We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent ”

The Box on the Water
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Fresh modern Australian cuisine in a prime waterfront location with panoramic views. Open for lunch daily 12-3pm. Dinner Thursday - Monday 6-9pm. Bar menu Friday - Sunday 3-6pm with happy hour 4-5pm. Cafe & garden bar open daily 7-4pm. Licensed. Closed Christmas Day & Boxing Day only.
Reviewed 8 September 2023

Thank you for a great lunch, it was great food and amazing outlook. The staff were very attentive. Thank you

Date of visit: April 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Yoav H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (831)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 831 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2023 via mobile

Wonderful menu, service and view for a birthday lunch. Seafood was fresh and deliciously prepared. Why travel for maritime views when we have the Central Coast!

Date of visit: August 2023
Thank marykE4960OW
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 August 2023

We had the time experience for our daughter’s Birthday here at the Box on the Water. This great Restaurant has the best ambiance is the most tastiest food. It has left the best impression on us all. The staff are wonderful and they certainly enjoy working here. Mel was very welcoming and made us all feel comfortable. She was very friendly and professional, a true credit to the Management. We enjoyed a great culinary experience of tasty fresh seafood… Barramundi and oysters, mussels and anchovies. these meals were beautifully presented, and we were most impressed with the wide wine list. I am very happy to recommend The Box on the Water to everyone. We will certainly be coming back here again and again.

Date of visit: August 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 July 2023

Totally felt a bitter taste in my mouth when the lady at the end asked if i would like to tip! This is AUSTRALIA! Paying $47 for a piece of barra should be enough!
You would of got five star, but due to the fact you quite blatantly made sure i knew where the tip button was, and asked if i would like to, and then when i said no, you screwed up your face and ripped me off the machine receipt, you get a 4 star.

The Barra was great, fresh, and the sweet potato mash that it came with was also very creamy and tasty ! Very nice indeed! Paired with the recommended wine of choice on the menu, and it was a good choice.

The duck live pate wasn't our favourite, and being served with two chunky bits of bread, wasn't the best presentation. Butter with the bread would of been better which we asked for, and it was O-K.

Service at the table was good, good view of the water, chilled atmosphere and plenty of people kicking back having a feed and enjoying the sunshine.

Overall not a bad spot for a feed, pricey, but the tip suggestion totally annoys me, and you're not the first venue trying to push a tip onto customers! Hate it!

Date of visit: July 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank OzTravels80
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 April 2023

Had a coffee and chai at the outside kiosk. It was warm milk- no flavour at all. Very disappointing.

Date of visit: April 2023
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Eerb3
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed The Box on the Water also viewed

Ettalong Beach, New South Wales
Ettalong Beach, New South Wales
 
Ettalong Beach, New South Wales
Ettalong Beach, New South Wales
 

Been to The Box on the Water? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.