We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Ways to Experience Heritage Blinman Mine
Reviews (235)
Filter reviews
235 results
Traveller rating
197
34
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
197
34
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews copper mine great tour an hour flinders ranges our tour guide local community small community great experience above ground in town whole experience step back in time wilpena pound resort run by volunteers south australia well worth the effort enjoyable tour
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 235 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2020 via mobile

We’re a family of 2 adults & 2 kids (13 & 11) on a road trip through South Australia. Locals at Wilpena Pound Resort recommended we visit Blinman and we are so glad we did. The tour of the old copper mine was incredibly interesting to us all - fascinating to hear both the stories of the miners and also how the township in the 21st century banded together to restore the mine to show us the ways of the 19th century miners. Sally, our guide, was excellent, a lovely local Station owner working casually to enable the mine tour manager to have some time off. If you are in the Flinders Ranges, I definitely recommend you book this tour.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank Zalibali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeritgeBlinmanMine, Manager at Heritage Blinman Mine, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2020

Hello Zalibali,

Many thanks for your review, we all love keeping our history alive.

Makes us appreciate our lifestyle and comforts today,.especially on a hot summers day. The miners were cooler underground, their poor families would have had a tough time above ground!

Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2019

We recently did the underground guided Blinman mine tour and found it so interesting. Our guide Sheree was very informative about the history and geology of the mine, and it gave us a new appreciation of Blinman compared to our earlier visits before this tour opened.Congratulations to the local community who worked so hard to get this tour off the ground.

Date of experience: November 2019
Thank Karin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeritgeBlinmanMine, Manager at Heritage Blinman Mine, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2019

Hello Karin N,

Many thanks for your review and recommendation.

Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2019 via mobile

The Blinman Mine tour is a must see when visiting the Flinders Ranges. The mines history and stories of local miners and their families are brought to life by the tour guide who is passionate about Blinman and the mine. The towns people who restored the mine and set up a fabulous tourist attraction should be congratulated on a job well done. Thanks for the experience.

Date of experience: November 2019
Thank ruthwhitehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeritgeBlinmanMine, Manager at Heritage Blinman Mine, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2019

Hello ruthwhitehead,

Thank you for your recommendation and review, we enjoyed taking you on tour.

Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2019

Blinman cooper mine - Underground
Great guide very informative, how they worked in those conditions Im in awe. Please wear good hiking boots or sneakers.

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeritgeBlinmanMine, Manager at Heritage Blinman Mine, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2019

Hello Donnalee79,

Thank you for your review, it makes us thankful that we live in these times, those miners and families did t tough.

Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2019

Our mine tour guide Susan was fantastic. Ever since seeing Susan interviewed on ABC "Backroads", a trip to the Flinders Ranges including the underground tour of the historic Blinman copper mine has been on my bucket list. Susan's commentary was extremely interesting and painted a vivid picture of the horrendous working conditions the predominantly Cornish miners faced in their very dangerous work environment. Susan's expert knowledge of this mine covered many technical aspects of the mining techiques used in the late 19th century to early 20th century, the geology of the ore body that the miners were chasing and also the social aspects of the difficulties faced by the miners and their families living in this remote arid environment after leaving the lush green countryside of England. Don't miss this excellent, very professionally presented attraction in Blinman, a tiny but progressive town in the Flinders Ranges, the highest town in SA. Highly recommended!

Date of experience: November 2019
Thank Skyfox49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeritgeBlinmanMine, Manager at Heritage Blinman Mine, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2019

Hello Skyfox49,

Thank you for such a wonderful review and recommendation.

We are a passionate bunch and really love guiding tours, having fun but with adequate gravitas as befitting the harsh history of the mine and its workers.

Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews