We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Lyzzick Hall Hotel(Under Skiddaw)
USD 214
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 217
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 306
USD 283
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 234
USD 218
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lodore Falls Hotel(Borrowdale)
USD 306
USD 295
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
USD 255
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel(Grange-in-Borrowdale)
USD 242
USD 234
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (643)
Filter reviews
643 results
Traveller rating
554
59
21
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
554
59
21
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden roomtasting menuwhinlatter forestred squirrelslake districtrestaurant with roomswhinlatter passwet roomfollowing morningon arrivalmichelin starsmall hotelamuse bouchewonderful foodfine diningout of this worldwine flight
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 643 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2017

We stayed here in the Garden room.Well thought out space and large comfy bed.
We thought our evening meal was one of the best we have had in a long time. Staff and owner were friendly and efficient.
Enjoyed watching the wildlife from our bedroom window

Room Tip: Garden room is outside main building but very private.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maggiefearon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile

The cottage in the woods is a really beautiful place to stay. The scenery is simply stunning! Rooms are pleasant, comfortable and spotless. We had the taster menu in the restaurant with wine suggestions and cheese platter. The food was stunning! Staff were really attentive and knowledgable about the menu selections. Restaurant manager Monica was excellent, Cathy the owner is simply a first class hostess and top marks to the Chef! It would be a privilege to come here again and stay and I really hope we do!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017

The magic of this place really lies in the setting. You are on the Whinlatter pass - a great drive, but not too steep - in the middle of England's only mountain forest. It's stunning. As you sit in the restaurant for breakfast you're greeted (on a clear day) with views of Skiddaw and some resident red squirrels. All around you, the sound of birds and wildlife and the wind whistling through the trees. For an outdoor lover, it's brilliant. It's so much wilder than the South Lakes too - a real feeling of adventure.

The room we chose was very small - I would say a bit too small for the value - but we were only using it a walker's base. I'm guessing the majority of people staying at the hotel are doing the same. They provide a good selection of walks to look at with graded difficulties, and even offer to make packed lunches for you. They are obviously aware that it is a bit remote, although it's only really a 10-minute drive to Keswick.

The service is generally good, although the staff are a little bit odd. I wouldn't say that they are rude, but you don't get much change out of them in conversation. We ate in the restaurant one night - it has good reviews so we went for the tasting menu. I have to say that it was one of the more disappointing tasting menus I have eaten - not to say that it was bad, but for the price I think I had the right to set my expectations a lot higher.

Overall, it's a lovely location but let down a bit by the price to quality ratio of the food and the size of the rooms. Next time we are in the North Lakes, we will stay in the Kirkstile Inn; better value, much better food, similarly beautiful surroundings.

Room Tip: If you're going to stay here, spend a bit more on a bigger room.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank richardsimonson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017

We celebrated my birthday here over a long weekend in early July 17. Our room was decent - a small, spotlessly clean Cottage room, with all the standard amenities. However the magic of this place lies in its food, its view and its people. We ate from the normal menu one night and did the tasting menu another. The meal from the normal menu was superb. The tasting menu meal was utterly astonishing. Beautifully presented food in well-judged portion sizes, with imaginative touches (goat's cheese ice cream, anyone?), perfect flavour combinations and some unusual textures. I wouldn't call myself a foodie, but this meal made me want to become one. Both the lovely waitress who served our food, and Liam the owner who brought the matched wine, were happy to answer all of our questions about the food and drink respectively. Savouring that extraordinary meal at leisure, in relaxed, unpretentious surroundings and with a tremendous view of Skiddaw, was very special indeed. When you go, which I recommend that you do, keep an eye out for red squirrels, bank voles and plenty of bird life in the well-tended garden below the terrace. Oh, and there's just the little matter of some of the best hikes and views in the land right on the doorstep - the Coldale Horseshoe gets our vote for a strenuous Wainwright-peak-bagging day.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LaurainLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017 via mobile

A gem in the forest. Personal treatment throughout our visit. Small hotel with real charm maintained by the owners. Very tastefully decorated making excellent use of natural materials and colour schemes. Food was excellent in the restaurant in the evening and a hearty well cooked breakfast in the morning. Nothing was too much trouble for this hard working staff. An excellent base for access to all that the Lake District had to offer. For us it was an over night treat at a venue we will use again in future only 20 minutes from our doorstep. Thank you for your hospitality.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Andrea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews