We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food, great experience”

The Box on the Water
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Fresh modern Australian cuisine in a prime waterfront location with panoramic views. Open for lunch daily 12-3pm. Dinner Thursday - Monday 6-9pm. Bar menu Friday - Sunday 3-6pm with happy hour 4-5pm. Cafe & garden bar open daily 7-4pm. Licensed. Closed Christmas Day & Boxing Day only.
Reviewed 14 January 2024

Lovely beachfront restaurant. Delicious food, cooked to perfection. Wait staff attentive but not intrusive. Could do with a couple of fans, but otherwise no issues.

Date of visit: December 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sharon and mick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (831)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 831 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2023 via mobile

We dined at this restaurant as a couple for dinner. We ordered two seafood paellas at $39 each. Found the meals very watery, small serves (we ordered large main serves) and lacking flavour. Seafood was limited to 4 mussels and 3 prawns. Chorizo was tough and lacked the smokey flavour of quality chorizo. Ordered the crème brûlée for dessert. Top of the brûlée offered a good crack but the custard was again very runny and the addition of the baileys cream didn’t really improve on the original version. All in all $150 for 2 mains, 1 dessert and one of the cheaper bottles of wine wasn’t great value for the quantity and quality of the food we received. Service was fine but not great - we had to refresh our own wine glasses during dinner. The restaurant’s amazing water views can’t outweigh an ordinary meal unfortunately. Disappointing, as we have been here several times over recent years and this was undoubtedly the least impressive food we’ve had.

Date of visit: December 2023
Thank klewi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 October 2023 via mobile

The Box has one of the most spectacular restaurant views around. We had lunch and I must say, very reasonably priced for fantastic fish and chips which most of our group ordered. The desserts were also excellent.
All I can end with is … get a booking and go!

Date of visit: October 2023
Thank Lindajwil
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 September 2023

Thank you for a great lunch, it was great food and amazing outlook. The staff were very attentive. Thank you

Date of visit: April 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Yoav H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 August 2023 via mobile

Wonderful menu, service and view for a birthday lunch. Seafood was fresh and deliciously prepared. Why travel for maritime views when we have the Central Coast!

Date of visit: August 2023
Thank marykE4960OW
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed The Box on the Water also viewed

Ettalong Beach, New South Wales
Ettalong Beach, New South Wales
 
Ettalong Beach, New South Wales
Ettalong Beach, New South Wales
 

Been to The Box on the Water? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.