We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Vio.com
Prestigia.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Barbara C
Ulladulla

Kim’s is a delight 😍

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 16 Apr 2024
Gorgeous retreat !!
Highly recommend booked 2 nights & ended up staying for 4 🤩
No problem to extend , had to change rooms , but staff managed this whilst we were out .
Great location, staff & food ..
Nothing was too much trouble, totally relaxing stay !!
Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kims Beachside Lodges, General Manager at Kims Beachside Retreat, responded to this review
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review about your recent stay with us.

When our guests want to extend their stay is the greatest compliment! We are very happy that the change in rooms was handled so smoothly – we do try to make this as seamless as possible.

We are very happy to read that you thought our location, food and our staff were great and that our retreat is gorgeous, we love it too!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Kims for your next relaxing getaway!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
beautiful view
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
0.5 km from Kims Beachside Retreat
Free parking
Pool
Tripadvisor
AU$165
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.3 km from Kims Beachside Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior view
ibis Styles
AU$120
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$116
  • Hotels.com
1.3 km from Kims Beachside Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
Pool with water slide, hot spa and baby pool
Tripadvisor
AU$144
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.3 km from Kims Beachside Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
Bed
Tripadvisor
AU$110
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.1 km from Kims Beachside Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$139
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.9 km from Kims Beachside Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
World class beaches
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    AU$50
  • Booking.com
1.4 km from Kims Beachside Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
Clean & comfy
Tripadvisor
AU$187
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.2 km from Kims Beachside Retreat
Free parking
Pool
Tripadvisor
AU$212
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.4 km from Kims Beachside Retreat
Free parking
Pool
Tripadvisor
AU$137
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.5 km from Kims Beachside Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Toowoon Bay
Reviews (450)
Filter reviews
450 results
Traveller rating
274
97
59
4
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
274
97
59
4
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews garden spa beach bungalow piece of paradise romantic getaway bottle of champagne long weekend jacuzzi cabin accommodation sydney luxury nsw
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 450 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2024 via mobile

Kim's is just 1 hour north of our home in Sydney...but it could be a million miles from anywhere. It's quiet, located on the beachfront with secluded villas in a stunning tree-studded location.
The staff are remarkable...attentive, polite, courteous and professional.
The in-house dining is superb...I can recommend the 'eye fillet' for dinner...and the (included) buffet breakfast is to die for.
Our hosts - Diana and Peter - ensure everything that's needed is there for us.
This is our fifth visit...and it won't be our last.
We needed a quiet 'get-away' and Kim's never disappoints.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank parto01
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Diana Kershaw, General Manager at Kims Beachside Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2024

It was wonderful to see you both again, and thank you for taking the time to post this review. We are so happy to hear that you, once again, enjoyed your stay with us. The Easter long weekend is certainly a wonderful time to visit the Central Coast! Thank you for your lovely comments about our location, our staff and the food while you were with us!
We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2024 via mobile

This is our 5th visit to this exceptional beachside boutique venue. The location is superb and unique. We always stay in a villa right on the beach...going to sleep to the sound of the waves is better than taking a valium pill !!! The accommodation is superb, the staff are exceptional. The restaurant is fabulous. Diana and Peter, whom are part of the ownership, are hands on exceptional managers. The staff are equally as terrific. We will return here regularly...as we have and as we will. Cannot recommend this unique venue more highly.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jan29Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Diana Kershaw, General Manager at Kims Beachside Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2024

Thank you for your beautiful review! It is always lovely to see you when you come to visit us. We appreciate our all of our guests, especially when you return again and again! Your Beachfront Villa is a very popular villa and we are so happy that you enjoyed the view and the sound of the waves at night. Thank you for your comments about our wonderful staff and restaurant. We hope you have a safe trip home and look forward to seeing you both on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2024 via mobile

Still an amazing place to stay. This is our 3rd time and cannot fault it. The breakfast and dinner is amazing and fresh. The only draw back is there’s not a lot of vegetarian options with someone on special diet. Also, just an idea, at night when you can’t see where your cabin is, maybe add the numbers painted on the floor or where it’s Luminated and also a microwave in the cabins. Will still keep coming back as it’s a beautiful getaway spot from noise, kids, grandkids and work. lol. Looking forward to our next visit (hopefully with these changes).

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank teresa1365
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Diana Kershaw, General Manager at Kims Beachside Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2024

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and your continued patronage with us at Kims. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast and dinner while with us. It is very important to us that our guests’ needs are catered for and when we are advised of special dietary requirements, we do co-ordinate with our chef to make sure there is variety and selections available for the duration of your stay. I do apologies that you felt there was not enough vegetarian options during your stay.

Our bungalows do have sensor lights at their doors and our pathways and staircases are lit at night, as well as the fairy lights in the trees along our avenue of Norfolk Island pines. Your suggestion of luminated paint will be discussed with our maintenance team, thank you.

As you mention, we don’t have cooking facilities in our bungalows (with the exception of Reef View which has a kitchen and microwave). If you do require anything to be heated in a microwave, these can be bought to reception and we can heat your items in our kitchen. We will pass on your suggestion of adding microwaves into our bungalows.

Thank you again for your feedback and your continued visits to Kims. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2024

Kim’s is very nice, but not worth the money. Breakfast was very good, the service good. It’s just the little things… no nibblies with your drink at the bar, no body lotion, no amenities pack… it’s just the things you come to expect in a 5 star place. And considering it’s quite dated, I don’t think it’s too much to expect when it’s $460 per night ( at least!)

Room tip: Possibly look at cheaper alternatives
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank 477theresea
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Diana Kershaw, General Manager at Kims Beachside Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2024

Thank you for taking the time to write your review about your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your complimentary breakfast and that you thought our service was good. We hope you enjoyed your Garden Spa Bungalow with large outdoor heated Jacuzzi and double shower temple in the bathroom.

You are correct that we do not have “nibblies” at the bar. Our cocktail bar is open from 6pm and most of our guests have a drink or two and then move into the restaurant.

There are amenities in all of our bungalows, including your Garden Spa Bungalow. We provide all toiletries from the delightful range of products, which are proudly Australian made. If additional items are required, or anything else, such as a toothbrush for example, you just need to contact our reception staff by dialling ‘9’ on your inhouse phone and we do our best to accommodate.

Once again, we thank you for posting your review and we do hope that you will visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2024 via mobile

The good, location is excellent, rooms nice, and very nice environment to walk around, bar was nice and all staff very friendly. The restaurant however was terrible, free breakfast average and dinner was terrible and overpriced, we bought the fish thinking we would be getting proper restaurant quality perch, instead it was deep fried battered fish and chips like you get at a take away shop.
Nice place to go but eat elsewhere. Price is too steep for what you get.

Room tip: Eat elsewhere
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank NorthStar04557217279
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Diana Kershaw, General Manager at Kims Beachside Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2024

Thank you for posting your review about your recent stay at Kims Beachside Retreat. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our location and accommodation. We also appreciate your positive comments about our wonderful staff.

We are disappointed to read that you did not enjoy the complimentary breakfast during your stay. There is a large variety on our breakfast menu which includes our Continental buffet as well as a selection of “made-to-order” hot menu items. A sample of our menu is as follows: Fresh and stewed fruits, yoghurts, cereals, Bircher muesli, Chia, toast options including wholemeal, sourdough rye, milk loaf, raisin, and gluten free rustic white with a selection of spreads, homemade conserves and local honey, freshly baked Croissants and muffins.
Hot selection: Egg and bacon roll, Brioche French toast with Canadian maple syrup, raspberry coulis and fresh berries, Local beef chipolatas and Hunter Valley bacon with grilled herbed tomato, garlic buttered mushrooms and eggs, Hunter Valley bacon and eggs, Smashed avocado with roasted heirloom tomatoes, goats cheese and fresh basil on toasted white sourdough, Corn fritters or Salmon patties with a poached egg and avocado, Omelette with bacon, cheese, tomato and mushroom.

We are also disappointed that you did not enjoy our restaurant at dinner. We do have “Deep fried Ocean Perch fillet” on our menu which is served with chips and salad. Many of our guests enjoy this meal and have it more than once during their stay at Kims. Our batter is light and crispy and we certainly do not think that it is comparable to what you would order in a take away shop. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your meal.
We appreciate your feedback and do hope to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews