We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
lenatrave
4245
A great get-away
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 Nov 2018via mobile
We had a wonderful time visiting "A twist of Willow" for two nights.
Loo, Steve, & their youngest son, whom we've had the pleasure of meeting, are amazing hosts.
The farm is well-organised, the animals are unique & well looked-after.
The accomodation is lovely, & the breakfast was filling. Thank you, Loo & Steve!

The only minor downside (& I dont know if it can be fixed) is that the King & Queen rooms are separated by a very thin wall, & when both rooms are occupied, there's little privacy.

Aside from that, we really enjoyed our stay! Thanks again 😊.
Date of stay: November 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
AU$168
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$160
  • Agoda.com
    AU$153
  • Hotels.com
    AU$160
3.6 km from A Twist Of Willow
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lol.travel
    1.5 km from A Twist Of Willow
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Booking.com
    AU$159
    Fully refundable
    • Expedia.com
      AU$159
    • Hotels.com
      AU$148
    • Priceline
      AU$159
    4.9 km from A Twist Of Willow
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Hotel exterior
    Booking.com
    AU$125
    Fully refundable
    • Expedia.com
      AU$125
    • Hotels.com
      AU$125
    • Priceline
      AU$125
    4.7 km from A Twist Of Willow
    Free parking
    Restaurant
    CP External Silvan Dam View from Hotel x
    Booking.com
    AU$145
    • Hotels.com
      AU$161
    • Expedia.com
      AU$152
    • Priceline
      AU$161
    4.7 km from A Twist Of Willow
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    10.5 km from A Twist Of Willow
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Street view of Tuck Inn
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    17.8 km from A Twist Of Willow
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    10.8 km from A Twist Of Willow
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    8.4 km from A Twist Of Willow
    Free parking
    Spa
    View more hotels in Mount Evelyn
    Reviews (39)
    Filter reviews
    39 results
    Traveller rating
    32
    4
    2
    0
    1
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    32
    4
    2
    0
    1
    See what travellers are saying:
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    5 - 10 of 39 reviews
    Reviewed 28 September 2018 via mobile

    We had the family suite and found it really well equipped, even games & books for the children. My little ones loved the bunks. Beds were super comfortable. A very rustic comfortable place, kind of like staying at your Aunty’s place in the country (although this is so close to Melbourne it couldn’t be considered country).
    I’m always a little sketchy about places that feature ‘wildlife’ in captivity but all these animals appear to be very well cared for. Wilbur even had a blankie! Not that we ever saw Wilbur in the flesh but we were delighted to watch him on tv. Fatso was a very welcoming, friendly host.
    The rate charged represented good value for money considering the unique opportunity and comfort level.

    Date of stay: September 2018
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    1  Thank MadeInOz
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 11 August 2018

    this what is what sometimes places can surprise what they have to offer, beautifully nestled in mount Evelyn just close to the Melbourne city yet away from the hustle bustle The hosts Loo and Steve and their animal kingdom made us welcomed our 2 yr old saw all the native animals at the show which starts at 6.30 pm fed the roos and dingos etc . loo was kind enough to allow us to pick the mandarins and oranges . The cottage was comfy only it lacked was cooktop/induction. would love to go again

    Room tip: Farmstay with great views
    Date of stay: August 2018
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Service
    3  Thank 503kunals
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 15 June 2018

    Our whole family occupied the large house and the two other (King and Queen) rooms in the property for three nights last month.
    The big house was beautiful. But it only had one heater - in the living room. The previous property we cam from in Mornington had small portable heaters in the rooms which we could take to the bathroom to warm it. We're Asians and not accustomed to the cold weather so the heater matters a lot.
    But aside from this, the bedside tables in the rooms were dusty and had cobwebs - signs that they had not been throughly cleaned in the past! We had a baby with us and pretty upset about that finding.
    We were not welcomed by the owners and did not run into them till we saw some people casually on the last day, taking care of the animals on the site.
    It COULD really have been a better experience were it not for these factors...adequate heating and unclean bedside tables.

    Date of stay: May 2018
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank Teresa G
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

    Stumbled upon this place at the last minute, and was not disappointed! Fantastic secluded property with picturesque surroundings and a fully acquainted wildlife sanctuary. Absolutely top notch service from the moment we stepped out of the car to departure, the free tour of the nocturnal animals was the big highlight of our stay along with the hosts themselves Loo and Steve. Very cosy accommodation appropriately aquanted, even had a dedicated channel to watch their animals 24/7. Would visit again in a heartbeat

    Date of stay: March 2018
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    1  Thank joshq853
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 5 January 2018

    We enjoyed our recent two night stay in the king room. I was pleasantly surprised at the size of the room, which included the bedroom, bathroom, and a sitting room with a small kitchenette, with lovely wooden floors. There was also wifi and the tv in the sitting room had foxtel included. The room offered a view out over all the trees and included aircon in the bedroom. The bed was very comfortable and I liked the "nocturnal animal channel", which showed various animals throughout the day. The night tour of the various animals was also a particular highlight, and included feeding the kangaroos. There is a small pool on the property and also a BBQ in the pool area, which is available to use. Ithought the king room offered very good value for the price per night and I would stay here again when next visiting the Yarra Valley. I also recommend a visit to the nearby Helen's Hil winery.

    Date of stay: December 2017
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Cleanliness
    2  Thank kezzzo193
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews