We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hanmer Apartments(Hanmer Springs)(Great Value!)
USD 98
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hanmer Springs Retreat(Hanmer Springs)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 105
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Larchwood Motel(Hanmer Springs)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpine Garden Motel(Hanmer Springs)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Settlers Motel(Hanmer Springs)
USD 101
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tussock Peak Motor Lodge(Hanmer Springs)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpine Springs Motel(Hanmer Springs)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glenalvon Lodge Motel and B&B(Hanmer Springs)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harrogate Gardens Motel(Hanmer Springs)(Great Value!)
USD 99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (12)
Filter reviews
12 results
Traveller rating
4
3
4
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
4
3
4
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 12 reviews
Reviewed 15 December 2015

I have been to this restaurant 3 times, unfortunately it has been organised by other people so I had no choice but each time the food has been very average and the prices high. I would never choose this restaurant.
It may be fine for overseas visitors as the $ would not be so high for them so would make it a reasonable price.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2015

Found this place by accident when we needed a coffee. Try the scones, huge and fresh, just out of the oven. Lovely chat to Barb and so wished we had found this place the night before and stayed in a cottage. Magical setting near the vines

Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank EAS509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2014

Great 3 days spent relaxing in the beautifully appointed Colonial cottage "Jesses". Beautiful bathroom and luxuriously appointed. Absolutely wonderful views over the vineyard to the landscape beyond through modern double glazed windows. We visit 3 or 4 times a year the Cafe/Restaurant for a lunch and absolutely love the curly chips, the fish was fresh and delicious. Heat pump for those who feel the cold.

You are left alone with no interruption for cleaning/servicing unit each day. No clean towels each day which makes it environmentally friendly. Ideally placed to see the region with Hanmer a half hour drive down the road.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VeeDub1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

The Hurunui Village offers the perfect weekend getaway :) My partner and I stayed at Megs Cottage for 2 x nights. Such a beautiful cottage, lovely and warm with everything you need. The bed, claw bath and large shower were amazing. We ate at the restaurant as well and it was brilliant - true kiwi homecooked meals. Lovely wine too from their own vineyard. Will definately be back and will spread the word to not only our Chch friends but our travelling buddies abroad.

Room Tip: Either cottage would be brilliant
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KazzaMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

My husband and I stayed 1 night in one of the beautiful cottages the day we flew into Christchurch. Hurunui was a very easy 1 hr drive north from the airport. The cottage was new, spacious, well equiipped, extremely comfortable, very clean with lovely linen and towels and the owners were very welcoming. As we were there on a Friday the Cafe was open for dinner and we were able to stroll down, through the vines, for an early dinner sitting outside enjoying the view. The Cafe did open for breakfast at 9am but we wanted to make a reasonably early start north. Milk and tea and coffee are provided in the cottage but it would have been even better if a self serve breakfast box could have been an optional extra. We would highly recommend this is an excellent overnight stop for anyone wanting to be within easy reach of Christchurch

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CherryF359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews