We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Value for money”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Entry is to the rear of the property. Enjoy the evening sun on the front balcony.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
6 reviews
Entry is to the rear of the property.
Enjoy the evening sun on the front balcony.
View over the street from the front balcony.
Functional kitchen.
Open plan lounge/dining area.
Lounge area with 2 seat sofa and 3 seat sofa bed.
Dining area with table that seats 6-8 people.
Master bedroom with queen size bed.
Master bedroom.
Double bedroom.
Twin bedroom with king single beds.
Bathroom with toilet, vanity and large shower.
BBQ and entertaining area overlooking the bush.
Comfy seating area on the back deck.
Outdoor deck overlooking the bush. Perfect for relaxing or entertaining.
Walking track to Box Beach from the back of the house.
Box Beach, 8 minutes walk from the house.
Don't forget to tell us about your stay in the guestbook.
Family friendly Shoal Bay beach, 15 minutes walk from the house.
The view from the top of the track down to the secluded Wreck Beach.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Shoal Bay, Port Stephens, Greater Newcastle, New South Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sarah C
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Value for money”
Reviewed 4 January 2016 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed at Whitwick Sands in the October NSW school holidays. It was a bargain for a the holiday period. Everything was clean and functional. I have paid (MUCH) more for a cabin in a caravan park in the school holidays. We had absolutely horrendous weather, but were very comfortable, thanks to good facilities, and the lovely little extras that make a place homely, like the comfy lounges the coffee machine and a few books. All were well used thanks to the weather. It was a great location too launch from to go to the Stockton Sand dunes, fabulously B-grade Toboggan land and if the weather had been kinder, the beaches. I will be sure to book again and cross my fingers for better weather!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JGao2014
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not what we signed up for.”
Reviewed 28 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Unfortunately our experience at Whitwick Sands is not what we hoped for. Quite a few things went wrong during the short stay:

1. No access to Laundry due to the wrong key for the first two days and then we had rainy days after. Because there is no dryer or even a portable clothes hanger, it made it very difficult for us to dry clothing and beach towels after washing.
2. Sewage block caused an overflow in the bathroom. Could not shower until the plumber came.
3. Ran out of hot water on Christmas eve after the air condition guy visited the house when we were out. Not sure if it’s related or a coincidence. It recovered the next day.
4. Most annoying thing is the noise from 7-8am in the morning from next door neighbour due to their renovation. This went on until Christmas eve. It really frustrated us.

It seems it's just our bad luck as suggested by the owners. What I do learn is to be very cautious booking an old house for holiday next time. It could ruin it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jan 2016
Thanks for the review James and sorry to hear you weren't happy with some of the elements of your stay. In response to your concerns we would like you to note that we do not advertise the property as having a laundry. We pushed to get the new laundry finished in time for your stay so that you could use this additional facility and thought this would have been a positive addition.

It is unfortunate that the drainage system blocked; this was due to tree roots in the system, something that could not have been foreseen. We did however call an emergency plumber and had it fixed the same day.

We are sorry you ran out of hot water. This was not related to the air conditioning. It is likely that you had a number of long showers during the day causing the hot water to run low. This is a domestic property with a normal domestic hot water tank.

Regarding the noise from the neighbour, if we had known it was causing you frustration we could have spoken to him, however this was only mentioned to us after you had left. As advertised the property is in a residential street so works can and do happen.

Again, we apologise that Whitwick Sands did not live up to your expectations but we feel we provide an honest representation of the property and it?s features on the Tripadvisor advertisement.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryony M
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, perfect visit”
Reviewed 31 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Whitwick for 5 nights as an extension to our holiday of a lifetime to Sydney from the UK. What a stunning place. Australian quirkiness with lovingly renovated furniture so you really know you're near to the beach. The beds were super comfy so we all slept brilliantly (even the dining table proved comfy enough to sleep at for one of the kids after all that sea air wore them out!)
We grown-ups spent the evenings sitting on the lovely relaxing seating on the balcony, drinking wine (purchased in Hunter Valley on the way to Shoal Bay from Sydney), listening to the local wildlife and enjoying the ambient lighting (& being grateful for the fly screen that encloses the balcony.)
There are a choice of beaches- Halifax (5 mins drive) is perfect for swimming at sunset and watching the pelicans. Box Bay is 8 minutes walk and great for surfing or jumping over the waves. Shoal Bay itself is calm and sandy and the kids spent the whole day swimming here. Less than 5 mins drive away or 20 minute walk (downhill, so the return can be a slog with tired little ones)
We went out on a boat from D'Alboro Marina (12 mins drive) and found dolphins and did a four wheel drive tour on the sand dunes, including sand-boarding. I would recommend both.
There are plenty of shops near by so you won't have a long trek for amenities.

We would most definitely recommend a stay at Whitwick sands...there is even wifi, big flat screen tv and coffee machine (& a swing in the garden force kids) what more could you ask for?!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jan 2016
Hi Bryony,

Thanks for your review. We're so pleased you had a great time.

Regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate E
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home away from home!”
Reviewed 1 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Fantastic house! Beautifully furnished and very well equipped kitchen (loved the coffee machine!) The big deck and BBQ area over looking the bush was amazing. Only 5 minutes walk from box beach. Shoal bay is a cute little town with everything you need. Will definitely be returning to whitwick sands!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jan 2016
Hi Kate,

So pleased to hear you had a great time at Whitwick Sands.

Regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing