We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (595)
Filter reviews
595 results
Traveller rating
413
139
32
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
413
139
32
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming poolon arrivalhotel guestshot tubkeswick and cockermouthcertain timeslake districthead cheffood was lovelyshort breaklovely hoteldog friendly hotelboth nightsliving rooman upgradecoffee and cakewould highly recommend this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 595 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Party of four adults stayed in the Skiddaw apartment,second year in a row staying at hotel,I can highly recommend it,from the staff to the food and accommodation it is first class,will be returning again at a later date,it really is a gem.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank tauty2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Drive up , excellent . Location and views , excellent .Hotel room , excellent . Amenities , bar and restaurant , excellent . Staff and food were outstanding . A fantastic three days .Thank you all , Chris and Maria Flynn.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mariaflynn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

The accommodation was exactly as described and the layout of the family room was ideal with our two teenagers having their own space within the Buttermere Suite. The hotel is ideally located just off the A66 and within minutes you are in Keswick, Ullswater, Cockermouth or wherever.
The food was first class, the chef being very proud of his creations, and so he should be!!
The service from the time we arrived to the time we left was some of the best we have ever experienced. The team are a credit to the owners.
Will definitely be planning a return visit and will be recommending to all.

Room Tip: Buttermere suite had excellent views
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andygjones69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Stayed with 2 night voucher given as a gift which included two main meals on first night, breakfast and use of pool/gym. Our room, the Derwent, was small but functional, comfortable and cosy. Like someone else, we did have a lot of creaky noises from floorboards above but no noise at night so slept well. The food was good and tasty and staff were friendly. Hotel is well placed for visiting Cockermouth, Keswick and the coast. We also had a lovely walk round Lake Buttermere which is about 8 miles away. Overall, I thought our stay was excellent value for money. My only slight criticism for the manager would be that the white grout round the black slate tiles in the entrance looks very grubby - I'd recommend changing it for black grout to give a better look!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank henwomanGlenrothes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Our stay was made very pleasurable by the warm and welcoming staff. We had a very comfortable one bedroom suite which was very well appointed and spotlessly clean. Although the room looked over the A66 we heard no noise from traffic, all was peace and quiet. The food was very good and the whole experience was one we look forward to repeating quite soon.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front have best views
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews