We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit, If you´re in that area”
Review of Esca Grill

Esca Grill
Ranked #1 of 138 Restaurants in Moonee Ponds
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 24 August 2018

Service started on a high level, but seemed like there was to many orders for the staff, so in the end a few of our orders was forgotten.

For mains do remember to order sides, since the menu described salad/vegetables was only garnish.
Quality of the food is way above medium. So overall a fine experience.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mmfGZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (321)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 11 of 321 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile

We went to Esca Grill on a recommendation from a freind great seafood great meals and steak and awesome desserts.
My hubby had the special scampi and I had scollops we also had oysters then we both had different cut of steak which where amazing and desert I had the golden egg which was amazing and my hubby has homemade tartofo. Great meal great service also with a fantastic wine list.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank fionav199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018 via mobile

My wife and daughter went to ESCA Grill in Moonee Ponds on Saturday night . When we booked the person asked if we minded coming after 8:30 pm . I was wondering why !!! . Well ...when we got there the place was heaving . People everywhere, waiters whizzing around holding plates stacked with mouth watering steaks and seafood. I was reminded of the movie Dinner Rush.

The maître’d asked if we could take a seat at the bar , we might be waiting a few minutes . After 10 mins he came over apologetically and said can I buy you a glass of wine the table may be a little while longer . ...No problems ..it’s Saturday we said .

We got to our table a lovely booth , roomy , big table . The waiter was over to us immediately, what a professional!!!!!

We ordered seafood starters and steaks for main .
The wine list is comprehensive, with some aged stuff on the list very reasonably priced .
With in 15 mins the entre’s were out .

Oysters Natural ...very fresh . Baby calamari stuffed with a whole Tiger prawn ..spectacular. Sweet and spicy .
Grilled Quail, absolutely came away from the bone , juicy in an unusual wine jus . It was gone almost bones and all.

Then came the steaks ,,no wonder this place is busy.

The meat was cooked perfectly, the char was just enough to enhance the flavour , we cut our 450 g Rib Eye with a butter knife . Obviously so well aged , that cooking it was a mere formality, and we didn’t have to take out a mortgage to pay for them .

Dessert we noticed a big bowl of Tiramisu doing its rounds . SOLD .. It reminded me of the good old days of Marchetti’s Latin.
Well we were not disappointed, my daughter who is not really a cake , cream , liqueur coffee type of dessert eater finished hers and started on mine . Enough said . It was exactly like the one we used to enjoy at Marchetti all those years ago.

Congratulations ESCA . Classic dining is still alive .

Date of visit: July 2018
2  Thank 442cp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2018

Esca Grill is always excellent. It has managed to maintain it's high quality food and service over the years and it never disappoints. The only thing is that we should frequent it more often!
The service is outstanding. From Dom and Anthony front of house and Anthony in the kitchen everything is professional and welcoming.
The bbq king prawns are always a hit and the steaks are cooked to perfection.
The wine list (Anthony is a great sommelier) is also excellent.
5 stars.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jenni L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

We went to this restaurant as a celebration for the sale of a house. We found the atmosphere very quiet and enjoyable. We rang ahead to see if there was a dress code as we realised that the prices for the food were on the costly side. Once there we were welcomed inside by one of the waiters and seated in a booth along one wall. There were 4 people in our group and the service was prompt and the food delicious. All of us commented on the food we had eaten and we all agreed it was delicious and cooked to perfection. Our waiter was very good at refilling the water and ensuring we had enjoyed the food and attended to our drinks on a regular basis. They have bread made by the cook that day served on the table and when we had each eaten a slice were provided with more together with extra butter. This was unasked for but a treat as the bread was fabulous. We told the waiter who passed the message of praise to the cook. The prices for the main meal were what I would call a bit costly but the service and the atmosphere and the food made us feel like we got what we paid for. Average cost for our meals (mains) was between $33 to $45. We decided to have sweets and were blown away by a deconstructed Cheese Cake with Coulis and Marshmallow that was amazing the sweets cost around $12 but I felt it was a bargin for the mix of flavours and so did everyone else. All in all a good place to celebrate a special occasion, if you are willing to pay for the service and great food you will be on a winner with this restaurant. We all had jeans and shirts no ties and there was no dress standard requirement. If you want a less costly place, remember you get what you pay for. The only real drawback with the place is that it is hard to find a parking space at mid day.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Esca Grill also viewed

Essendon, Moonee Valley
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Ascot Vale, Moonee Valley
 

Been to Esca Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing