We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service”
Review of Safran

Safran
Price range: AU$16 - AU$32
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Turkish Dining in Ettalong Beach. Inspired by tradition, presented with contemporary interpretation. One Hat AGFG 2020.
Reviewed 16 November 2023 via mobile

We had the degustation set. Everything is so delicious and the portions were just right. The spacing between serving is also perfect as it gives you time to digest the food and long for another one. The waiters were very nice as well

Date of visit: November 2023
Thank 222ferdinands
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (475)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 475 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2023

Just got home from Safran and tonight we were blown away, again!
Sulo has established a world class restaurant and staffed it with the best people, which results in an A+ experience every time.
Tonight we were welcomed by all the staff, the old-hands, Damian and Hayden, and the new staff with the same enthusiasm and genuine pleasure in our presence. We didn't get the name of the staff member who enquired about our knives, nor the one fixing the straws at the end of the night (our error) but thank you for your wonderful service and enthusiasm. Charlotte, I suspect, is fairly new and was a little nervous at our first interaction but, boy! Did she blossom!? Charlotte, you're delightful! Thank you for looking after us so well!
Let's move to the food. Oh, the food! Sulo, you excelled yourself tonight! 25/10! The Scallops were perfect, as was my Onion Dolma! Onto Moreton Bay Bug for Julie, my wife, and Duck Shish for me. Both mouth watering and full of a gentle aromatic flavours that so complimented each other!
Then, as a finale, we were treated to Iskender for me, thinly sliced wagyu beef with charred tomato butter served with possibly one of the best tasting accompaniments I've ever tasted - burnt milk yoghurt! Wow! Julie had Lamb backstrap, pistachio crumble, olive oil braised Spring vegetables, bulgur pilaf and cacik and is still talking about it!
We have been lucky enough to have been patrons since Safron first opened it's doors and we will never stop being amazed at the skill, professionalism, enthusiasm and sheer brilliance shown by the Safran Team!
I've lived and worked in 27 countries and eaten at restaurants from local cafés in India (dhabas) to four star Michelin in Paris. Safran makes them all look like amateurs.
Thanks, Sulo, for another gastronomic and social delight!
M

Date of visit: November 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 November 2023 via mobile

Oh, my awesome. we walked in tonight early and got a table recommend booking. First night in town food was very different and done well. We paired wine with six courses and enjoyed wine as much as food. Service was outstanding and evenly timed. Was ready to book another night, but not open until we go home.So glad you gave us a table tonight

Date of visit: November 2023
Thank Annette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 October 2023

My husband and I had the 2 course set menu and it did not disappoint everything we had was amazing full of flavour, and the staff were very attentive to our needs have been a few times never have we had a bad experience will definitely be back

Date of visit: September 2023
Thank michelletH2061HJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 July 2023 via mobile

What a great little find!! Sat down to a 3 course tasting menu here last night. Everything was amazing! Service 5 star too- thanks Aleah!!
We will be back!!

Date of visit: July 2023
Thank melwils0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Safran also viewed

Ettalong Beach, New South Wales
Ettalong Beach, New South Wales
 
Ettalong Beach, New South Wales
Ettalong Beach, New South Wales
 

Been to Safran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.