We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Beautiful Ruins, but everything else mediocre

The tour organization is mediocre at best. My friends and I bought tickets for the half day... read more

Reviewed 26 September 2018
stwfang
,
New York, New York, United States
Excellent Tour

When you visit a place like Delos it really enforces how young a country Australia is. To see the... read more

Reviewed 31 July 2018
Hendo01
,
Gerringong, Australia
via mobile
Read all 19 reviews
  
Reviews (19)
Filter reviews
19 results
Traveller rating
4
5
5
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4
5
5
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews our tour guide bc ferry information island
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 19 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2018 via mobile

When you visit a place like Delos it really enforces how young a country Australia is. To see the remains of a town from 300 BC or perhaps earlier is amazing. Our tour guide spoke sound English and was very knowledgeable about all related matters. But if you require a language other than English then there are most others catered for. Get the ferry from Old Port in Mykonos to Delos and it’s a nice 40 min run with the return journey and tour guide included. Take your own bottled water as it can get hot. Only one cafeteria on the island which serves limited foods. Well worth the 50 Euros for around half a day.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Hendo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018 via mobile

We had 2 days on Mykonos with a 1/2 day tour to Delos. I guess the first thing I would say is that both destinations highly recommend, but get there early in the season when foot traffic is reasonable, from what we were told at the height of the season it’s just wall-to-wall people in the tight twisting streets of the island.

The south side beaches are a must see and do, the water (while a bit cold) were beautiful clear and magical

A special mention has t go out to Alexia...... While in Mykonos the 1/2 day trip to Delos is wonderful excursion. We had a great tour guide Alexia, always with a smile, always helpful, and smart as a whip, if you’re put into her group consider yourself lucky. I would recommend the afternoon tour over the morning just because you might get to see the sunset on the boat ride back to Mykonos!!

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018 via mobile

My wife and I both agree that Delos was the highlight of our trip to Greece.our tour guide, Alexia, brought the story of the island to life, explaining the turbulent history and day to day life of it's inhabitants. She made it extra special.

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank Blackskulldragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

We booked and paid for the trip through our hotel The Korali it was meant to include a guided tour of the island once we got of the boat we approached the guide showed her our receipt and was told that we couldn’t join the tour since we hadn’t been given a sticker after much complaining she handed us some entrance tickets and abandoned us at the port.

We called our hotel who called the company back and forth which took about an hour they all said that we should find the guide and insist that they include us . At this point it was like looking for a needle in a haystack. So we had to try and make our way round on our own. It was all very disappointing since you really need a guide to work out what is what.

Top tip don’t bother paying for an organised trip through Delos Travel just buy a return boat ticket at the port and as soon as you get of the boat pay the waiting local guide 10euros and join their trip which is what we should have done instead of trying to resolve things with Delos Travel who clearly didn’t care since they already had our money.

I do still think it’s definitely worth visiting the site but be cautious about handing over your money to unscrupulous hotels and tour companies who clearly don’t care about honouring their contract with you .

Date of experience: October 2017
1  Thank BayswaterMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017 via mobile

If you have been to the ruins of Ephesus, Pompeii or Herculaneum you would find the tour to Delos Island very average at best. With the others you can meander your way around on your own and find sufficient information to know what you are looking at. At Delos information was minimal unless you took the guided tour. There were lots of guests who travelled over on our boat and one must wonder what they invest their earnings in. Other than the museum the rest was poorly represented

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Hoodie562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews