We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful!”

The Box on the Water
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Fresh modern Australian cuisine in a prime waterfront location with panoramic views. Open for lunch daily 12-3pm. Dinner Thursday - Monday 6-9pm. Bar menu Friday - Sunday 3-6pm with happy hour 4-5pm. Cafe & garden bar open daily 7-4pm. Licensed. Closed Christmas Day & Boxing Day only.
Reviewed 9 February 2021 via mobile

Lovely, location, great food, friendly staff.....excellent! The Box offers good options for casual food too with a kiosk attached.

Date of visit: February 2021
1  Thank Happybookworm48
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (832)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 54 of 832 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2021 via mobile

I had the burger and mum had the salmon. It was delicious. The prices are high but the food makes it worth it. Will be back!

Date of visit: January 2021
1  Thank DaniTraveller007
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 January 2021 via mobile

Read some really good reviews so we tried this for breakfast. Positive comments great position and very friendly staff. Had to ask for sugar for the Coffee which was not very hot so mentioned this when asked and was offered a replacement which I thought was nice, but replacement never came. Ordered the lion Island $26 big breakfast, but disappointed only 1 slice of toast and 1 small rasher of bacon. Needed to green the attention of the waitress for some salt and pepper. Paid the bill which appeared expensive in checking the waitress apologised as we had been given someone else's bill $25 more. She very happily did a credit between the two bill prices. Don't think I will return.

Date of visit: January 2021
2  Thank tbo181
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 January 2021 via mobile

Lovely food, lovely service, lovely location.
Visiting for a birthday we chose this restaurant for its lovely location on the beach. From the time we called to when we paid the bill our experience was impeccable. Our waiter knew how to pour a beer into a glass. Attention to detail is important. The food was lovely and again attention to detail was notable and the flavours glorious. Portions were were ample but not over the top, here the focus is flavour.

Date of visit: January 2021
Thank cdc101
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 January 2021 via mobile

We ordered a variety of juices, coffees & snacks from the beach kiosk. The juices & coffees were good but all the food was tasteless. The fish tacos were the worst I’ve ever eaten, dry battered fish with way too much cabbage, extremely sour flavoured & absolutely tasteless. The bacon & egg roll was very average. The service was not the fastest, & the pricing slightly on the dearer side.
We didn’t come back after this experience.
It’s a shame as the location is superb for a drink & bite to eat.

Date of visit: January 2021
Thank RKHOOKER
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed The Box on the Water also viewed

Ettalong Beach, New South Wales
Ettalong Beach, New South Wales
 
Ettalong Beach, New South Wales
Ettalong Beach, New South Wales
 

Been to The Box on the Water? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.