We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful relaxing place to stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Montignac, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
David T
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful relaxing place to stay”
Reviewed 19 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Great reception from owners, who prepared an evening meal for us in readiness.
Property was well equipped, and spotlessly clean.
Location was excellent - very quiet, yet only a few minutes from the local town, which had everything you needed for getting provisions etc.
Will most definitely look for return again in future.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2016
Thank you for the kind words.
It was great having you here as our guests. We are looking forward to see you here again in the future.
Kind regards,
Jan and Elly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim P
Chelmsford, England
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Absolutely Perfect”
Reviewed 26 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
3
people found this review helpful

We cannot rate this gite too highly.

Jan and Elly, the owners were perfect hosts, from the chat and drink upon arrival, to the lovely meal provided on our first night and through their cheery chats and advice offered throughout our stay.

The gite is built and furnished to a very high standard, and has everything you would need during your stay.

The setting is very peaceful, very quiet, with the sounds of the birds or a nearby tractor being all you can hear most of the time.

The outside area is very well thought out. A lovely private area for having meals, a private grassed area (with shaded areas to avoid the sun if you wish) and a table and chairs in the inner courtyard to enable you to mix with the second gite and Jan/Elly if you want to catch the evening sun.

The pool is really good, overlooking fields. It is a good size and is kept spotlessly clean.

Inside the property there is a large ownstairs double room with a very comfortable bed, a separate twin room upstairs, an excellent shower room, a separate downstairs toilet and a lovely lounge/kitchen area.

The kitchen has everything you need during your stay, enabling you to eat in if you don't wish to try any of the numerous lovely local restaurants.

It is close enough to Montignac (10 mins drive), to let you pop there to pick up your bread of whatever you need if you intend to spend the day at the property.

Jan and Elly have worked incredibly hard to create two stunning gites, and these are well worth booking.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jun 2016
Thank you!
Kind words from kind guests. Hope to see you back in our little paradise called la Penoterie-Dordogne.
Kind regards, Jan and Elly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
youngoggy...
Hull
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Just Perfect.”
Reviewed 12 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

What a beautiful place to spend a very relaxing week! Jan and Elly have done a great job on renovating this former wine and tobacco farm and created a peaceful haven from the world. The property is down a single track road around 3 miles from the historic town of Montignac, its set in a rural farming area and has great views across the countryside. The peace and quiet were exactly what we were looking for.
The Gites are set around a courtyard with another property opposite and the owners house. Ours had been renovated around two years ago to a very high standard and had everything you would need for an enjoyable stay. The owners are Dutch and had brought high quality fixtures and fittings from Holland which gave the house a quality feel. Downstairs there is a well equipped kitchen, diner and living area. A toilet and master bedroom with a really comfy bed!
Upstairs in the mezzanine area there are two single beds and a well equipped wet room. All quality towels and bedding is included.
Although the owners live on site they aren't intrusive and were very friendly and welcoming. They have set up the courtyard so that if you feel like socialising you can or you have your own private outdoor seating around the back if you don't.
On arrival we were treated to welcome drinks and a chat about the property and the area and also Elly had a made us a wonderful Coq Au Vin meal with salad and fresh bread which was really welcome after a long drive with hungry kids.
I had a "big" birthday while we were there and on returning from a day out I found bunting, balloons and a really nice card. How thoughtful!
Down the small hill the property sits on is the shared pool area which is good size, fairly new and really clean. There is an outside shower and decked area with sunbeams for everyone. Great for falling asleep on as found out a few times!
There is a washing machine on site and an iron and also free wifi around the property.
I cycle and had brought my bike across as there is some great riding along the Vezere river. Jan gave me a place to store it and been a keen cyclist himself was able to point me in the direction of some great rides, but beware its hilly!
Overall we had a fantastic stay at the Gite, its a great base to explore or to spend some peaceful time reading, swimming or sun bathing. The area is beautiful and the Gites are surrounded by farm land with views across the fields and walnut trees. Elly and Jan are great hosts and speak really good english. They made sure our stay was memorable and we would love to return one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and old buildings
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Oct 2015
Thanks for your kind words.
It was realy nice having you as our guests.

Hope to see you again at La Penoterie-Dordogne.
Jan and Elly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XcellentS...
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“wonderful relaxing gite with perfect hosts”
Reviewed 20 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

during the heatwave my family stayed at this wonderfully renovated but still so charming gite just outside of Montignac. Elly and Jan have created a beautiful gite which has all mod cons but still maintains the wonderful rustic charm of the region. Our teenagers loved the pool, of course the wifi and we loved the location which was so relaxing and with such interesting sites to visit if you wished to. The culinary delights were superb as were the cooking facilities at the gite if you wished to cook. A wonderful surprise was our welcoming dinner prepared and ready for us by Elly who is a wonderful cook. We enjoyed many digestifs outside our gite tasting the local produce and wine....perfect in every way. Hope to return soon. Thank you so much Elly and Jan.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the hospitality of the hosts and the comfort of the gite
Liked least: just the heatwave
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2015
Thank you for the kind words! It was a pleasure having you here as our guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pat0002
Victoria, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“If you find a better place than this, let me know….”
Reviewed 4 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Surrounded by fields of maize, walnut tree orchards, pasture with grazing cattle, and forrest, this property is only ten minutes from Montignac. The gite is one of several buildings on the property. The owners, Jan and Elly live in one house, a slightly bigger gite has just opened and there are various other sheds and a well maintained swimming pool and deck. There is a substantial vegetable and flower garden from which we were invited to pick delicious raspberries. Jan and Elly are a great team. Jan has rebuilt the property single-handedly with an expert touch. He tirelessly worked on the new gite during our visit. It is now finished and I would love to book it, as well as return to “our” cottage one day. Elly had a cooked chicken dish waiting for our first meal, and she delivered a fresh salad to accompany it. It was a thoughtful touch. All our needs were anticipated. The cooking utensils, linen, furniture and appliances were all of high quality. The place was spotlessly clean. The property provided a perfect base from which to explore the area. There are many interesting places to visit within a half day’s drive, or closer: Le Gouffre De Proymeyssac, Dordogne River, Montpazier, La-Roque-Saint-Christophe, Chateau de Monbazillac, local restaurants, Lascaux 11 Cave, and so much more. Montignac has a large supermarket which has a good number of French wine as well as a wide selection of fresh food, and the town has several patisseries and boulangeries. The local markets are a must. The only thing missing was the vineyards – you will have to travel to Monbazillac for that.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the whole property
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Sep 2015
Thank you very much for your review. We blush it!
You descripe our estate as we had intended it to be.

kind regards, Jan and Elly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing