We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic, good view, good food”
Review of Madliena Lodge

Madliena Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Madliena
Certificate of Excellence
Description: Perched on top of Madliena, surrounded by lush greenery and commanding excellent north-western coastal views, Madliena Lodge is truly one of a kind. Keeping the 18th-century architecture and more so amplifying the features which are nowadays pretty scarce on our island was imperative. These features include our two stone original fireplaces and our breath-taking inner courtyard (which boasts original 150-year-old tiles).
Restaurant details
Description: Perched on top of Madliena, surrounded by lush greenery and commanding excellent north-western coastal views, Madliena Lodge is truly one of a kind. Keeping the 18th-century architecture and more so amplifying the features which are nowadays pretty scarce on our island was imperative. These features include our two stone original fireplaces and our breath-taking inner courtyard (which boasts original 150-year-old tiles).
Reviewed 18 August 2018 via mobile

Had a good experience here. It's a romantic place, open terrace in countrylike setting, vegetation shields the view on ugly buildings and roads, nice view across the bay.
We had 2 pasta dishes, papardelle with stewed octopus in herbs and orange preserve (delicious, but portion too big for me, I couldn't finish), my partner had pasta with strips of beef and a herby sauce. For dessert chocolate mouse with orange jelly and cream (the mousse was warm and more like a sauce but tasted nice and combined well with the orange) and my partner had Earl Grey panna cotta with roasted granola (he didn't like it too well).
Very attentive and friendly staff!
I would return and try out more from the menu.

Thank Kerstin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiguelSpiteri, General Manager at Madliena Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2018

Hi Kerstin, many thanks for such a lovely review. Your comments mean a lot to us and we do hope to have the pleasure to see you again very soon. Regards, Miguel Spiteri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 237 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2018 via mobile

Had a wonderful meal at Madliena Lodge. Such a beautiful venue with lots of history. I struggled to decide what to eat as the whole menu sounded so nice. Had the lamb which was fantastic, and a white chocolate cheesecake for dessert. Service was wonderful too. Will definitely visit again!

Thank Scenic273252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiguelSpiteri, General Manager at Madliena Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2018

Many thanks for such a great review. We are truly glad you enjoyed our food and service and the overall experience at Madliena Lodge. We do hope to see you again very soon. Regards, Miguel Spiteri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2018 via mobile

What an amazing place, service fantastic. Staff polite, friendly and welcoming. Beautiful setting. Stunning food.

1  Thank Sarahaxt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiguelSpiteri, General Manager at Madliena Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2018

Hi Sarahaxt, many thanks for such a great review. Your comments mean an awful lot to us. We hope to have the pleasure to have you with us soon enough. Regards, Miguel Spiteri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2018

Lovely setting al fresco, perfect background music, excellent service and very good food. Will definetely go back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Steve U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiguelSpiteri, General Manager at Madliena Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2018

Hi Steve, many thanks for your great comments. We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us and we do hope to see you again very soon. Regards, Miguel Spiteri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2018 via mobile

I’ve just got back from our meal at madliena, and have nothing but praise for them.
The food was outstanding, the service was excellent and the setting beautiful.
My two children were well catered for, and thought the food (especially dessert) ‘amazing’
I will definitely return, probably without the children, as this restaurant would be perfect for a romantic meal for two.

1  Thank Sightseer798275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiguelSpiteri, General Manager at Madliena Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2018

Many thanks for such a lovely review, your comments about our food, service and the general ambiance really mean a lot to us. We do hope to see you again soon enough. Regards, Miguel Spiteri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Madliena Lodge also viewed

Mellieha, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
 
Mellieha, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 

Been to Madliena Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing