We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Reading Room House

5 metre wide bi-fold doors for indoor/outdoor living
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
5 metre wide bi-fold doors for indoor/outdoor living
Let the sunsine in!!! High spec kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
5 metre wide bi-fold doors for indoor/outdoor living
Let the sunsine in!!!
High spec kitchen
Large dining table for 6
Underfloor heating throughout
Superking or twin bedroom with en-suite wetroom.
Beautiful Elan Valley
canoe on the River Wye
Stunning Elan Valley
Gilfach Nature reserve
Walk or cycle around the Elan Valley dams
One of the Elan Valley dams
Enchanting Woodland Walks
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Newbridge-on-Wye, Llandrindod Wells, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
tpeach198...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

An amazing place to stay, Diane & Graham made us feel very welcome as soon as we arrived.
The reading room house is such a great place to stay, a very clean beautiful house with views that I can still picture now! I already miss the place. I will definitely be going back and would recommend to everyone I know.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jun 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments. Glad you appreciate our beautiful surroundings and hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How everything that we needed was there - just perfect.
Liked least: Only the issue with Tesco but this had nothing to do with the cottage or Diane & Graham.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JeanetteR...
Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Relaxing in pure 5* luxury”
Reviewed 14 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

This accommodation well deserves its 5 star status. It was immaculate and we had everything we needed and more. We were left a lovely cream tea on arrival with home made scones, fresh bread, homemade jam and cream. Not forgetting the bottle of wine!
We had a wonderful week, the weather was mixed but we were never cold in he bungalow. It was modern but still cozy, we took advantage of the puzzles and games provided. We had two teenage boys with us and having wifi was great for them.
The walks nearby are beautiful and we would recommend going to watch the kites being fed. 300 kites flying over head was an experience we won't forget. The dams and walks around the Élan Valley should be seen, fantastic!
All in all a brilliant week and we would recommend this property as a base for exploring the local areas. It is very quiet with only a few shops nearby but perfect for walkers, cyclists or just to switch off from busy lives. We would go again at a drop of a hat!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Modern contemporary style
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Apr 2014
Thank you for all your lovely comments and we would love to see you all again soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bobandliz...
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unbeatable 5 star accomodation”
Reviewed 10 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Stayed in the Reading Room for a weeks winter break and was totally astounded by the high level of accommodation. Flat screen TV's in bedrooms and lounge, fully fitted kitchen with all built in appliances, underfloor heating in all rooms, luxurious beds, fantastic bathrooms, in fact everything you could wish for in a holiday home. And as well as the big things the little things were all there. WiFi, a welcome pack, extra bedding ( which we never needed ), all the kitchen condiments, spare toilet rolls, etc., etc. Words alone cannot describe the high quality in the Reading Room, and I cannot recommend it enough. Well done and thanks Diane and Graham, we will see you again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The luxury, comfort, cleanliness and high standards in the property.
Liked least: Nothing. There is nothing not to like in the property.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Apr 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for all your lovely comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
disgruntl...
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 4 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Just returned from a fantastic week in this amazing accomodation,it has every thing you could possibly wish for,it is spotlessley clean and equiped with every thing you need. Diane and Graham do a welcome pack which is Yummy!!!!

The attention to detail in this property is spot on. Thank you Diane and Graham for a very enjoyable stay in The Reading Room.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I couldnt choose just one thing it was all great
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Oct 2013
We are very glad you enjoyed your week here. Thank You
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing