We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveller rating
69
1
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
69
1
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews one night bloody mary wonderful welsh cockles warm welcome antique furniture b bs couple of nights fresh fruit two night stay an evening meal annie hosts restoration beams walks lounge
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 74 reviews
Reviewed 23 November 2015

This is not an ordinary B&B and so much the better for it. The house is in a fantastic position in one of the most beautiful parts of the country. You cross a couple of fields (on decent tracks) to get there, so trust your satnav. It is very ancient but has all the amenities you might expect or hope for. Lovely antique furniture, big bedroom, big bathroom, fantastic breakfast etc. If you stay for dinner expect excellent food in your own private panelled dining room (both Annie and John are very interested in food and cooking). You can sit and chat with Annie and John by the fire who are delightful and interesting or retire to your room.
Some people will be familiar with old houses and will love it but I can imagine if you are from abroad staying would be a fantastic experience.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2015

Situated off the beaten track with access via a rough track through 2 fields, at Hafod y Garreg you experience what it says on the tin. Welcoming hosts, a warm and comfortable old cottage in an isolated position. The dinners that Annie produced were excellent, served with humour by John who also produced an excellent breakfast each morning. The rooms were very comfortable with all facilities and they welcomed our dogs in the cottage. A log fire greeted us each evening as we relaxed before dinner. Well worth a visit

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mumblesman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annie M, Owner at Hafod-Y-Garreg, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2015

You imply that you literally have to drive across fields, whereas in fact it is partly tarmac and partly compressed stone bridleway, passing through two fields, just to add, we have a sports car live here and therefore use it all the time.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and were comfortable.\we also enjoyed your company.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2015

Want to get away from it all this is definately the place to go..I booked this birthday getaway for my partner Adrians birthday and boy was I suprised. the overwelming views was breathtaking..Annie was a wealth of knolwedge on where to go and what to see,sitting down to one of her evening meals is an occasion that would make the best of chefs trimble with delight ...but the ultimate experience is the quick whit of john who not only is on point with his breakfast dishes can keep pace with the most quick witted trill seekers. Annie and John offers the highlight in midevil decor ....this little b&b is an ablsolut joy to experience.Thank you Annie and John for making our stay so special..

From Carl , Adrian And( Monty....the dog)

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carl p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2015

A true gem in the hills. From the moment we arrived at Hafod Y Garreg the warm welcolm we received from Annie & John was equal to the warmth from the log fire burning away. The house is stunning with period furniture and beautiful tapestries hanging on the wall. Our bedroom and bathroom didnt disappoint with both being exquisite.The breakfasts cooked by John were delicious, his fantastic humour and personality was top notch. The evening meals cooked by Annie especially on my birthday were incredible and along with being served in the majestic dining room made my birthday very special.
We arrived in the evening so it wasnt until the next morning that we were greeted with the beautiful views from the house.
The whole experience of our short stay at Hafod Y Garreg was incredible and Annie & John were amazing, we were given lots of tips and advice of local attractions/ places to go for walks and things to do.
Another bonus which made the trip very special for us was we could take our dog Monty with us and he loved all the long walks.
Would highly recommend this stunning and peaceful guest house, we have already told all our family and friends about this gem.
Carl, Monty and myself we definately be visiting there again in the future.
Thank you Annie and John

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Adrian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2015

Set in beautiful countryside, Hafod y Garreg is a far cry from a hotel or a guest house for that matter, it is more like staying at the home of a good friend, though this home has been around for over 600 years. Built in 1402 as a hunting lodge for Henry IV it oozes character and it requires little imagination to transport yourself back to those times. The rooms have the original beams, authentic furniture with interesting tapestries and samplers, yet there were all the modern amenities you should require. A roaring log fire not only kept the place lovely and warm but added to the atmospheric character of the house.

John and Annie were first class hosts and I was amazed by the amount of effort that had gone into preparing our five course gourmet dinner, it must have taken a long time to prepare and it was of the standard you would expect in a first class restaurant with a breakfast to match.

John and Annie are welcoming, friendly and interesting people who make you feel at home the moment you arrive. You should book up soon, just in case they win the lottery and decide to retire.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank RevJames2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews