We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What's not to like?”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
25 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Hawksnest Bay, St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
cranpaull
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What's not to like?”
Reviewed 12 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Top notch! Short walk down the hill to great snorkeling and a beautiful beach. Comfortable house. Functional kitchen and grill, great veranda, and a great view. Because the windows have shutters and screens but no glass, people who are not used to the sounds of frogs and other night critters might have a hard time sleeping but we loved it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carwhite
Neptune, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Loved Kallaloo”
Reviewed 12 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Kallaloo was a wonderful base for my family's week in St. John. We all had comfortable bedrooms (though one was on the small side). The house was stocked with everything we needed. The pool and covered patio were favorite hang-outs. And the location was perfect. We were easily able to get to Cruz Bay and loved being able to walk down to Gibney Beach.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Size of 3rd bedroom
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy358
Smithfield, Rhode Island
Level 6 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a Caribbean Home should Feel Like”
Reviewed 31 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We have rented from Catered To many times over the years and we have always been very satisfied with the level of service. Friendly, accommodating, and they fulfill requests, so great company to work with.
I would classify this as a comfortable beach home more than a "villa." The large covered porch with comfortable wicker furniture was hard to leave. Also on the porch was a large wooden dining table where most nights we had our dinner. Just a few steps down was fantastic pool area, small round table and chairs, lounge chairs and very warm pool which I adored! Coffee on that porch every morning was how we began our day while we decided what we were going to do. I have to admit, I probably could have just sat on the porch and floated in the pool, but being directly across the street from Gibney was the reason we rented there, so would be ashame not to take advantage of that convenience! Which we did, quick walk down with beach chair and noodle, not a bad walk up, just take your time. There is a path right from the house but driveway was just as easy.
Two spacious bedrooms directly off covered porch that my two friends used, then another smaller bedroom of living area of main house that we used. All have their own bathrooms and showers. Living room had two couches and satellite TV which we barely used.
We did have a couple of maintenance issues, (oven didn't work mid-way through, and washer didn't fully spin clothing), however, repair man only comes out on Monday's. And, when he did come he didn't have parts necessary to repair appliances. The oven was the biggest issue because we were planning on cooking baked stuffed shrimp that night. Oh well, it's vacation, so roll with it.
No AC, but all rooms had ceiling fans and stand up fans in bedrooms so we didn't really miss AC, I didn't think it was as warm this summer as in past summer's, so that might have been it. Not sure, but even at home we are not huge AC people. We have rented homes on STJ with and without AC and seldom (if ever) use AC, but I know there are others that require it for health reasons.
We usually stay in Coral Bay, but this home had been on our "short list" for many years, we loved the convenience to Cruz Bay and my GF and I found any excuse to go into town right around 3PM to dump trash or pick up supplies, and all those trips were accompanied with side trips to Joe's Rum Hut or High Tide to enjoy Happy Hour specials!
Overall, great location, comfortable, clean and I would rent it again. And, if we ever need 5 bedrooms would consider renting Terrahawk along with it which is right next door.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Porch, pool, location
Liked least: maintenance issues
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MA
Reviewed 15 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
glwgers
Oakton, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous Location......Property not so Great!”
Reviewed 27 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Six of us stayed at this villa this month. We had previously stayed at Terrahawk next door but since we needed 3 bedrooms this time, not two, we booked Kallaloo. The location is wonderful, walk to Gibney/Oppenheimer beach....fabulous. The old Oppenheimer property has been deeded a 'Community Center" and had been booked for a wedding the day after we arrived. The music was horribly loud and lasted for a few hours making it impossible to relax at the property. The property is pretty buggy and since there had been quite a lot of rain the week before, everything in the house felt damp. We enjoyed St John but would be reluctant to stay at Kalllaloo in future, it could use some updating and the screens seemed pretty ineffective in keeping the bugs out.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Dec 2013
Thank you for the review of your vacation. We are sorry to hear that your expectations were not met. Unfortunately the weather, mosquitoes and National Park rental policies regarding noise at the Oppenheimer Pavilion for private events are all beyond our control and that of the villa. It had been raining for several days prior to your arrival and the island was very wet, which resulted in the presence of mosquitoes. Although the screens were inspected upon your departure, and all were in working order, there is simply no way to prevent every bug from entering a villa. We hope that your next villa experience will be more pleasant.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
No pets
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing