We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”

The Box on the Water
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Fresh modern Australian cuisine in a prime waterfront location with panoramic views. Open for lunch daily 12-3pm. Dinner Thursday - Monday 6-9pm. Bar menu Friday - Sunday 3-6pm with happy hour 4-5pm. Cafe & garden bar open daily 7-4pm. Licensed. Closed Christmas Day & Boxing Day only.
Reviewed 26 March 2024 via mobile

The best view in the world. It rivals most of Europe’s offerings.
Service professional & friendly yet not invasive.
My friend and I enjoyed & shared the duck pate & fish and chips. The hunter valley Chardonnay was delicious.
This is a place that is accessible, affordable and a tick in every Box!

Date of visit: March 2024
Thank nomisesorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (831)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 831 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2024 via mobile

This is in the best location, right on the water. It has a fantastic menu. Great cocktail menu and awesome food menu. The staff were very professional and friendly .
A definite must, if you are in. Ettalong.

Date of visit: February 2024
Thank Anita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 January 2024 via mobile

This is the 4th time we have been this glorious restaurant since 2017.
It has never failed to deliver.
Excellent menu.
Impeccable service.
Outstanding location.
This time we went early evening so we could watch the water as the sun went down.. truly stunning.
Will definitely be back next time we visit Woy Woy from the UK. X

Date of visit: January 2024
Thank Liesje T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 January 2024

Lovely beachfront restaurant. Delicious food, cooked to perfection. Wait staff attentive but not intrusive. Could do with a couple of fans, but otherwise no issues.

Date of visit: December 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sharon and mick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 December 2023 via mobile

We dined at this restaurant as a couple for dinner. We ordered two seafood paellas at $39 each. Found the meals very watery, small serves (we ordered large main serves) and lacking flavour. Seafood was limited to 4 mussels and 3 prawns. Chorizo was tough and lacked the smokey flavour of quality chorizo. Ordered the crème brûlée for dessert. Top of the brûlée offered a good crack but the custard was again very runny and the addition of the baileys cream didn’t really improve on the original version. All in all $150 for 2 mains, 1 dessert and one of the cheaper bottles of wine wasn’t great value for the quantity and quality of the food we received. Service was fine but not great - we had to refresh our own wine glasses during dinner. The restaurant’s amazing water views can’t outweigh an ordinary meal unfortunately. Disappointing, as we have been here several times over recent years and this was undoubtedly the least impressive food we’ve had.

Date of visit: December 2023
Thank klewi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed The Box on the Water also viewed

Ettalong Beach, New South Wales
Ettalong Beach, New South Wales
 
Ettalong Beach, New South Wales
Ettalong Beach, New South Wales
 

Been to The Box on the Water? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.