crusoe adventure while there

I hope as well that you have met some of our resident turtles here in front of Chill bar while snorkeling and at least had a few Ice creams during your stay.

Dear Natalie R once again thank you for your review posted here and we here at Six Senses Laamu hope to see you again in the near future.

Best Regards
Frans Westraadt
Resident Manager
Six Senses Laamu


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2016

My wife and I have been staying at Laamu in April this year. It was already our second time at this unique island. The luxury service started already in Male at the airport, where we were invited into the lounge to recover and wait for our further journey to the Laamu Atoll.
At the arrival jetty our GEM Yasir gave us a very warm welcome and showed us around.
When we arrived in our villa (Jetty B) Yasir informed us that we had been upgraded, so we had an Overwater Villa with Pool. Additionally, our bed was decorated with leafs (“welcome home”). Moreover, our bicycles had individualized name tags with our initials instead of the villa number, and we got a bottle of Prosecco in our villa. We felt immediately home. Our GEM scheduled all dinner experiences in the different restaurants for us and provided us with insider tips, about where we should snorkel. The excellent service makes the resort outstanding.
I want to highlight the SPA as well. My wife enjoyed several treatments with Dr. Gopal and his wife and a combination of a body treatment and a massage from one of the therapists.
Another really important point to mention is the food. We used to go to Sip Sip and Chill Bar for having out lunchtime salad or pasta and for dinner we followed our personalized schedule from Yasir. The food was always delicious. I mean the sushi and maki in the Zen, buffets in Longtitude and the speciality restaurant LEAF, all was just wonderful. The staff was really kind and we had never an issue about anything. It was just perfect.
As we visited the ice-cream place more than one a day, I have to mention that one, too. The complementary ice-cream is excellent. No more explanation needed.
What I additionally enjoy is, that there is no “dresscode” in this club. You only need shorts and T-shirts and no shoes (even for dinner, which is also unique!!!).
All in all I have to summarize that for us Six senses-Laamu is the best place for a relaxing holiday in a “paradies”-Island. We really enjoyed our stay very much again and we felt like VIP’s with all the special service. We are looking very forward to our next out-of-the-ordinary-holiday here. One last thing to make clear: If you experienced the wonderful underwater world in Laamu, you cannot snorkel anywhere else anymore!

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dietmar_markl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Six_Senses_Laamu, General Manager at Six Senses Laamu, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2016

Dear dietmar_markl,

A warm hello from all of us here at Six Senses Laamu and thank you so much for having taken the time to share your experiences here on TripAdvisor. It is wonderful to know that your second stay with us was as good as, if not better than, your first visit. We are all committed to ensuring all of our guests have wonderful out of the ordinary experiences and it means a lot to us to know that we succeeded!

It is wonderful to know that you appreciated the luxury service from arrival to departure and I am happy you were able to enjoy the upgraded villa accommodations. Our new Ocean Water Villas with Pool are fantastic indeed and I am delighted you experienced this. I am absolutely blessed with a team of caring, committed and engaged hosts who make it their priority to ensure personalized service and attention to detail for each and every of our guests. Yasir, your GEM, is thrilled you recognized him and he hopes you know that it was a great pleasure looking after you.

Thank you also for the wonderful compliments for our Spa team and Dr. Gopal who are all stars indeed and deeply care for the well-being and comfort of all our guests. I recommend on your next visit to schedule some time with Dr. J, our Spa Manager, Ayurvedic Doctor and Integrated Wellness Specialist who offers enlightening consultations and receives the highest of recommendations for all guests who spend time with him.

It is wonderful to know that once again you though to food was outstanding and credit is due to Chef Martin, our Executive Chef and his culinary team.

The underwater life of the Maldives in general but Six Senses Laamu and the Laamu Atoll in particular is really indeed second to none and I am so pleased your wife and yourself where able to experience this. Perhaps for your next visit we may entice you into trying a dive as the underwater is equally as magical a little deeper down.

Thank you again dietmar_markl for your confidence and patronage which is enormously valued and appreciated. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming your wife and yourself back for a third visit in the not too distant future and please do not hesitate to call upon me personally if ever we can assist in any way.

With sunny regards from all of us,

Marteyne van Well
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews